We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good quality and good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Coche

El Coche
Mateo Bosch, 07157 Port d'Andratx, Majorca, Spain
+34 971671976
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Always good quality and good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

V pleasant staff run this cosy restaurant which on the main road through the port. Food is always good rather large portions though. You will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    17
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in the port”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Have been going to El Coche for several years and it remains my favorite restaurant in the port. It is smart but relaxed and the food is always good. The service is friendly we with the servers easily conversing in Spanish, English and German, as are most of the restaurants in the port. If you like the calm before the storm this is a great spot for an early dinner and watch the sun set. Great with kids and equally charming for couples. I rate this as the best restaurant in the port as the combination of fresh, tasty food, service and atmosphere have been consistent every time. Looking forward to returning this summer.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port d'Andratx, Spain
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We go to El Coche at least once a month.
Food is amazing, staff is superb! Definitely recommend then chipirones for a starter and steak or lamb as a main. Never had a bad meal! Not always the cheapest, but its worth every penny!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Food & Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

On recommendation we visited El Coche for dinner, we had a very enjoyable evening with good Mallorcan food and attentive service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Well run, friendly restaurant with a casual atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

You have to face facts. Port Andratx is an expensive place to eat in comparison to other less affluent areas but you tend to get what you pay for in life! This restaurant overlooks the fishing boats in the Port and there is a road between El Coche and the sea.. This means there is a constant stream of entertainment unfolding in front of your very eyes and we don't find it detracts from the ambiance. Watching the locals and tourists parading up and down adds to the atmosphere!
We can recommend the rack of lamb at 23 euro which was huge with eight ribs! The grilled sea bass at 17 euros was flavoursome and freshly cooked. Both dishes were accompanied by potatoes and vegetables which had been warmed up and were just ok.
El Coche is one of our favourite places in The Port. Not too expensive, friendly service, good summer or winter and reliable. The menu is varied enough for most tastes with meat, fish and pasta dishes.
If you smile back at the waiting staff you will probably be offered a 'drink on the house' at the end of your meal.
Best to book a table in the season.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Coche also viewed

Port d'Andratx, Majorca
Port d'Andratx, Majorca
 
Port d'Andratx, Majorca
Port d'Andratx, Majorca
 

Been to El Coche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Coche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.