We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jaizkibel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Jaizkibel to your Saves list
Hotel Jaizkibel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baserritar Etorbidea 1, 20280 Hondarribia, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hondarribia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in September 2011 on a camping holiday! We got to Hondaribba on our motorbike and it had been raining very heavily so we did not want to camp! I asked in reception for a room for 2 nights (in full motorbike kit cold and wet!) The staff were very helpful sorted a room for us and let us dry off in the basement car park until the room was ready.

If you are driving to the hotel the car park is very secure warm and dry!

The room was lovely spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was modern and a good size too. View from bedroom window was of rooftops and surrounding mountains.

Food at the hotel wad very good and not too expensive. The wine was really good value.

Loved it here and would go back.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    44
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
116
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The room, the cleaning, the service, the staff, the location... everything was just perfect.
Me and my husband were there on our honey-moon, and it was completely the right choice. It's a 4 stars hotel, but it feels like 5.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Quite simply one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. Fantastic location on the edge of town so it's very quiet, but a few minutes walk to all the bars and restaurants down the escalators. Ten minutes walk from the historic old town and the sea front. All receptionists speak English and everyone was very helpful. Parking underneath the hotel is a great advantage over other hotels in Hondarribia. The third storey is a fabulous sun terrace with sun loungers and lovely panoramic views. The food in the restaurant deserves a mention as this was also of an extremely high standard and good value. We stayed for only five nights in September but will come back to this hotel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We have stayed one night at this really nice small hotel in Hondarribia while making a long trip from France to Portugal and making a stopover in the San Sebastian area. This is a small hotel that was made with a lot of attention to details and that offer great comfort. It's. True 4 star that will make you feel at home. The rooms are simply yet comfortable, the breakfast is very complete, the service is as good as it gets. I truly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Great hotel close to San Sebastian
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

A very good and well run hotel. The whole place is clean and the rooms are comfortable. The breakfasts and restaurant meals were excellent. The staff were very helpful and spoke good English.
It was rather hard to locate as the satnav just kept taking us near but not quite there, they apparently have a problem with that which they are trying to sort out, but at least you get a tour of the vicinity.
Within a reasonable walking distance of the town.
It is in a pleasant quiet location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights with our 18 month old daughter and couldn't have chosen better. The hotel is a stylish building, very modern and our junior suite was large and really well decorated. Also perfect for a baby as there was a sitting area with a sliding door to connect to the bedroom. Bathroom decorated with nice touches. Reception staff incredibly friendly and played with our little girl - for whom they also arranged a babysitter when needed.

The hotel was quite quiet when we were there except for one night when there was a big conference which was pretty loud. Didn't bother us though. We ate in the restaurant one night and the food was of a very, very high standard and incredible value. The chef is clearly very talented. I imagine that in season it would have a very nice atmosphere, as it was it was a bit quiet when we were there.

Location of the hotel was great, maybe a 10 minute walk into town which is no problem. Can't believe anybody could have an issue with that. Hondarribia itself is very nice with a hushed, beautiful old town and a new town with some brilliant pintxo bars where everybody was very friendly. Seafront is nice to wander around too. We also ate in Sebastien and Alameda which were top notch - Sebastien very beautiful and slightly old fashioned, Alameda very stylish and Michelin starred.

Room Tip: Junior suites are worth getting
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedrogao Grande
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

This is our favourite hotel when we travel from Central Portugal to France. Their special offers are excellent value. We are well known to them and they always give us our favourite room. When you arrive early evening there is complimentary range of tea, coffee, beer, wine and snacks to help you unwind after your journey. Dinner is superb and I can thoroughly recommend the fish dishes. Breakfast is equally good and a great start to the day. The hotel is completely professional but also hospitable and welcoming with free, secure underground parking. The bonus is the town of Hondirribia which is a pleasure to walk around, There is the historic old quarter, the harbour and a couple of streets behind the picturesque old fishermen's houses which are colourful and now many of them are first class restaurants. The hotel is located in the quiet and well kept residential area and there is a system of escalators to take you quickly up and down the central area.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent, the climate control is very efficient and the beds supremely comfortable,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Jaizkibel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jaizkibel

Address: Baserritar Etorbidea 1, 20280 Hondarribia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Guipuzcoa Province > Hondarribia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hondarribia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jaizkibel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Jaizkibel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaizkibel Hotel Hondarribia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jaizkibel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.