We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Service, friendly staff, a bit dated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nol in 't Bosch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Nol in 't Bosch to your Saves list
Nol in 't Bosch
Hartenseweg 60, 6704 PA Wageningen, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Wageningen
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good Service, friendly staff, a bit dated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I stayed for three nights. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were a bit dated, though the beds were great. The hotel restaurant is quite good.
All in all I was reasonably happy and would return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
6
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My family of four needed to attend a religious convention in the small village of Bennekom, Netherlands in the weekend. To avoid the travel up and down we decided to look for an affordable hotel not too far from the venue. Through the website Trivago.com we found this hotel, what seemed to be a loveable hotel in the forests surrounding the Dutch town of Wageningen. It was not real expensive but not cheap. So I had some expectations on the quality as they advertise as a four star hotel.
We booked the family room, which had a good size. On one side there was the double bed and at the other side two single beds it had a small table in the middle. It had a desk for the laptop and another one with a mirror to make up. The decoration was to my opinion outdated. Our first sense was that the room hasn’t been used for a while as it had a musty smell. As the carpet is dark it was not easy to see if it was clean. But the bathroom curtain revealed that cleaning wasn’t that thorough (see photo). Furthermore there was very little toilet paper left with no new roll. So we did not feel comfortable with the room’s hygienic state.
There is no climate control in the room and it happened to be one of the warmest nights ever in Holland. There was just small fan in the room and we decided to use that one for the kids. They told us that the hotel was fully booked and there was no other fan available for us. So sleeping was very difficult.
Still, one of the most annoying things is the fact that it was quite difficult to find the necessary information in the room. For instance, at what time is breakfast? How to get an iron and an ironing board? Very basic information that should be available in the room. And as we arrived late, we needed to go for all these simple requests to the reception desk that wasn’t manned permanently (there is no 24 hour reception). I asked for the breakfast time and they informed me that it was 07.00. But the next morning at seven, everything was closed and no way to contact anyone because the reception desk was empty. I called the hotel phone number and after a while the owner picked up and apologised for her staff as breakfast in the weekend was at 08.00. She was so friendly to make us something because we needed to be on our way.
I need to make the owner a compliment because she arranged staff for the next morning to serve breakfast at seven. My general feeling is that the website gives the impression of a modern hotel. The reality is that this is a country site family owned hotel that has not modernised enough. And even though the wifi worked well on the first floor where I stayed, I had the sense of a 3 (not 4) star hotel that “lost track of time”.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of England
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Basically this is a good small hotel but it lets itself down by a lack of attention to detail. The public areas are charming, the bedrooms are very quiet and very clean, the woodland setting is delightful, the restaurant food was very good, but whilst some facilities were excellent others were not. The bedrooms are acceptably "out-of-fashion" but the spacious bathrooms need updating (modern shower, better lighting and mirrors that make it possible to see to shave, better selection of toiletries). Parts of what I understood to be a non-smoking hotel were imbued with what appeared to be cigar smoke probably from a staff room or office. Wifi was very poor. Breakfast was ordinary. Similarly for staff: some were excellent but others seemed at a loss: so bar and restaurant service varied greatly, which is a great pity as obviously some staff do know what constitutes good service and seemed embarrassed that this could not be provided. Finally, there was no gin of any type available in the bar - in a Dutch hotel! These concerns could be easily remedied, so it is possible that I would stay at the hortel again.

Room Tip: Superior room with terrace are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is situated in woodland area a few km from town. It's a nice area to go running. Hotel is quite old fashioned and could benefit from some refurbishment. My room was very dark with a tiny shower room. Breakfast was very poor; limited choice with no service. Maybe I was unlucky?

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoensbroek, Limburg, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

This small clean hotel was a solid choice for our weekend getaway. It wasn't anything special, but it wasn't uncomfortable either. Since the room was small, we made use of the common areas and the nearby forest to keep ourselves entertained. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

This hotel is very welcoming and accommodating, very comfortable and has a homely feel that makes for a very enjoyable stay. My economy single room was really comfortable, wonderfully soft bed and bedding and plenty of room for luggage and storage. I stayed here for three nights during an unusual heatwave in the Netherlands, and was grateful for the small balcony (ground floor rooms have a patio) to sit at the laptop on. Views of the garden and woods, it was a very peaceful spot.

The hotel has a large breakfast room and breakfast buffet is well stocked and replensihed every morning. The restaurant is excellent, lovely seating indoors and outdoors. The vegetarian option is the different nightly "chef's special", and was delicious, carefully prepared and well presented every time. Gorgeous desserts as well, good drink selection, friendly waiters. It was a lovely place and in a great posotion for walking or cycling - inviting footpaths led off from the garden and park across the road, I wish I'd been there on vacation rather than business!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

Stayed for a weekend break in this hotel, which is surrounded by forest a few kilometers from Wageningen. This is an excellent base if you want to walk or cycle through the forest in the beautiful area between Utrecht and Arnhem. The hotel has around 30 rooms and is some distance from the neighbouring buildings, thereby creating a peaceful and quiet atmosphere. During sunny days a lot of people pas by the restaurant for lunch or coffee with cakes, but in the evening everyone is gone and the sounds of the forest take over. All rooms feature a lage balcony to fully enjoy the surroundings. Otherwise the rooms are decent, well-kept, and sizeable. The decoration is what you would expect for a provincial hotel, nothing fancy here except for a nice flat screen tv with a limited selection of channels. Beds were a bit too soft for my taste, but still fine. Bathroom colours are a bit outdated, but everything is functional. Shower over a bath tub with good water pressure, but unfortunately fluctuating temperature.

We had dinner on the patio of the restaurant which was great in terms of atmosphere. The food was also good, but the chef still has some way to go. We had duck and salmon. The quality of the ingredients was fine, but the chunks of meat were too big and the quantity of garnishing too small. The same was true for the cheese plateau that we had for desert. Still would dine here again on a next stay. Breakfast in the morning was a bit basic: a limited selection of cold foods only, and limited staff to help you to replenish the buffet. Still good enough to get you started.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nol in 't Bosch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nol in 't Bosch

Address: Hartenseweg 60, 6704 PA Wageningen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Wageningen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Wageningen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsNL and Priceline so you can book your Nol in 't Bosch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nol in 't Bosch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.