We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Moosmann

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gandria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Moosmann
Save
You added Hotel Moosmann to your Saves list
Gandria, Lugano 6978, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gandria
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A perfect holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This is our second visit to Gandria and this hotel. The staff remembered us from our first visit and we were made most welcome. It is a shame that they do not still do evening meals but they do provide some meals and snacks until 6pm which was just what we needed. There are several other restaurants in Gandria which serve later meals. The bed was comfortable and we had a room with a balcony so we could sit and relax looking out over the lake. There is also a terrace where breakfast is served and a garden where you can relax which are lake side. Easiest access to the hotel is by boat. We flew in to Milan Malpensa airport the took the bus to Lugano and the boat to Gandria. We also bought two 3 day Ticino discovery cards. which gives free access to all boats, buses, trains and attractions in the Ticino region. The boat journey to Lugano and back every day covers the cost of the pass.

Room Tip: We had a room with a partial lake view which was good value for money as it had a balcony overlookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    18
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
15
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West New York, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

In general the reviews before me give a good picture of the hotel, except for the one by the cranky guy from Birmingham UK.

The main selling point for the hotel is that it is the only real hotel in the tiny village of Gandria. And since the village is so tiny, you can't take your car down to the hotel. You will see that the "streets" are so narrow that it would be literally impossible to widen them enough to even accomodate a subcompact. In order to address this you get a key pass from the reception to drive your car to the point closes to the hotel, where there is an electric luggage elevator that you can use to get your luggage to the 5th floor of the hotel, where then you can take the elevator to your room.

Parking in the only parking lot costs 1 CHF an hour from 7 AM to 8 PM. The meter also takes EUR coins at EUR=CHF.

Yeah the decor is from the 1970's but I didn't see this as a significant minus. It would be nice if they updated it but 1970's decor is pretty common in Swiss hotels.

The real draw, as commented on before, is the lake view. There are no roads on the opposite side of the lake because it's too steep. So you are looking across at a forest, maybe 5 kilometers from Lugano. It's so dark at night, in fact, that I was able to take pictures of the stars with my camera.

Breakfast is served out on a lakeside veranda which is open to guests from 7:30 AM to 10:30 PM so you should not feel that you have to take a lake view room in order to see the lake.

As for the CHF being too strong and this somehow explaining problems at the hotel, no. The price of the Moosmann was somewhat more expensive than hotels we stayed at in Maggiore or Como, but given the unique circumstances (pedestrian village, unparalleled lake view) I think it is justified.

I think you could probably lose a pound a day staying at this hotel, between all the swimming you will do in the lake and all the walking up and down stairs you will do in the village and getting to the car park.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We were there in late April 12 and stayed there for one night. The room from our lake view room was incredible, especially the gorgeous view from the bathroom bathtub! The amenities in the room were basic but clean. Seriously, you don't need much with such a view, just a balcony and a couple of chairs. Such beauty with good privacy. Breakfast was adequate with warm coffee served at your table. Owner Enrico is also very friendly and helpful. Gandria is a small village but we like it because it is away from the crowds with fun winding streets to wander. There is a good regular boat service from Lugano that can bring you all the way to the end of the lake in Porlezza, Italy where you can get off to walk around and buy a gelato before taking the next boat back to Lugano. Gandria is also connected via hiking paths including the Olive path. We walked from Lugano to Gandria via Monte Bre Village. We took 1.5 hours, descended 2400 feet and walked a total of 3.75km. But you get to catch beautiful views of the lake and descend through the woodlands in well-marked paths. You do need moderate fitness and strong knees though.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich Switzerland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Stayed at the Moosmann hotel from 29th to 01st August 2011.
Hotel is located at the italian frontier and is a car free "village". I mean " as it is for me more a place with some houses, restaurants than a village. To reach the hotel you need to park your car outside and walk abut 100 meters. You need to know that they are some steps too as the hotel in situated directly on the lake. Rooms are quite simply decorated (70th style which is not really my case) but very clean (which is for me more essential). I have some reserved concerning the balcony. We had a room with balcony and you have 2 types of them. One is a french balcony where you can nearly put 2 chairs on it without hurting your knees and the other rooms have a bigger balcony. Don t know if the prices are different but in case you want a water front room ask for the bigger balcony. Anyway not traumatic as there is a huge terrace as well as a little green area where you can relax under the sun. As I mentioned before the hotel in directly on the lake so you can dive in it nearly from your balcony (so to speak).
Very friendly staff and the breakfast buffet has everything one needs to start a good day. To reach Lugano you can either walk (1 1/2 hour part of the path is on a quiet and beautiful path the rest unfortunately on the road) or take the boat or the busses. The parking for your car is CHF3 per day so not a problem I guess. Anyway all in all very calm, relaxing atmosphere.
The "village" does not offer much. A few restaurants that s basically it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Our favourite place - understated, simple, friendly, no-frills but heart-stoppingly beautiful! And nothing better than doing the long, lakeside walk into Lugano for the day, before catching the ferry back to the hotel for a sundowner. Have taken lots of family and friends here, and all of them still talk of the gorgeous breakfast, served on the deck over the lake.
We usually get the cheaper no-view rooms, since we're out and about a lot - makes it far more affordable.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
394 helpful votes 394 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Moosmann for 2 nights. Upon arrival we had read their website and reviews on TA so we knew we would have to descend a long way to get in to the hotel. Top tip is to travel light. There may be lifts etc but there are also a lot of steps. I arrived wanting so much to love this hotel because of its location, quirky layout and because it was family owned.

