We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, but with strange quirks that I was not altogether happy with” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cal Llop

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cal Llop to your Saves list
Cal Llop
Carrer de Dalt, 21, 43737 Gratallops, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gratallops
Certificate of Excellence 2014
UK
Top Contributor
404 reviews 404 reviews
197 hotel reviews
Reviews in 214 cities Reviews in 214 cities
358 helpful votes 358 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, but with strange quirks that I was not altogether happy with”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

I find it very difficult to review this hotel, as its good points were very, very good, and its bad points very, very bad.

Start with the good. The hotel itself was superb, the rooms were modern, but fitted in with the old shell of the building. Our bedroom was lovely, and had views to the distant mountain ridges, over extensive vineyards.

So what did I not like. Well for a kick off you reception only functioned from 10 till 2 and from 6 in the afternoon onwards. So you could not check in between 2 and 6 in the afternoon. The hotel, and it is a 3 star hotel, was literally locked and abandoned during that time.The owners lived elsewhere, and there were no staff on duty.

Then there was a substantial problem with the heating. For whatever reason they used an open area on the bottom floor for guests dining and breakfasts, rather than the actual dining room which I assume could have been heated.. All heat in the house went upwards and none, and mean none, remained in the dining area. The radiator beside our table was cold, and the owner told us it was broken - next morning the waitress put it on for us!

The rather lovely designer lighting on the staircase was never turned on, resulting in my wife falling in the badly lit area.

The breakfast was not of the standard one would have expected. The orange juice was not fresh, it was in a little concentrated oj bottle. The toast had been "recycled"

We were left with the feeling that someone else had converted the building, and the current owners were still finding their feet. The chef certainly did not come out to chat to anyone on the two nights we were there, and the lady owner, in the hours she was on duty, stuck mainly to the reception area. Nobody really talked to us at all in our two days

As I say, a difficult hotel to review, you may like it a lot. or as the last reviewer not like it at all. You will really have to do your own homework on this one. I would recommend it as the rooms were so good, but I really did feel that they would have preferred that we had left them in peace and stayed at home!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    22
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
62
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

We had not been due to visit Gratallops but were so glad we did. This hotel is set in a perfect location in the small village with a great "heart of the village" feel. The decor was modern and attractive, rooms extremely comfortable and service was helpful, friendly and welcoming. We ate at the restaurant and the food was delicious and accompanied by fine local wine from the excellent wine list. Highly recommended as a comfortable base from which to explore this delightful area of Spain.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight UK
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

This is just a lovely, quiet, rural hotel in the beautiful Priorat region. We found this through rusticate.es and thrilled we did! The hotel is a delight, in the very pretty hilltop village of Gratollops – a very pretty, mountain-ess and windy drive from Reus. Gratollops is about 12-15 km from Falset, the hub of the region, with some smart restaurants, vinotecas and shops.

Cal Llop has been lovingly restored and renovated, with a very stylish finish, in keeping with the beautiful originality of the building, with a quirky and designer-esque finish.

We booked Room 10, which is the smallest room of the hotel, knowing that it was the only one with a private terrace, with the most incredible views over the village and vineyards and olive groves beyond. The room was beautifully decorated – the bathroom has a shower, with WC in the same room, which opens into the room – we were aware of this, and this slight inconvenience was worth every hour we spent on the terrace, absorbing the view, playing cards and enjoying some amazing local wines!

The hotel owners are very welcoming and extremely helpful. The hotel restaurant is in the basement of the hotel – again, gorgeous stone walls, with quirky and trendy detail and lighting. Food was good, if a little limited, but prices were reasonable, especially bar prices and generous measures, with olives and nibbles served with drinks.

The region is stunning, it’s like stepping back in time and people are extremely friendly and welcoming. We were lucky enough to arrive during the harvest of the grapes – what a fantastic sight! There are vineyards and bodegas around every corner and village, with tastings available everywhere. Local villagers invited us to try freshly harvested almonds – there aren’t many places you are lucky enough to sample this.

