We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hidden gem in a quaint little village...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta da Praia das Fontes

Save Saved
You added Quinta da Praia das Fontes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quinta da Praia das Fontes
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Largo Marques de Soydos, Alcochete 2890032, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Alcochete B&B and Inns
USA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A wonderful hidden gem in a quaint little village...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Wow! This place was home away from home (and possibly even nicer). The room, garden, breakfast, pool, surrounding area - this place had it all. It is a bit "vintage" looking from the outside and may even be overlooked by most people - but that would be a mistake. The rooms were furnished with antiques and while the bathroom was a bit dated - the rest of the room made up for it two-fold. The garden area (orange grove and other fresh fruits/vegetables) is open to guests to stroll in day and night - and is well worth it - so peaceful and relaxing. The pool is the older stone bottom style versus the standard blue paint, which just made it all the more inviting. The staff was friendly, warm and despite some language barriers - pleasant to deal with. The breakfast (fresh orange juice daily from the grove) was fantastic and included. Then comes the little village - quaint, quiet, yet alive with locals Good food (fresh fish), good people, and full of charm. Additionally, the nearby mega-mall (Freeport Outlet Mall) is a nice little jaunt from the center of town and has even more local restaurants to sample. This review can go on and on about this little place...but I'll conclude with this: worlds better than staying in Lisbon and given the chance, I'd return tomorrow.

Room Tip: We booked a superior room, which was just big enough to move around, but not so large as to get lost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria V, Gerente de relações com clientes at Quinta da Praia das Fontes, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for having chosen to stay at Quinta da Praia das Fontes. Your opinion is very important for us.

Awaiting your next visit to our Quinta,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    23
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
20
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

The place has a lot of charme. Nice swimming pool but not really sunbeds near the pool to relax. Village is lovely and there are some nice and affordable restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed at Quinta da Praia das Fontes during our much anticipated dream holiday in Portugal. After spending two weeks in a private villa rental home in the hills above Tavira in the Algarve, it was difficult to leave the south and travel to the Lisbon area. However, I must say that we we were just as pleased with Quinta da Praia das Fontes and loved the quaint community of Alchoete! The staff was fantastic - and truly made us feel at home! The apartment was well appointed and met our needs. Our children loved the game room - and the opportunity to meet and play with other kids. The town of Alcochete was friendly and welcoming - we especially loved listening to beautiful fado music at Senor Fado's! A lovely experience!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Excellent environment! Calm, very delicate taste for details, beautiful room, warm and pleasant.
I'll definitely go back this year during Summer!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex,
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Quaintly old fashioned in style & service, but all the more charming for it. Beautiful courtyard layout in historic finca. Room functional & comfortable, breakfast excellent, definitely the preferred stopover in Alcochete.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Tampon, Reunion Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Beautiful and confortable odl-fashion room. Excellente breakfast served outside. Very appropriate staff and hospitality at his best level.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011 via mobile

I would go back to the Quinta in a heartbeat. My partner and I weren't clear on how to reach it from the airport, but one of the managers went out of his way to make sure we found our way without having to pay for a taxi by calling us to check we were in the right place and then giving us a lift in his car from the bus stop in Alcochete! Then we discovered it was day off!

Room was lovely with old furniture and a traditional terracotta ensuite. Watch out for ants, but they are very common everywhere...the manager got the spray out and this solved the problem.

Hotel has a private orchard with quiet seating areas, garden, tennis court and non-heated swimming pool (it was too cold for us in Sept). The grounds really are gorgeous and private, surrounded by trees and flowers. There's also a games room with ping pong, table football and snooker.

Breakfast is served pretty much whenever you ask for it the night before and includes fresh traditional bread.

WiFi connection is poor or non-existant from the rooms but good from the breakfast table.

There's an amazing cocktail bar opposite the hotel entrance, very good value and incredible views, it is called Alcach! Also a good ice cream shop down the road called Daisy's. We took the free-to-borrow bikes from the hotel and discovered it on the sea front.

The restaurants in Alcochete are charming, cheap and full of fresh local fish. Try T.Tonho...the owner knew the hotel manager and gave us free shots and extra fish to try!

Altogether a lovely laid back town if you want to escape city life.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quinta da Praia das Fontes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Praia das Fontes

Address: Largo Marques de Soydos, Alcochete 2890032, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Setubal District > Alcochete
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Alcochete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta da Praia das Fontes 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Quinta da Praia das Fontes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta da Praia das Fontes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.