We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balestrand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Balestrand Hotel to your Saves list
Balestrand Hotel
Kong Belesveg 41, Balestrand 6899, Norway   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Luggage Collection
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Balestrand
N.Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2008

I booked this hotel after reading all the great reviews on tripadvisor and also from the recommendations of our guide book. All the positive reviews were right. The hotel is in a great location, with beautiful fjord views. We had a room with a mountain view and a little terrace which was lovely. The owners were very very helpful and breakfast was wonderful. Our room was a good size, very clean, looked as though it had not long been done up. There was no TV but it didn't matter. All in all a great hotel, well worth staying at.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    72
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
44
146
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2008

Unni Marie and Eric, the owners, go above and beyond to insure your stay is a memorable one. The view from the water facing rooms is just plain spectacular.
Rooms are minalimist. When reserving, ask for 2nd floor room - newly redecorated.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2008

We had a lovely time meeting Unni Marie and staying at the Balestrand Hotel. We felt like we had a local tour guide/travel agent helping with our daily activities! We've rarely enjoyed such a remarkable combination of gracious, friendly and helpful accommodation in all of our travels!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

All the laudatory comments in the previous posts are true. This is a family run hotel that offers exceptional service.

The room we stayed in with a balcony and fjord view was excellent. Do pay the extra for a fjord view. The room itself was spacious, nicely decorated and comfortable. Everything, including the bathroom, was very functional. No TV, but who needs television with a view like that and so many interesting things to do in Balestrand.

Breakfast was outstanding. The best bread, jam and eggs that we had in Norway. As noted in earlier reviews the breakfast room is very welcoming and the service was superb.

When in Balestrand be sure to visit Bjorg Bjoberg's wonderful art gallery, the English church, the museum, and the aquarium. Stop for a meal at the Cafe Galleri (excellent food modestly priced). Go on the boat trip to the glacier and visit the extremely informative glacier museum. And yes, take a stroll through Kvikne's Hotel (the big hotel with the ugly addition where all the tours stay) and be grateful that you are staying at the more modestly priced and more comfortable Balestrand Hotel.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2008

We stayed at the Balestrand for five nights and it was simply delightful. It was like staying with family. The fjord view rooms are a must, if available. Well worth the price. Service is excellent, and breakfast are very filling and wonderful, especially the jams and breads. They could not do enough for us. Very personalized service.

  • Liked — Service, Views, Cleanliness, Internet Access
  • Disliked — There was nothing to "least like".
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2008

We stayed in Balestrand for one night on the Sognenfjord in a Nutshell trip. We were met at the port by the hotel and driven to the hotel (only 5 minute walk from port). Unfortunately, we had a mountain view room because the fjord-view rooms were booked, but the room was clean and very nice, and the beds were extremely comfortable. The hotel owners were more than happy to help with advice for things to do in town or in the area.

Balestrand itself is a delightful small town. We hiked up the mountain in the back, and we also rented bikes from the tourist agency and explored the town. We splurged on the buffet at Kviknes, and we really enjoyed trying all the different smoked fish.

I wish we'd had more time and taken the trip to the glacier, but there was more than enough to see and do while in Balestrand.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Would definitely suggest spending more for the fjord view
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, TX
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2007

We arrived via the fast boat from Flam (if weather is nice, couldn't recommend more highly), and were met at the dock by the hotel Volvo. Our luggage took the ride, but we took a nice stroll to the hotel.

The owners were both very pleasant on check in. Room 210 was perfect. Not plush, but far from Spartan. Bed was quite comfortable. Spotlessly clean. Most important was the balcony. Since the room was on the end, we had an extra large balcony and thus we felt our room was the best in hotel. We sat outside quite a while drinking in the view. Spring for the fjord view, it's worth the surcharge.

Breakfast the next morning was quite adequate. Not gourmet by any stretch, but just right for the spirit of the place. The owners offered to take us to the dock for the fast boat on to Bergen, but the walk was quite short. Boat trip was again excellent in nice weather.

The only regret: we stayed only one night. The place and the hotel warranted more time.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balestrand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balestrand Hotel

Address: Kong Belesveg 41, Balestrand 6899, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Balestrand
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Balestrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Balestrand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balestrand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.