We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel in the real Mallorca” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel L'Escaleta

Hotel L'Escaleta
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port d'Andratx
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel L'Escaleta
Save
You added Hotel L'Escaleta to your Saves list
Calle Del Porvenir 10 | S'arraco, 07159 Port d'Andratx, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great little hotel in the real Mallorca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Just back from a wonderful holiday staying at this hotel for 10 days. S'Arraco is a real Mallorcan village, not one given over to tourism. The hotel is small - 6 rooms to let - but has all the conveniences we needed and Dorothy and Suzanne were great hosts. We didn't hire a car but this was not a problem as the buses and taxi's were sufficient if we were not walking. We took the bus to Palma one day which involves a change in Port Andratx but it all went smoothly. There are a multitude of paths along the valley and up into the hills but they are not well marked - make sure you get directions from Suzanne before you set out! The only drawback we found is that several of the restaurants in the village had closed and so food - good food - was only available at one bar, otherwise you need to go to Port Andratx or St Elm to eat - and there are very good restaurants at these two places. We hope to return in the near future.

Room Tip: We had room 2 which has excellent views and is spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oban, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

S'Arraco small village, very friendly. The hotel is great, especially with pool now added. Dorothy and Suzanne perfect hostesses. Lots of information about walks which we did - quite strenuous some of them!! Easy without a car. Local buses to Sant Elmo, Porto Andratx and Andratx stop at the square, or walk to them and take a bus or taxi back. One of the best holidays we have had. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Hotel L'Escaleta is an excellent property and right up there with the very best European boutique hotels. L’Escaleta is decorated to a high and standard and is run perfectly. Throughout my stay I was impressed by the underlying quality which you can see everywhere – this place is stylish and tasteful but also modest and perfectly measured: Whether it is the drapery in the bedrooms, the spot-on breakfasts or the wonderful background music which trickles out onto the brilliant outdoor terrace. What Suzanne has created is a subtle premium experience that hides the huge amount of thought and work that has gone into every area of the business.

The location is great. Far better to be here than in the tourist pits. The island is easily accessible by hire car, bicycle or taxi. If there are two or three of you in a cab it costs very little to pop along to the wonderful Port Andratx for dinner in the marina. Just ring the taxi firm (or the hotel will happily do this for you) and they are there in five minutes. Another five minutes and a few Euros later and you’re there. If you do have the opportunity though, visitors should try and sample Suzanne’s incredible cooking for at least one lunch or dinner. She’s a professional chef, and it shows. Just like the accommodation, the food is fantastic and to the same impeccable standard. The keen eyed will notice the Miele cooker further cementing the attention to quality, most will be too busy scoffing down the delicious meals.

There is an honour bar which is convenient and good value. A cold beer and a plunge in the pool is a wonderful way to see out the afternoon.

I will certainly be returning to the hotel, I am grateful to the friend who first tipped me off about this place and I will be telling as many people as possible about Hotel L’Escaleta.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is the perfect venue for a base on Majorca. Suzanne & Dorothy have matched a warm, inviting location with perfect hosting and fantastic, authentic cuisine to suit various tastes. They are flexible to your needs and their knowledge of the island was very helpful. I am missing them already and I have only been back a day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Great return trip to Hotel Escaleta, little bit to hot for the bike in June but did a few early rides and also walked the Torente to Sacalobra awesome walk but take a guide we even used a climbing rope to shimmy down some of the boulders. The new hotel pool was welcomed on the return from the days adventure. Again great service and you feel very at home. Love the village and St Elmo beach. Top spot.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury Wiltshire UK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

This small hotel is an absolute gem and is ideally situated in a small Mallorcan village. It has a very relaxing and friendly atmosphere and we were made to feel very welcome by our hosts Suzanne and her mother Dorothy.
It has a beautiful garden with breakfasts (excellent) being served on the terrace. Our room was good with very comfortable beds and with views of the mountains and countryside. Within easy reach of Palma (but seems like a world away from the hustle and bustle) and close to both chic Port D’Andratx and good beach at the small unspoilt St Elm, both of which are only 10 minutes’ drive away.
An ideal place from which to explore the real Mallorca set in a partlcularly lovely corner of this island. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farthingstone
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Wonderful hospitality from Suzanne and Dorothy in their small, comfortable Hotel situated in fantastic countryside. For walkers, the location is first class as you can set out and walk right from the Hotel. Excellent breakfast, lovely garden and Suzanne's evening meals , when she cooks, are first class ! The informal atmosphere was so relaxing with a fund of local knowledge to tap into .We will definitely return !

Room Tip: Rooms are on 3 floors, and you need to be able to manage stairs but no problem for us !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel L'Escaleta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Escaleta

Address: Calle Del Porvenir 10 | S'arraco, 07159 Port d'Andratx, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port d'Andratx
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Port d'Andratx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in a beautiful, peaceful valley in the southwest corner of Mallorca you will find the charming village of S’arraco. Here is the family-owned Hotel L’Escaleta, a delightful, converted schoolhouse, rich in history and style, with stunning views and comfortable accommodation.S’arraco is located at the foot of the magnificent Serra de Tratumantana mountain range and is a traditional Mallorquian village. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel L'Escaleta Port D'Andratx, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel L'Escaleta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.