We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twice in one week - it was that good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Layn

Layn
Calle Almirante, 07157 Port d'Andratx, Majorca, Spain
+34 971671855
Improve this listing
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Oxford
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Twice in one week - it was that good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The four of us are pretty fussy about our food and Layn lived up to it's excellent reputation. We were staying at the HPB Bioneralla complex and had been recommended by management there.

We ate here twice and covered a good portion of the menu in the two meals....nothing disappointed. For me the absolute highlight was a carpaccio of courgette followed by the most amazing salt cod with garlic and oil. Mind you their garlic prawns were on the pretty special side too. Lovely fresh Mallorcan wines to accompany, a lemon sorbet with whisky to die for. This is a special place, warmly run by Father and I believe daughter. If you are in the Port Andraxt area, this is a must eat restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    18
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Family Run Sea Front Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is a fantastic place to eat with a extensive menu to suit all tastes. Fantastic views from the outdoor part over the sea and port.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Harbour side delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Food and wine were excellent. The green peppers padron are a great way to start the meal. Stroganoff and Salmon pasta served with style by very quiet but effective staff. Macia batl white wine great. Complimentary lemon whisky sorbet a very nice finishing touch. Went twice within a few days as enjoyed it so much.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting with sea view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We have eaten there quite a few times and love the. Ambiance, the food and, of course, the sunshine. I can recommend it for excellent fish

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Really lovely restaurant. Always visit when we holiday. Salmon Tartare is divine. Dream of it most nights. Wonderful service. One of my favourites.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Layn also viewed

Port d'Andratx, Majorca
Port d'Andratx, Majorca
 
Port d'Andratx, Majorca
Port d'Andratx, Majorca
 

Been to Layn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Layn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.