We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Moosmann

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Moosmann to your Saves list
Hotel Moosmann
, Gandria, Lugano CH-6978, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gandria
Black Mountain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

Absolutely lovely. The food was very good and the atmosphere wonderful. The terrace overlooking the Lake was very romantic, a great place to drink Sangria on a warm Aug. evening and watch the lights twinkle along the shore as the little fishing boats slipped silently by.
As a American/French Swiss, I loved it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    21
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
21
38
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset,England
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

The hotel and its setting are amazing . No cars, just the sound of lapping water from the lake and passing boats.The rooms are clean and comfortable and the view from our room was stunning.The staff are welcoming and helpful . The food that we tried was excellent and a good variety.The waiting staff are briiliant and they have the ability to speak many languages, including English!
The surrounding area is breathtaking and the village totally wonderful.
We had a fabulous 5 days, more memorable by the changeable weather which constantly changed the scenery. Altogether wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2008

Having travelled through France and Italy for 14 days it was a breath of fresh air to arrive at beautiful Gandria. My family, including a 2 year old, was met with a happy and fresh welcome which was a great omen for the rest of our stay. The hotel and its setting was extremely relaxing and made even more so evident by the welcoming and accommodating staff. Having arrived tired we decided to dine in the hotel's restaurant and were amazed at the culinary delights that were served to us, which resulted in us eagerly looking forward to dining each night and trying new dishes from the rustic swiss and italian menu. The wait staff were outstanding with their recommendations and their ability to speak many languages, including excellent English. My family left Gandria looking forward to returning one day soon to relax and enjoy one of the world's premier relaxation destinations! Thanks to all the staff from Hotel Moosman, we look forward to meeting with you again.

  • Liked — Friendly, welcoming staff and excellent meals in the restaurant
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzern
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2008

We stayed in the Moosmann Hotel for one night, booked it by phone and received a written confirmation by e-mail just a few hours later.

When we arrived in early afternoon, the room was yet ready.

The room was quite big, but the furniture definitely old-fashioned, it seemed as if there was no refreshing in this room for the last 30 years! Unfortunately, we weren't able to get a room with a balcony, but a big window facing the lake was almost the same. And that's is now definitely the best about the hotel --> the view! Looking out of the window and enjoing the great scenery of Lake Lugano is amazing!

Don't forget the garden, it is a peaceful, quiet oasis, towels and deck-chairs are available.

Staff was nice, breakfast buffet ok, don't miss to have the breakfast on the wonderful terrace!

All in all a nice hotel, charming village Gandria is wonderfully peaceful and quiet (no cars!), unfortunately, the room was a bit pricy for the standard, but as the Moosmann is the only hotel on spot, the can do this... :-)

Anyway, I would go again and can recommend the place!

  • Liked — The location and the lake view!
  • Disliked — The furniture...
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, England
Level Contributor
101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2007

we stayed here for 5 nights at the beginning of August. Wonderful location, beautiful hotel, rooms very clean. We had a double and a single room overlooking the lake (it is worth paying for the view) and even the single room was a good size. The restaurant is excellent, with a god selection of meat fish and pasta and lovely ice creams! Gandria is an ancient carfree town, well worth a wander. You can swim from the hotel garden or just sit and stare at the lake! Getting around is easy by regular boat service. Would thoroughly recommend!

  • Liked — wonderful location and views
  • Disliked — there are quite a ot of steps from the boat landing to the hotel (awkward with luggage)
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2006

The staff at the Moosman Hotel is hostile to Americans who do not speak Italian. The food is good, but the attitude of staff spoils the visit at this costly hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gandria
2.7 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
2.6 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
2.8 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#6 of 43 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#14 of 43 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 390 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Delfino
Hotel Delfino
#9 of 43 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 140 reviews
3.0 mi away
ibis Lugano Paradiso
ibis Lugano Paradiso
#20 of 43 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moosmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moosmann

Address: , Gandria, Lugano CH-6978, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano > Gandria
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Moosmann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moosmann Hotel Gandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Moosmann, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.