We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating (and Relaxing) Farm Living” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Herdade da Maroteira

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Redondo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Herdade da Maroteira
Save
You added Herdade da Maroteira to your Saves list
Caixa Postal 267 | Aldeia da Serra, Redondo 7170-120, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Redondo B&B and Inns
Dartmouth, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fascinating (and Relaxing) Farm Living”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

We arrived from Canada in December 2009 (not '10, but hey, I couldn't go back another year). I thought this place was a hobby farm, not a real one! We were there in the cold and the rain for three nights -- way too short a time to experience this place -- and we still loved it. Phillip was wonderful. His red wine is probably one of the best bottles we have ever tasted (period). Our youngest at the time, 10, loved the dogs (who, as someone else reviewed were friendly but not intrusive). The accommodation is lovely, quaint, spacious, clean. (Our other two boys were 14 & 16 and we had lots of space.) We are runners, so ran the property. It's amazing. If you are looking for a restful vacation, or a family vacation where your kids learn some real stuff about farm living or you just want to visit the sights nearby (and there are lots of those too), you will love this place. We need to come back. Longer.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sintra
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

A beautiful location, charming hosts, cosy cottage,perfect for anyone interested in countryside calm. I found the perfect spots to sketch from, all the way from stretching landscapes to plants,and to posing goats and sheep! Apart from the estate, there are also plenty of very interesting historical sites all within close driving distance to visit. I would highly recommend Maroteira to anyone who is searching for a peaceful and inspiring escape!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

Lovely property in the middle of 500+ ha cork-oak forest. Run by a gracious fifth generation (on site) family. Beautifully fitted out and well designed interior, elegant and quite formal but still comfortable and cozy with the open fire place. Fast, free WIFI was very handy. Great base for exploring the Evora region. I would not hesitate to pass on my recommendation of this property for anybody looking in the region.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

Four of us spent a week in November 2010. The farm house was very comfortable and charming. The views were exceptional and the atmosphere quiet, peaceful and relaxing. Easy drive for day trips to many nearby villages and cities of with much history and character from cork to pottery to marble to wineries, great castles and churches. While I've only tried 2 to 3 hundred syrahs, Phillip's Cem Ries ranks in the top ten. Be sure to take the farm tour. It is worth whatever the cost for its great views, education and history. Phillip and family were wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulsa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

Spent a week at this lovely farm property in mid November. The house is old but charming and very comfortable. It is an excellent location to explore the Alentejo countryside and is also an easy drive from Lisbon. The owner and his family were wonderful hosts and had good recommendations for sites to see and places to eat. If you get a chance to have a tour of the farm property don't pass this up. It is worth an extra fee to tour the cork forests and the vineyard and to understand the working side of the Herdade Da Maroteira. We loved the friendly dogs who greeted us daily. It is a great place to relax, unwind and explore Portugal at a slower, quieter pace. Hope we can return again someday.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaenau Ffestiniog, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

We had a really enjoyable and interesting week, lucky with the weather it being end of October. The cottage was ideal for us, unpretentious with the farm coming right up to the terrace along with the characterful and respectful farm dogs. We could walk from the door
directly usually escorted by the dogs along the many tracks winding through the cork and
holmoaks. The 40 ton stack of harvested cork was of particular interest as was Philip's farm tour. We will go again in June next year to witness the cork harvest. Ideal location for exploring the region. We didn't do much of that as we were so happy being where we were.

Philip Mollet and family are excellent hosts who ensure you have what you need. The wines made from the farm grapes are excellent especially the white, Eggs honey and lamb also from the farm . If you are interested in eco-culture then this really is an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

We had been getting to know Lisbon for 2 weeks and wanted to see what some of the Portuguese countryside looked like. We had been directed over the river Tejo to Evora and looked for accommodation in that region on the internet. A wooden cottage on a 500 wine and cork estate about 140kms from Lisbon sounded just about what we needed.

The cottage is in a grove of cork (oak?) trees overlooking a valley with a small village in the distance. Our nearest neighbours were a herd of goats in a paddock and they were pretty quiet: more goat bell tinkling than goat bleating going on. The view was best enjoyed sitting on the verandah with a wine on the small table in front of us. Even better, there was wine from the estate on the small table in front if us- Cem Reis Viognier. The following day we finished the white wine and tackled the Syrah. I don’t bother much about trying identify gooseberry, cigar box or white pepper in my wine. Why bother when it is delicious, complex and satisfying right down to the moment that we realized with dismay that the bottle was empty. Where did it all go?

Back to our cottage- it was brand new and not lacking in any facilities in its compact interior: a small flat screen TV (no need to turn it on during our short stay), coffee plunger, fully enclosed shower with a good strong stream of hot water and a comfortable new double bed. There was a gas barbecue on the deck- very liberating after 2 weeks of alternating between restaurants and cooking in our apartment kitchen in Lisbon.

Philip and Marge Mollet were generous, helpful and really friendly. They supplied us with a few essentials we had forgotten to pack in our hurry to get out of the city as well as indispensable local knowledge of the area. And when we asked them if they could recommend a Lisbon based lawyer who was well acquainted with Portuguese property legislation and rode a motorbike they knew just the person we were looking for.

Walking along the farm roads and amongst the cork trees of Herdade da Maroteira was soothing and therapeutic. Next time we need a longer stay and a couple of mountain bikes to do a bit more long range exploring.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Herdade da Maroteira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herdade da Maroteira

Address: Caixa Postal 267 | Aldeia da Serra, Redondo 7170-120, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Redondo
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Redondo
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Herdade Da Maroteira Portugal/Redondo, Alentejo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Herdade da Maroteira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.