We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtakingly beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Moosmann

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gandria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Moosmann
Save
You added Hotel Moosmann to your Saves list
Gandria, Lugano 6978, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gandria
Reigate, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Breathtakingly beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This was our second visit to Hotel Moosmann, the last one being 7 years ago. We had very fond memories of the area and hotel and were worried that all would have changed in the intervening years. To our delight it was just as we remembered, not least the amazing position of the hotel at the very edge of Lake Lugano. The hotel has a prime position facing south over the Lake, benefiting from having the sun most of the day, starting with sunrise behind the mountains, so for sun-worshippers, you have a lovely little garden to relax in, with sun beds and umbrellas available, a nice touch being they provide towels for use in the garden at no extra cost.
For those who love fresh water swimming you will be in heaven: a few feet away is a bathing ladder and the water is clean, and yes you can see the fish within, and ducks nearby, and dragon flys hovering, and swifts zooming around, herons, a bird of prey who regularly checks for any unfortunate fish swimming too near the surface! We thought the temperature of the lake would be cold in early June, but it was perfect.
Looking at other reviews much of what I would say about the hotel has been said: excellent buffet breakfast, still open up to 11am, meticulously clean rooms, with the whitest towels I have seen anywhere. OK maybe a bit dated furnishing wise, but don't think this means chipped paint or frayed curtains, this is a well maintained hotel, in fact in a year or two it will be in vogue as 'Retro'.
We travelled by Ferry everywhere and savings can be made by buying a ticket covering a number of days - leave the car at home.
Although in Switzerland, Gandria is virtually in Italy and the food available in the nearby restaurants reflects this, as does the lovely climate, we had hot sun for 5 of our 6 days there.
We will not be leaving it so long before we stay there again.

Room Tip: Lake side room with a balcony if possible. Don't take high heeled shoes, the little winding stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    18
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
15
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed for just two nights in a room with the most amazing views of Lake Lugano. Mr Moosmann and his charming staff did everything they could to ensure we had a peaceful stay in this beautifully clean hotel. Local restaurants very good and very close by. Try arriving by boat from Lugano (regular ferries to landing very close by) to get the best impression of the Hotel's setting. Excellent breakfast. All lifts were operational during our stay including the one for baggage that helps you up to street level.

Room Tip: Just ask for a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed in this hotel at the end of September 2013. There is no acces to the town by car, wich i found very nice, but on their website it says that they have an elevator for the suitcases, wich in reality is not working anymore or at least not the week end we where there. Then it says to (their Webpage) that there is transport every 30 minutes by boat to Lugano wich is not correct. But This is the only two negative points of this place. This two thins are totally compesated with the great staff they have, they are really really nice! I even asked them if i could make a kind of picnic in their garden (Wich has BEATIFUL VIEWS) and they even put on their refrigerator the bottles i had with me. The Hotel is very old, and it hasnt really been renovated but it is very very clean.
They included a Breakfast Buffet that it is perfect, they have different types of breads, eggs, mermelades, juices, hams, etc. They are PET FRIENDLY.

Room Tip: Choose the room with view. It is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Hotel was visited in September 2013. I was searching for relatively cheap, but nice accommodation near Lugano, and I think it is a perfect price-value match.

- Location: 15 minutes away from the city center, village is unaccessible by car. It was hard to find the right parking, from which we had to walk 50 meters to the elevator, which took down to the rooms. Ships are constantly going from Gandria to Lugano, if you don't have a car it is a good solution of the transportation.

- Staff: Very nice and very welcoming hotel owner. Service is always on time.

- Breakfast: Very good, with scrambled eggs and coffee, bacon and muesli, I think that it worth to stay in the hotel in the morning.

- Rooms: A bit old-stylish, but very clean and large. It is better to take rooms overlooking the lake - it offers a nice view.

- Calm atmosphere of the fisherman's village with marvelous views. It worth its price.

Room Tip: Contact and make booking via hotel's web site - it does not exist on booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We spent the extra $ to have a lakefront room and it was worth every penny. The room literally sat above the water. The room itself was pretty standard; pretty comfortable, spacious, etc. Apart from the view nothing great, nothing bad. The staff at the front desk were not very friendly, however, those working throughout the rest of the hotel were kind.

If you're looking for something close to Lugano, it's a good 15-20 minute ferry ride and the ferry's don't run late into the night. The town of Gandria itself is tiny and beautiful.

Room Tip: Perfect hotel if you're looking for something removed from the big city of Lugano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerlan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

In the summer this hotel offers a fantastic getaway in an amazing location. The price is so reasonable given the fact that the rooms look over straight onto the lake and you can swim straight from the hotel. It now one of my fave places to go. Combined with the authentic restaurants and charming village, can't wait to come back for a 3rd visit!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

For our 20-year wedding anniversary we went to Italy, Switzerland and France in late September. I booked the Moosmann prior to going on the trip. It looked like a fun place to stay of all the choices in that region. We were blown away by the little town of Gandria and especially the Mosmann. No cars in Gandria...just walking through the skinny walkways between the tightly woven buildings. The Moosmann operators (husband and wife) are fabulous and super friendly. hey told us about the rich history of the hotel and the village of Gandria. The breakfast was the best of our 7-day 3-country trip. If you go to Gandria or Lugano don't miss the 3-hour bout ride around the whole lake! Hats off the the Moosman for how absolutely pristine it is...not a spec of dust, a chip in a wall, nothing...absolutely pristine.

Room Tip: Try to get a room up high that overlooks the lake with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Moosmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moosmann

Address: Gandria, Lugano 6978, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano > Gandria
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 183
Also Known As:
Moosmann Hotel Gandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Moosmann, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.