We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guesthouse near harbour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Residencia Catalina Vera

Save Saved
You added Hostal Residencia Catalina Vera to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostal Residencia Catalina Vera
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Isaac Peral, 63, 07157 Port d'Andratx, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Piaseczno
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
153 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Guesthouse near harbour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

It's not typical hotel, it's more something like private guesthouse, double room cost about 75euros. You can try to bargain. Guesthouse is located near harbour, about 150metres. My room had a nice balcony, garden is also very beautiful.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catalinavera, Gerente at Hostal Residencia Catalina Vera, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review, it's always good to receive them.

Our pursuit in making our guests feel welcome, relaxed and giving them value for money, whilst not compromising on quality and comfort has paid off, as we have just received an Award by Quality in Tourism.

We look forward to greeting you again,

Best regards

Hostal Catalina Vera, Port d'Andratx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    17
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
19
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We spent two nights at Hostal Catalina Vera and were very pleased with the accommodation and overwhelmed by the beauty of the garden!!! Our room was spacious, spic' n span clean and beds very comfortable. Its location if perfect, right in the center of town. The owners were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is however very basic, but there are plenty of good cafés and bakeries nearby. We would highly recommend this hostal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catalinavera, Gerente at Hostal Residencia Catalina Vera, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. Is very much appreciated.

We are very glad you have been enjoying your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.


Kind regards from Port d'Andratx,

Pablo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Charming hostal in a very central location. We paid €75/night for a double room, which included breakfast and parking, and parking is scarce in Port d'Andratx, so that is a bonus. Staff were very charming, multi lingual, and coudn't have been more helpful with advice on things to do.
Some improvements could be made though; I would suggest that only offering breakfast up to 9.30 seems a little tough on holidays, also changing to a more buffet style breakfast might make life easier for everyone. The rooms themselves are a bit small, but the main annoyance I had was the tiny coffin sized shower cubicles, there was barely room to turn around in ours.
Wifi was a bit flaky too, perhaps tech support could take a look at making some improvements there.
However don't let any of my gripes put you off staying here, it is a charming place, and you get what you pay for price wise.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catalinavera, Gerente at Hostal Residencia Catalina Vera, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your impressions of your past stay with us, which helps us improve the services we offer.

We would be delighted to welcome you back in the not too distant future!

Kind regards from Port d'Andratx

Your Suau-Vera Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Beach SA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Hostel Catalina Vera is a small, reasonable gem, quietly situated in a large garden but within 100m to the Port. The hostel is an old traditional Mallorcan house with all its furnishings.The rooms are clean and simple but comfortable. The twin room was made up with the beds pushed together to make kingsize with a little balcony or patio with chairs and table to sit outside. Very quiet, so a good nights sleep. A wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: great value in expensive Port d'Andratx
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catalinavera, Gerente at Hostal Residencia Catalina Vera, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words, we are happy that we suceeded in providing a nice stay for you. It is our aim to satisfy all our guests and we are even more cheerful to get back such positive comments!

We hope to welcome you soon again,

Best regards from sunny Port d'Andratx

Your Suau-Vera Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland on Sea, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

The beautiful natural harbour that is Port d`Andratx has been developed over the last few decades and now has many modern villas, hotels and apartments stretching around the bay. Along the waterside there are many bars and restaurants to choose from, but just 100 meters back from the promenade there is a gem that is the Hostel Catalina Vera.

If you are looking to stay in a “could be anywhere in the world” chain hotel don’t stay at the Vera, if, on the other hand, you want feel you are in the real Majorca then the tranquil Vera is a must. The traditionally furnished en-suite rooms are cool and quiet, the double beds are huge, the very Spanish setting and gardens are beautiful, and there are plenty of parking spaces-what more can I say. One word of warning, if you take your book out onto the terrace with you in the morning you will probably find yourself there all day!

Value for money 120%, can’t wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hostal Residencia Catalina Vera, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your review. It is a pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future,

Warm regards from sunny Port d'Andratx,

Pablo López
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klosters, Switzerland
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

You come here because it's 50-60 Euro per night per couple incl breakfast, but mostly because it's 3 mins from the front at Port Andratx, so well situated for bars.
Rooms are basic but clean although paper thin walls!
Breakfast is bread and fruit on a plate with coffee or tea and only operates between 8:30 and 9:30. The decor is a mixture of car boot sale-aholic and Grandma's rubbish room but keep your head down and it won't affect you too much.
Pablo speaks very good English and is very helpful. He recommended restaurant Galicia down the road but it wasn't much good for fish.

Room Tip: We were in room 107 and 108 which had a small balcony each with late afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catalinavera, Gerente at Hostal Residencia Catalina Vera, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.
It is very gratifying for us to read reviews from guests, and especially from those that enjoyed their stay as you did. Thank you very much for your kind comments and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon to the Hostal Catalina Vera in Port d'Andratx.

Kind regards,

Pablo López
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

This was my first visit to Port Andratx, and staying at Hostal Residencia Catalina Vera, certainly enhanced the experience. This was a gem of a find, just a very short walk to the Port area - with all the expensive bars and restaurants, this hostal must be the bargain of the year. The room was large, clean and although we thought we booked a twin, the double bed was large enough to avoid any 'awkward' moments. Slept well, too well - and missed breakfast. The natural gardens and plantlife was just perfect - most definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Room 109 has it's own small veranda, so try and book that one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catalinavera, Gerente at Hostal Residencia Catalina Vera, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly the double bed and our location.

We would like to thank you for your comments, which we really appreciate and we hope we will see you back at the Hostal Catalina Vera soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Residencia Catalina Vera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Residencia Catalina Vera

Address: Isaac Peral, 63, 07157 Port d'Andratx, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port d'Andratx
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Port d'Andratx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Residencia Catalina Vera 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location of hotel is unbeatable, in the midst of nature and just a few steps from the promenade of the Port d'Andratx. It is ideal both to relax and to enjoy an active stay in this cosmopolitan resort in the southwest of Majorca. Located just a few kilometres from some of the most beautiful beaches of the island it is also the perfect starting point for many excursions of scenic and cultural value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hostal Residencia Catalina Vera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Residencia Catalina Vera Port D'Andratx, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Residencia Catalina Vera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.