We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special, but not bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hof van Wageningen (WICC)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hof van Wageningen (WICC) to your Saves list
Hof van Wageningen (WICC)
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lawickse Allee 9, 6701 AN Wageningen, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Wageningen
Brno, Czech Republic
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nothing special, but not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I didn't like the shabby and a bit smelly corridors, but my room was more or less clean with new furniture. There was no hairdryer in my bathroom, but the park behind the hotel was lovely and I had a beautiful view form my room. The restaurant closes early, so that we didn't get any dinner after 9 pm, but they gave us at least some snack. It's close Ede or Arnhem and if you want to go to Antwerp or somewhere southern use the ferry on river Nederrijn between Randwijk and Wageningen.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    23
    40
    19
    8
See reviews for
3
14
8
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Only stayed here one night, so cannot really comment on facilities other than our room - which was clean, spacious and comfortable. Because of the knock-on effects of an earlier air traffic control strike, we arrived at the hotel too late to order dinner. However, we asked if the kitchen could make us up some filled rolls and they appeared just a few minutes later. Had a good night's sleep and headed down the next morning for breakfast. This was served as a buffet - with plenty of choice and a large range of breads on offer. The coffee was good too. Check out was quick and efficient and they were happy to store our bags securely until we returned later in the day. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelotas, Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I did the booking in internet and all was 100%. The hotel have a parking (not free but not so expensive), a good restaurant inside and is located almost in the center of Wageningen. A short walking of 2 blocks from Hof Van Wageningen and you are in the 'down town' of the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

PROs: The hotel is walking distance from Wageningen Town Center where you find the main shopping street as well as restaurants. Parking spots are plentiful. Staff is very friendly and Internet is free and quite fast.
CONs: The hotel is dated and the rooms (at least single rooms) are very small. No fridge, no hair dryer. Feels a bit like a student hotel or youth hostel with single rooms. Breakfast is ok.
If you just need a central and reasonably priced place to stay the hotel is an ok choice. If you are looking for more style and comfort I do not recommend the place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lohne, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This hotel looks and feels like a residence for guests of the University which has been converted into a hotel. The ordinary things are functional and quite adequate for the normal visitor. It looks like it is being upgraded. The room did not have a telephone or minibar and wifi is free and very easy to access. The breakfast is included in the price which all means you can pay on arrival (avoiding the common morning checkout wait) as there are in effect no chargable extras.

The staff were all very friendly. The food was very good in the restaurant and the cooked breakfast buffet was really excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I booked the luxurious room as they told me the standard was too basic, however I did not think the hotel room was worth the extra price. The hotel is very old and so are the rooms. The closet was a bit smelly and the mattress was too soft, what caused me a terrible back pain after the first night. I could not adjust the heat to the temperature I wanted - it was either too cold or too hot. The breakfast was very good, but dinner was not. Wifi and service were good. It was very convenient as it was 10 minutes from most of the places I had to visit, but if I had another option I would not stay there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

For two nights in a row (Wednesday and Thursday), I had to endure the loud noise from a music concert from a concert hall that neighbours the hotel. I called reception and they apologetically told me concerts were allowed to play until 1am.

This is unacceptable.

I totally agree with the other earlier posts that the rooms are spartan, heating limited, the food at the restaurant (Eatcetera) was too heavily salted, and the service from the staff was friendly and helpful.

Overall this hotel needs to improve alot.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hof van Wageningen (WICC)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hof van Wageningen (WICC)

Address: Lawickse Allee 9, 6701 AN Wageningen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Wageningen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Wageningen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hof van Wageningen (WICC) 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hof van Wageningen (WICC) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hof van Wageningen (WICC), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.