There was one other restaurant open on the day we arrived, with a menu completely in Catalan, but we were welcomed in, amongst locals and enjoyed some delicious, rustic home-cooking.

Go, enjoy and you will undoubtedly fall in love the region as we did.

You will most definitely need a car and some bravado for negotiating the steep and very, very narrow streets to reach here – it’s worth it!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

We stayed here in February and loved it. The owners are friendly and welcoming but not overbearing. They very happily helped with wine tours, confirming flights etc etc.
The room was wonderful with extradordinary views. Brightly coloured cheerful stylish rooms (see website).
The food was probably the best we had during our stay in Spain and the accompanying wines inspiring.
We had to leave very early one morning and they very kindly left a packed b/fast for our journey to the airport.
A great find. Stunning surroundings.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Islip, NY
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

The village of Gratallops clings to a mountain top in the Priorat region, surrounded by vineyards, wine producers and olive groves. The view from the village is stunning, with mountain scenery akin to the American West.

The hotel is charming and comfortable. Most importantly, it enables Americans who speak not a word of Spanish (or Catalan) to enjoy this stunning region. The hotel kindly booked wine tours and the owner escorted us down the street to the local restaurant for lunch so that we wouldn't get lost. The rooms are well furnished, if a bit small. The hotel restaurant's food was creative, well presented and much better than one might expect in a remote Catalan village. An extensive, well priced wine list introduced us to a wide range of Priorat wines.

For wine enthusiasts, the Priorat region should not be missed. The local shale soil produces wines of great intensity and richness, but with a pronounced minerality that pairs well with the rich meats and sausages native to the region.

Gratallops is a small village and a two or three day stay is likely to be sufficient. It is an easy 90 minute drive from Barcelona. It makes a nice addition to a long weekend there.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

This is a beautifully renovated hotel at the top of the village, with great views over the vineyard-covered hills. It's in the center of Spain's Priorat wine district and a perfect base from which to explore the region. The hotel restaurant is excellent.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2008

Driving through the countryside up to the hotel is stunning,the vistas are great,barren landscapes bar the vines,little traffic and fresh air.
We had booked in to the hotel for our 2nd leg of our tour from Tossa de Mar to Madrid.
On arriving at the hotel we parked up and booked in and were shown to our room (room 10).We had booked this room as it was the cheapest one so suited our budget but I now refuse to believe that the other rooms are better than this one!!
The room was the highest in the building and had a big double bed,flatscreenSat T.V.,and in the corner of the room was a wet room/shower/toilet which was kind of open plan to the room!Very unique.But what made this room so special was what lay outside the patio doors......a big roof patio with 2 sunbeds to sit on and views over the hills to die for!! Stunning.(if I can work out how to post pictures I will post some stunning ones of what I have described)
Gratallops is a village of around 250 people but it still has 4 or 5 restaurants and a couple of bars.
We ate in the hotel 1st night,3 courses of scrumpcious food for 20euros,very very good.
2nd night we went to a place on the village outskirts that served wholesome food for wholesome prices,we had starters,mains of rabbitt stew (mmmmmm!)Veal (mmmmmm!again) polished of with a beer and bottle and a half of red wine all for 28euro!
The staff at the hotel where great,very helpful and friendly even to the point when my girfriend (who was taking a bottle of red we had purchased at the cellar down the road to the room for safe keeping) tripped up the stairs and smashed the bottle and red was dripping everywhere down the stairs,the owner was there to clean up and make light of the situation by suggesting that the next time she should 'hold it with 2 hands like a baby!'
There is outside a lovely patio where we enjoyed a few glasses of local red and some olives in very tranquille surroundings,very relaxing indeed.
I hope to come back here one day for more than the 2 days we had.
All in all a real jewel in the Spanish countryside.

  • Liked — everything!
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cal Llop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cal Llop

Address: Carrer de Dalt, 21, 43737 Gratallops, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Gratallops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gratallops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cal Llop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cal Llop Gratallops
Cal Llop Hotel Gratallops

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cal Llop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.