First impressions of the hotel itself were not good. The corridors were so dark it was difficult to see where we were going. In some cases, the lights come on automatically but in others they do not.

Having found our way to reception, we were greeted by a lady (name unknown but I think she is the owner, together with her husband). She was pleasant enough but there was no friendliness that I would have expected from a small family run hotel. Still, she was efficient and we were processed very quickly. It was at this point, I had to pay for the car park (whcih can be paid at hotel and they give you a voucher to display in the car) which meant going all the way back up to the road (2 lifts, several flights of stairs and a long road). Oh well, I chose the hotel knowing it didn’t have easy access so I can’t moan but I do think the parking part could be made a bit easier.

Upon entry to the room which was up a double flight of stairs in a dark corridor, we entered our room (206) which was lake view and the view was indeed stunning. Simply cannot be beaten in my opinion.

We were told by the lady that we need to keep the shutters closed if we leave the room and then she left. No information about the hotel, where to go for a drink, to eat etc. the room itself was the most basic room I have ever stayed in. it was clean and tidy but the décor is frankly, horrid. Just not nice at all with this bizarre brown paint effect on every surface, the bed, the desk, the chair etc. my first though was “thankfully we are only staying 2 nights”.

The bathroom was a reasonable size with shower over the bath. The toiletries they provide were extremely poor. It was just a single sachet of shower gel/shampoo and the smallest bar of soap. When we used the shower gel, they did replace it but the bar of soap was never replaced even though after a couple of showers, there was hardly any of it left.

No air conditioning which given it was 34 degrees outside and very humid was a problem. I appreciate this may have been exceptional weather but it still made sleeping very uncomfortable.

Bed – uncomfortable with very cheap mattress. Completely flat pillows.

The hotel itself has clearly seen much better days. It was virtually empty when we were there although the weather was fabulous, the scenery magnificent and the town of Gandria was busy. My overall impression was of a struggling hotel which had cut services and things like lighting to get through a difficult period.

Breakfast was ok – but very little choice.

The Wifi was broken – we were told it had broken the day before we arrived.

The garden is beautiful and well maintained. Sadly, no service at all in the garden. If you want a drink you have to go to reception to get it which is some distance away. For this reason, we never lingered for too long. This was a pity, it should have been a relaxing part of our 9 day touring holiday but instead we explored Gandria and the surrounding lake areas which is a beautiful area.

Both nights we ate in Gandria and had good food. The waiter in the restaurant was talking to a Swedish man who holidays there most years. We joined in their conversation to find that the Hotel Moosmann had closed their restaurant/bar earlier in the season and had to let staff go due a downturn and strength of Swiss Franc (on this point, if you are going from the UK – the GB£ is very weak – a beer is about £6/7, 500ml of house wine is about £20-25 etc). The local waiter told us that their restaurant was suffering as they were so close to the Italian border - across which restaurants and hotels were significantly cheaper.

I asked him if his knew where we could get access to wifi as the hotel’s wifi had broken the day before. The waiter laughed and said the hotel’s wifi had been off for some time.

We concluded that Hotel Moosmann really must be going through a very difficult patch and I felt very sorry for them. However, we paid a lot of money to stay there and it was not good value. I really think they could have done little things to make the experience for guests better which would not have cost very much at all but they did not. Even offering iced water to guests who were sitting in the garden in stiflingly hot conditions might have been a nice (and free idea) but Mr and Mrs M were simply nowhere to be seen.

Of the four hotels we stayed in during our 9 day tour, it was undoubtedly the poorest value. Given its location, the garden and it’s history, this hotel should be booming. Sadly, it is far from it. I would not go back there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

This is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. The staff was extremely friendly and helped us with any question we had. My husband and I have traveled a few times to Lugano and wanted something away from the center of town. This was the best place for that. It's quiet and peaceful. The breakfast was a typical European style which we enjoy. I'm 8 months pregnant and the staff was more than helpful to make sure I was happy with my hard boiled egg! Although you could hear other people in the hotel it was nothing that we haven't found in other places. And if you didn't feel like taking the ferry, the walk from Gandria to Lugano is not that long and quiet pleasant. We would recommend this place to anyone and would definately stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Moosmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moosmann

Address: Gandria, Lugano 6978, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano > Gandria
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 183
Also Known As:
Moosmann Hotel Gandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Moosmann, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.