We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tossa Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tossa Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Tossa Beach Hotel
Av. La Palma, 20 17320 Tossa De Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #153 of 402 Hotels in Costa Brava
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Short break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Excellent food and drinks and very convenient location close to beach and city center. Good entertainment provided after dinner for both family and friends. Lots of interesting places to visit as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    19
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
15
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Ok no lies no bull all true no exaggerations
Stayed here end Sept 2013 into Oct
Food nine out ten really nice grub great variety
Staff helpful
Room spotless
Pool small but ok
Weather good
Hotel spotless
Drinks great and decent quality
Bar staff friendly
BUT at about half ten all made to go inside from the poolside irrespective of any behaviour
At 11 20 glasses cleared and room emptied everyone sent to bed
Talking outside the bar at 11 30 told go to bed
Talking on balcony, elderly people told go to bed....tv on turn it off bed outside hotel in group older people not youngsters told go to bed.
On the balcony after 12 go to bed you couldn't make it up
No where to go for smoke after 12pm not allowed on balcony pool shut too
Told 300 pound fine smoking which I don't and flight cancelled too
No drinks in your room either so can't chill out there
We are a couple of 60 year old's but like to chill n chat late at night but where do we go ?
To blinking bed !
Evening was awful you have ten minutes then we lock up !oh where can writ sit then ?
You go bed !
Awful unless you love bed or have kids but it's not school hols....never ever again
Maybe it's cos they say this isn't Spain !
Too right it's not

Room Tip: Make sure it's got a balcony ours didn't and was tiny
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Tossa de mar was 2.45 hours from Barcelona airport far too long having had a flight of less than that. We had only come for 4 nights so a long way, however the resort was well worth it. The hotel is extremely clean with pleasant staff and on the door step for the beach shops and restaurants. We stayed fully inclusive and for us this was the most disappointing bit. The food was well presented but lacked variety and times are strict with a doorman ' the manager' on watch when entering and leaving. The restaurant is in the basement, so lacks any views nor does it have music, it is purely a functional place to eat only. The snack bar outside restaurant hours only cooks toasties ham/cheese, no variety hotdogs burgers and fries. No cocktails just standard local drinks served in awful plastic glasses. We ate out all of the evenings by one and had some lovely meals, mainly set menus to keep costs down but in beautiful settings, overlooking the beach, castle and church in the square. We had a warm friendly welcome with fab service from all. Our room no. 309 was large, had a balcony with a view of the beach and castle which I think we were lucky in having as most must face the roads or other buildings, or the small pool area, that never really got any sun on it, and loungers without cushions, all a little disappointing.We had 2 double beds which were comfy and each evening the hotel was quiet so got much needed rest. The room had a safe, tv and fridge. the safe had to be paid for, a remote for the tv was required by a deposit ( refunded) as was the fridge, all disappointing as it was 4 stars!! And wifi was extra too. Bar and bar area shuts at 11.30 SHARP!!!!! We didn't really see any entertainment that went on but they had karaoke, singers parrot shows etc. most evenings with quiz and bingo. There is a castle which is pretty and lots of coves and clean beaches to enjoy. The market 2 mins away is on a Thursday. Overall the hotel is great, well placed and very clean pretty beaches but would recommend bed and breakfast only and flying in from another airport. We paid£300 fully inc each inc transfer so good value for money.

Room Tip: 309 definitely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Really nice hotel in a beautiful town. The situation also was wonderfull, just 2 minuts walking to get in the middle of the beach. Just the awfull weather during all our holidays didn´t help us. Hope next time we have more lucky with that point, but we´ll come back, for sure!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

When i booked this holiday i was very worried with all the bad reviews about how strict the place is and how awful it was. When me and my fiancee arrived the place were the bus drops u is very run down and i was really worried but u walk about 2minutes down a road and its lovely very modern 4☆☆☆☆ hotel in a great location for shops and the beach. The foor is very basic but english such as chicken chips fish. The snack bar is great does tosties and chips hotdogs and burgers. The staff are always welcoming and nevour make u feel like u in a prison like some of the reviews.
I read a review about smoking on balconys and a few people were cought i felt this was a bit wrong but when i get there and see how clean the hotel is and how the stafff work to keep it this way i understand why they dont like u to smoke but there is smoking areas everywere.
My opinion is this is a great low cost holiday and dont be put of by the reviews.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brazil
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We did a last minute deal through travel republic. I was wary as the price was low. This is a great hotel, slightly out of season so it was quiet. Room was newly refurbished. Tv and hair dryer and towels provided. The hotel is immaculate and cleaners work all day and into the evening keeping it that way. It's only got one dining room food was all very good quality. Standard English breakfast or continental variety with fruits and yoghurt etc. lunch was varied and plenty of choice, you can also have toasties burgers and hot dogs at the bar. Dinner was again all good quality and enough choice. Bar was ok and plenty of choice of drinks the wine and Amstel beer were good, didnt n try spirits but they were popular. A bit of music and a dance floor for those who fancied it. Tossa is a lovely place great beach and quite traditional. We would go back. This hotel was not full of larger louts and had a nice atmosphere

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed there for a week in September 2011. For the price, food was good, hotel room was decent, staff friendly enough. Tossa de mar is a beautiful little town and I would definitely go again. Providing you don't want to sit around the pool all day drinking cheap beer, you can make your holiday lovely.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tossa Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tossa Beach Hotel

Address: Av. La Palma, 20 17320 Tossa De Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 402 Hotels in Costa Brava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Tossa Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tossa Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.