We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't you love them apples?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rio Bidasoa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Rio Bidasoa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rio Bidasoa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nafarroa Behera 1, 20280 Hondarribia, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Hondarribia
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Don't you love them apples?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The only thing myself, her indoors or our baby could find to complain about was the lack of mirrors in the room. Vanity aside, great location, great rooms, friendly staff, really clean, pool area immaculate, food and drink reasonable in the cafe area, the restaurant had good offers for daily menu's. Tremendous free apples on every floor too, we couldn't get enough of them.
Definitely stay there again when up that neck of the woods.

Room Tip: Don't know I only stayed in one of them but pool view was good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monica s, Director General at Hotel Rio Bidasoa, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
I am very pleased to know that you really enjoyed your stay among us. We try to do our best to make everyone feel comfortable when visiting us. We just finished painting and redecorating all the rooms last June and in fact we realised that we had forgotten about mirrors. “That’s our next task to ameliorate the conditions indoors”. We will be doing this at winter time.

Thank you so much for your compliments, words like yours encourage us to keep on working to be at the top.

We will be very grateful to receive your visit again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    42
    14
    3
    6
See reviews for
21
54
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there for a night on the way to San Sebastian. We booked a standard room for around €200. The room was minuscule and reminded me of a clean 2 star hotel I stayed in Copenhagen.
Upon protesting over the size of the room we were offered a superior or a suite for an addition fee which we decided to pay.
However the member of staff looked at us during this episode as if we were very difficult and practically ignored us while showing us the other room choices.
Overall nice place, totally over priced for the location and could benefit from some customer service trainng of their reception ladies. Nice suite if you want to pay :-)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

For my part disappointing in their conciliatory stance. Did not get the booking dates right from the start causing delays and unessary expenses during the visa application and would take no responsibility for this. This alone brings doubt as to the amability and welcoming of the staff. I was reluctant as to staying there and they made my mind up for me. Hote RioBidasoa Not for me thank you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bordeaux
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

I had gps rocking and it guided me (ta american military industrial complex) straight to to car park of this super boutique hotel so the only qualm i could have had (tricky to find)was taken out ...Get a gps people!
This hotel really impressed me from soup to nuts.Check in was friendly and smooth.The room was big , clean , air con ed,flatscreened,wified,fridged,etc..etc...top notch accommodation.
Hotel had a super cafe with papers , well priced food , red wine ,couches , and a nice terrase.
The grounds were lovely with a pool and chillout beds.
There is a gourmet resto in the basement which fills the carparck so arrive early.
Apples and ipads are scattered around unbelievably.As i was working an ipad the groundsman wallked past and told me it had safari,google and i garbled"todo!"
Very well situated hotel too , just next too the town(great restos),the beach walkway,the hendaye ferry,the lift for the old town and the san sebastian airport...
Book it unless you find fault in everything and suffer from anhadonia in which case get help ...

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We chose to stay here since we wanted to visit both San Sebastian and Biarritz. This hotel was perfect for that and about 25 minutes from each town. We really had no complaints. The room was clean and very simple. It had a Scandinavian feel to it. The grounds were lovely and the town itself was charming. We did not explore the town at great lengths since we spent most of our time between San Sebastian and Biarritz but did walk up to the Parador which was beautiful. The beaches in San Sebastian and Biarritz are wonderful and it is totally possible to home base here and then drive each day. The tolls are a little high going back and forth but the back roads can be taken as well. We did not mind the drive.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priors Marston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

We stayed for a week in October. The hotel is smart and contemporary. Rooms are clean and crsip and breakfast very good. A great location to walk across to the old town and easy access to walk into Hondarrabia. The staff very helpful and recommended several good local restaurants. They also helped us with public transport making our trips to San Sebastian, Biarritz and St Jean de Luz which are a must to visit. We had days out and drove to Rioja for a Bodega visit and to a beautiful village called St Jean de Pied Port, both a couple of hours away but worth the effort.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north Wales
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

We where with our 2 children and where touring n Spain and France. The hotel was in the Brittany Ferries suggestions for luxery hotels in the area. The hotel is situated in a residential area and doest look to promising on your arrival. Its has over the last couple of years been restyled in a mimamlist style. The room we where allocated for the four of us was far to small and we where moved to a large and much better room although we had to pay extra which seemed unfair.
The town is close by and can be walked in under 5 mins.
We ate in the hotel the first night. the menue looked impressive but the food wasnt. Given the menue i would have expected a busy brigade in the kitchen, there clearly wasnt. I got the impression everything was pre cooked but i could be wrong. There was also little atmosphere in the restaurant which was situated in the basement.
Breakfast was fine if not limited. ( a small buffett).
The staff where helpful and directed us to eat in the Almara which was a fantastic restaurant.
Overall an ok hotel in a modern style wih limited character. it did however have a very good pool and poolside area.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rio Bidasoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rio Bidasoa

Address: Nafarroa Behera 1, 20280 Hondarribia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Guipuzcoa Province > Hondarribia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Hondarribia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rio Bidasoa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Río Bidasoa Hotel is an establishment where everything is thought for our guests' calm and comfort. Surrounded by a cared garden with car park and swimming pool, is the perfect accommodation for those who want to enjoy a pleasant stay in Hondarribia.All our services fulfils accessibility regulations.The restaurant is a quiet and pleasant place to enjoy good cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Rio Bidasoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Bidasoa Hondarribia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rio Bidasoa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.