We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for exploring Basque Country” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jauregui

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Jauregui to your Saves list
Hotel Jauregui
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zuloaga 5, 28280 Hondarribia, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Hondarribia
Oakland, CA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent location for exploring Basque Country”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The hotel has an excellent location. We wanted to travel in Basque Country and San Sabestian was a bit too crowded for our taste. Hondurribia is a great small town, with a lovely beach and nice tapas bars and places to eat. The hotel was clean and comfortable. Parking cost extra and is off site, but an easy 3 minute walk and well worth it if you have a car, otherwise parking is difficult in town. We did not eat breakfast at the restaurant, as we had a kitchenette to prepare our meals. The family apartment has a washer which worked nicely, they have a large drying rack in the apartment that worked nicely. Internet wifi is good and good range of TV options for our kids. We had an obstructed view of the harbor, that was never-the-less very pleasant and relaxing.

The excellent public beach is about a 20 minute walk away, but it is a great beach. However a walk along the promenade of the harbor is really onli a minute or two from the hotel. The Tapas Bar attached to the hotel was very good and reasonably priced. We found the drive to San Sabestian was easy and it is only about 45 minutes to Pamplona (which we loved and would highly recommend). We found a gourmet grocery store about a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel, so that was a nice way to cut costs while still getting good quality food to prepare in our kitchen

The family residential apartment is located on the fourth floor and has two floors. The floors are connected by a narrow, rickety spiral staircase. Both of the bedrooms are up the stairs and it is difficult to bring luggage up to those bedrooms. Once the bags are upstairs it was okay. Kind of dangerous to use the stairs in the dark. The family apartments are the only rooms with balconies, which our kids enjoyed and they felt well bolted and secure.

We would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    51
    22
    3
    1
See reviews for
23
40
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I would feel much better about this hotel of it charged half as much as it does for what or offers.
My single room is just over two meters wide (7 feet) and four meters long (13 feet) It does have all one needs, and, because desk, closet, mini-fridge, chair, narrow bed, and actually large-for-room-size window are well-designed/sized small(w/ nice exception for the window) for the room, and well-placed, I do not feel as claustrophobic as I expected to do when first shocked by the tiny room.

This am, I saw a crib in the hallway; if it fit (comfortably) into a larger room, the size issue might just pertain to singles.

Staff have been professionally courteous.

Whole hotel is sparkling clean and sports newish, inoffensive design. There's even a nice nod toward actual art - a sculpture that grabbed my interest for a moment just in front of the door and a sketch of the view outside my room's window -- or perhaps of another, similar street in this agreeable section of town.

I just don't know why I should pay 94 Euros for one night here. This is by far the most I've paid for a single room and more than for a double at most hotels of similar quality.
There's no ocean view in this quiet, though not really sleepy, seaside town. The hotel's street is nice enough, but nothing to write home about. Honderribia is just across a blue, watery border from France -- a 'gateway' to the Spanish Basque region, but the beach, harbor, cafés, restaurants, shopping, history, Old town, scenery.... everything, in short that a holiday-maker could want -- here is better in any number of other towns, nearby -- and even this town offers more scenic spots than the one where Jauregui situates itself, so it can't be location that drives up the price.

ah, there is a quite nice wine bar two-three short blocks away: Ardoke Vinoteka.

All in all, I have nothing damning to say about this place -- but find no reason to encourage you to come either.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javea, Spain
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
271 helpful votes 271 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

A perfect location in the centre of the Hondarribia tapas trail, a stones throw from the seafront and a short walk to the old town. Only member of staff we encountered was the receptionist who seemed to work all hours, was friendly, helpful and efficient. The hotel is modern and the room was clean and comfortable. I would happily stay in this hotel again and it did represent good value for money. The only observation I have is that the hotel bar, which has a different frontage to the hotel, was the most expensive bar for tapas and drinks of those we visited; which was pretty much all of them. All in all a good hotel in a very nice seaside town.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011 via mobile

We stayed in the two floored apartment for 3 nights with our 2 children and used it as a base to travel into France and Donostia. It was very nice to use the kitchen and washer and have b-fast there. We planned on having dinner there but we had so many great options right outside our front door that we ate out. The apt was clean and comfortable but it had very cheap furniture and it was way overpriced at 179 euro/night. I wouldn't stay here again due to the price and lack of charm.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and it was a pity we had to leave... We liked everything. The hotel is located in the heart of the old town so everything is just at your hand: charming basque houses, traditional bars and restaurants, the bay with plenty of fishmen boats etc. We had a wonderful family room located on the forth and fifth floor of the building (nice guest room with a big sofa and a fully equipped kitchen on the fourth floor and a sleeping room with bathroom on the fifth floor). Everything was very clean and modern and both rooms had fantastic views: on the charming street and on the bay with French coast on the opposite side. The personnel was very helpful and friendly, the breakfast was just excellent. We also liked the parking facilities. The parking itself is situated in a different building (3 minutes walk) but is very well organized: when you arrive, you are given a key from the parking (a particular parking place number is indicated) so you can use it when you like. Hondarribia was just one of the stops during our 2000 km trip throughout Spain and Jauregui hotel proved to be one of the best hotels we stayed. If I'm ever in Hondarribia again I would be happy to stay at Jauregui.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

I will start with what the hotel can control and is long term.

The location is at the center of Hondarribia, right next to a quaint street with pintxos bars and a nice local feel given its a tourist town. I found this more charming and managable than San Sebastian or Biarritz which were both sort of bigger examples of Hondarrabia with more tourists and more real tourist shops.

The manager and the day staff were very nice and helpful.

The hotel is a 2 block walk from the boat to the Hendaye beach (about 1.5 euros each way).

They have rooms which comfortably fit a family of 5.

The internet wifi worked well.

There are buses in front and a taxi stand right next door. There are several grocery or fruit stores nearby.

Now for the negative - and its hard to know how to grade a hotel with construction noise in the neighborhood.

There is lots of construction going on in the area and in particular as of July 2011 there was construction starting at 7am until 6pm or so basically across the street (technically 2 streets but short streets with nothing in the middle). We spend more time in the room during the day than we would have given there was a major rainstorm.

My suggestion is to check the weather before going to Hondarrabia. Don't go if its pouring rain. And depending on how much time you like to spend in a room in the day- you might want to check on the status of the construction noise down the street.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
479 helpful votes 479 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

We chose this hotel after a week in San Sebastian and 5 days in France because it's relatively close to the San Sebastian airport. From the moment we parked the car in 1 of 3 hotel loading spots in front of the hotel and dragged our luggage in, Sonia took care of us with warmth and professionalism. Iberia had cancelled our reservations (boo Iberia) and when I told Sonia, she took over. She called Renfe, the bus company and finally the travel agency down the street. She anticipated our every need. I only had to look at the Wifi sign and she immediately gave me a printed slip with info to access free Wifi.
I had worried too about noise, since the hotel is on the main street. Our room was on the 1st floor but we could hardly hear anyone on the street. Beautifully decorated with hardwood floors and a very nice modern washroom. Mini fridge and safe. After going around the corner to eat excellent pintxos, sit by the sea and enjoy the ambiance of this former fishing village, we could imagine coming here for a longer vacation.
The hotel has a restaurant downstairs and it was full of customers. I could see a counter laden with platters of food as well as a sit-down restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Jauregui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jauregui

Address: Zuloaga 5, 28280 Hondarribia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Guipuzcoa Province > Hondarribia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Hondarribia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jauregui 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Jauregui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jauregui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.