We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good restaurant in a nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Balconada

La Balconada
Calle De Morata, 1, 28370 Chinchon, Spain
918941303
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Book Online and Save Up to 20% *
La Balconada is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
*Some exclusions may apply.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 28 Restaurants in Chinchon
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant in a nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Inside a old building, we've met a good place to eat nice in a quite envirotment. Service excelent, meat very good make, if i have to put anything wrong is the price. Little high. You can lunch or dinner in a balcon with a view of the place.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    43
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Expected more...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Once again, chose the restaurant because it ranked first on TripAdvisor. The location is fabulous. The view is magnificent. The service is excellent. The price is a little out of whack with what you get. The restaurant boasts a wonderful gastronomic history - awards, recognition, celebrities. Yet, it doesn't quite add up. The day's special was 25 euros for a bare-bones salad and a cochinillo. We has the pork cheeks for starter (delicious!). The partridge was very very tasty. The lenguado and the fan of fish and shrimp were rather bland and doused in oil. I would try other places first before recommending. To be sure, overall it was a good experience - am just disappointed with the price point.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“a restaurant with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Less than an hour from Madrid you can visit Chinchon, a small village that boasts one of the most beautiful medieval round squares in the world .
La Balconada has a great balcony that lets you enjoy the view of the square while eating their typical castilian fare . Good food, beautiful scenary and good service . Don´t miss it .

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
東京
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“try young garlic !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I visited this restaurant because of the most popular restaurant in chincyon.
The location ,service and food is very good as in other coments.
I want to especially recomend to try young garlic. It was so delicious !
I suppose we have rare chance to try it because of chinchon where is famous farmland of garlic.





The garlic soup was best



チンチョンで一番訪れる価値のある場所、まよーる広場に面したロケーションがよい。

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good service but could be better value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We went there on January 6 and were grateful that this place was open when everywhere else in Chinchon (on a public holiday) was closed. We were the only people in the restaurant and the surroundings were really lovely. We wanted Sangria with our meal and they duly obliged. The food itself was tasty but again you did not get much for your money. I had the venison which was cooked medium-rare and it came with fries. However, considering how empty the place was I would have thought they might have given me more than 9 fries arranged in a 3x3x3 criss-cross pattern (when it is that few it isn't difficult to count them). The fried milk was delicious. When you consider that each of the mains comes to 20 Euros each, the Sangria 14, and the desert 5 Euros that comes that is a lot of money for a 2 course meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Balconada also viewed

Chinchon, Community of Madrid
 
Chinchon, Community of Madrid
Chinchon, Community of Madrid
 

Been to La Balconada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Balconada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.