We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in an excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Obispo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Obispo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Obispo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza del Obispo, 20280 Hondarribia, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Hondarribia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good value in an excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We had a room on the top attic floor which was very roomy and quite comfortable, although my husband who is reasonably tall kept banging his head. The window was very small. The staff were friendly and happy to provide advice on eating places both tapas and restaurants.
The breakfast was OK with limited cereal (which is not unusual in European hotels); however the eggs were freshly cooked and the juice was fresh.
The hotel was well priced considering its location and there was excellent tapas to be had not too far away. The hotel had no lift which may be an issue for some, especially for those having to carry luggage to the top floor as no help was offered by staff.
Overall I would be happy to stay there again but probably not in the attic.




  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    43
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
58
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
carrickfergus
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Welcoming reception staff and a nice room overlooking a convivial square. Perhaps a little too convivial late at night when local revellers revelled! But there was a good powerful air conditioning system which allowed us to close the window. . Good breakfast and convenient free car parking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englefield Green, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Superb location in the old town. Lovely rooms full of character. Very friendly English speaking staff. Excellent breakfast with fresh cooked to order eggs for 10 euros. Why stay at the Parador, when you can stay here for half the price? Don't bother with the fancy expensive restaurants in town, like Sebastian's, go to the first one on thye left right next to the door of the hotel for an excellent 3 course set menu for 20 Euros including bread water and wine! To find the hotel, go past the airport and continue straight across roundabouts until you pass a school on your left. Hotel is signed up narrow lane on your left immediately after the school. Stop at the barrier and press the intercom button. Outstanding!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hengelo, Overijssel, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Hondarabbia is a historical little town at the atlantic, next to french border.
The hotel is situated on a higher part, giving glimpses of the port.
Nice indoor terrace and friendly service in a historical building. Comfortable and clean rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This (15th century fort) is a lovely place to stay in Hondaribbia and excellently located for walking to just about everywhere. We dined at the Sebastian restaurant and the fabulous Michelin starred Alameda - both less than 5 minutes away and a short wander downtown on the third night was no hardship. The bus stop for a twenty minute ride into San Sebastian is just beneath the hotel and the old town has to be one of the prettiest in Spain. Champagne cocktails in the Parador bar next door set us up nicely before dinner each night. A truly delightful and restful place for three days. Lovely, courteous staff at the Obispo and parking out the front . Perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Me and my girlfriend had a little break which included visiting Biarritz, San Sebastian and Hondarribia. We normally stay in independant apartments but glad we chose the Obispo. Little tricky findintg the place if you make a wrong turn but by asking one of the locals they will point you in the right direction. The hotel is like a medieval fort but modernized slightly. as other reviews have pointed out the staff spoke good english and were very helpful.

The room was amazing and the large arched windows looking out onto the river seperating france was really nice. there is an airport over the river but i think it went once a day? dosn't even bother you.

breakfast was very nice and delivered straight to the room whenever you want it. the staff when we checked in also gave us 2 complimentary drink vouchers which they actually bought up to our room when we asked which was really nice of them.

I would definitely recommend the Obispo if you are staying in Hondarribia

Room Tip: chose a room on the 3rd floor overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We were aiming to go back to San Sebastian but fortunately we failed to find a room there so booked into Hotel Obispo for the night instead.
The hotel was well sign-posted as it could possibly be difficult to find perched on top of the hill in a tiny square next to the church and accessed along a steep, narrow lane.
Our room was on the top floor looking towards Hendaye and the airport - which might put some people off but it is very small and I don't think there were any flights during the night or early morning.
The reception staff were welcoming and friendly and spoke excellent English.
The room was spacious, tastefully decorated and furnished. It was particularly good to have a couple of comfortable arm chairs to sit on rather than having to use the bed. The bathroom was quaint - but had a decent shower - with a beamed, sloping ceiling which was only a problem if you wanted to look out of the floor level window at the far end! We loved the arched doors and windows.
There was an excellent choice at breakfast of fresh fruits, hams, cheeses, yogurts, breads and patisseries with bacon and eggs being freshly cooked on a plancha next to the buffet rather than sitting around in bain maries. Also very reasonably priced at 10Euros.
Hotel Obispo is conveniently situated in the old town, a short walk from the pinchos bars and probably about a 20 minute stroll from the beach (but we are quite speedy walkers). There were some very good restaurants close by.
We definitely plan to return for a longer stay in the near future.

Room Tip: Don't think there was a lift so could be difficult getting to second and third floor if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hondarribia
Free Parking, F...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jaizkibel
Hotel Jaizkibel
#1 of 9 in Hondarribia
4.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
Luxury, Indepen...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Parador de Hondarribia
Parador de Hondarribia
#7 of 9 in Hondarribia
4.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Luxury, Free Pa...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rio Bidasoa
Hotel Rio Bidasoa
#6 of 9 in Hondarribia
4.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quiet, Free Par...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palacete
Hotel Palacete
#2 of 9 in Hondarribia
4.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Mid-range, Free...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jauregui
Hotel Jauregui
#8 of 9 in Hondarribia
4.0 of 5 stars 77 reviews
Best Value, Poo...
Show More
0.9 mi away
Bista Eder
Bista Eder
#5 of 9 in Hondarribia
4.5 of 5 stars 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Obispo

Address: Plaza del Obispo, 20280 Hondarribia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Guipuzcoa Province > Hondarribia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Hondarribia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Obispo 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Obispo Hotel Hondarribia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Obispo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.