We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and very friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Residencia Catalina Vera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Residencia Catalina Vera to your Saves list
Hostal Residencia Catalina Vera
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Isaac Peral, 63, 07157 Port d'Andratx, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Clean and very friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Its a 2 star Hostel so we didn't expect much but it was lovely. Rooms were very clean. No aircon but they did provide fans. There is a lovely garden and chairs and table outside every room. Breakfast was really good and the service was super friendly. The guy spoke Catalan, English and German. Its a family run place which makes it even nicer. On arrival we asked for a bottle of water (it was over 30c) and they didn't want us to pay for it. Will stay again, without doubt.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    18
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
19
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Other reviews focus on positive aspects of the hostal, which all are true: Parking place for car is absolute plus in P d'A, very nice hosts, and decent breakfast (nothing to complain)
So no need to repeat the very good value you get at Catalina Vera, the only comment I have would be: owners please think to add fridge to every room or even better arrange some common kitchenette with fridge, wine glasses and basic cutlery - accessible for all your guests. If you are travelling with little baby you need fridge to store milk etc. or just a microwave or kettle - it's really important.
Despite this minor issues (where owners always promptly responded to our requests and stored milk in their fridge or boiled water for us) we are very satisfied after our stay.

Room Tip: If you have baby on board ask for garden view, level zero room. No stairs and baby can run via the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We met Pablo, the son, as we arrived. He was very welcoming and very proud of his family hostal. Rightly so, it is a super place. 100 metres from the sea, in the middle of the Port area, surrounded by bars and restaurants. WALK ROUND AND FIND YOUR OWN. The rooms are large, airy, bright, clean and have modern bathrooms, plenty of hot water with good pressure. Only the breakfast let the whole sty down. It was drab, poor coffee, poor ORANGE juice, stale bread and insipid cheese. Find your own in the area. Wifi did not work for us. NEVERTHELESS we would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaVeraHostal, Gerente at Hostal Residencia Catalina Vera, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Chris,

We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for having shared your feedback with us, also about the points that could be improved.

We really hope that we will be able to welcome you back for another relaxing, enjoyable stay at our Hostal.


Kind regards

Pablo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piaseczno
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
153 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

It's not typical hotel, it's more something like private guesthouse, double room cost about 75euros. You can try to bargain. Guesthouse is located near harbour, about 150metres. My room had a nice balcony, garden is also very beautiful.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catalinavera, Gerente at Hostal Residencia Catalina Vera, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review, it's always good to receive them.

Our pursuit in making our guests feel welcome, relaxed and giving them value for money, whilst not compromising on quality and comfort has paid off, as we have just received an Award by Quality in Tourism.

We look forward to greeting you again,

Best regards

Hostal Catalina Vera, Port d'Andratx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We spent two nights at Hostal Catalina Vera and were very pleased with the accommodation and overwhelmed by the beauty of the garden!!! Our room was spacious, spic' n span clean and beds very comfortable. Its location if perfect, right in the center of town. The owners were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is however very basic, but there are plenty of good cafés and bakeries nearby. We would highly recommend this hostal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catalinavera, Gerente at Hostal Residencia Catalina Vera, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. Is very much appreciated.

We are very glad you have been enjoying your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.


Kind regards from Port d'Andratx,

Pablo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Charming hostal in a very central location. We paid €75/night for a double room, which included breakfast and parking, and parking is scarce in Port d'Andratx, so that is a bonus. Staff were very charming, multi lingual, and coudn't have been more helpful with advice on things to do.
Some improvements could be made though; I would suggest that only offering breakfast up to 9.30 seems a little tough on holidays, also changing to a more buffet style breakfast might make life easier for everyone. The rooms themselves are a bit small, but the main annoyance I had was the tiny coffin sized shower cubicles, there was barely room to turn around in ours.
Wifi was a bit flaky too, perhaps tech support could take a look at making some improvements there.
However don't let any of my gripes put you off staying here, it is a charming place, and you get what you pay for price wise.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catalinavera, Gerente at Hostal Residencia Catalina Vera, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your impressions of your past stay with us, which helps us improve the services we offer.

We would be delighted to welcome you back in the not too distant future!

Kind regards from Port d'Andratx

Your Suau-Vera Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Beach SA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Hostel Catalina Vera is a small, reasonable gem, quietly situated in a large garden but within 100m to the Port. The hostel is an old traditional Mallorcan house with all its furnishings.The rooms are clean and simple but comfortable. The twin room was made up with the beds pushed together to make kingsize with a little balcony or patio with chairs and table to sit outside. Very quiet, so a good nights sleep. A wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: great value in expensive Port d'Andratx
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catalinavera, Gerente at Hostal Residencia Catalina Vera, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words, we are happy that we suceeded in providing a nice stay for you. It is our aim to satisfy all our guests and we are even more cheerful to get back such positive comments!

We hope to welcome you soon again,

Best regards from sunny Port d'Andratx

Your Suau-Vera Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Residencia Catalina Vera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Residencia Catalina Vera

Address: Isaac Peral, 63, 07157 Port d'Andratx, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port d'Andratx
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Port d'Andratx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Residencia Catalina Vera 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location of hotel is unbeatable, in the midst of nature and just a few steps from the promenade of the Port d'Andratx. It is ideal both to relax and to enjoy an active stay in this cosmopolitan resort in the southwest of Majorca. Located just a few kilometres from some of the most beautiful beaches of the island it is also the perfect starting point for many excursions of scenic and cultural value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Residencia Catalina Vera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Residencia Catalina Vera Port D'Andratx, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Residencia Catalina Vera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.