We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning fjord views in a picturesque village” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balestrand Hotel

Save Saved
You added Balestrand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balestrand Hotel
Kong Belesveg 41, Balestrand 6899, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Balestrand
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Stunning fjord views in a picturesque village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel- while the accommodation is quite basic, each room has a balcony with a stunning fjord view (and very comfortable beds as well!). Run by a friendly and helpful half American, half Norweigan family, and only open in summer. Fresh and plentiful continental buffet breakfast, but no food served at other times. Balestrand is a charming little town with a church, a few restaurants, hotels and shops, but the location right beside a beautiful fjord is what we loved best.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    62
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
40
126
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This place is only open over the summer and is run by a family. We arrived from Bergen on the fast ferry and were collected by the owner and taken the short journey to the hotel. The hotel itself is a nice place, the rooms are fairly basic but in our room the view of the fjord was spectular. You can grab a beer in the lounge area, sit outside, and stroll down the road to a handful of restaurants and cafes. There are some nice walks round about and we also did a fab cycle ride around the fjord and got the ferry back, after a late lunch and a few afternoon drinks :)

Room Tip: Go for a fjord room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had a wonderful stay 3 night stay at the Balestrand Hotel. The hotel is cozy, clean, and comfortable. Great hospitality. If you arrive by ferry they pick up your luggage. The walk to the hotel is just a couple of minutes from the dock. The owner Unni-Marie is very sweet and upgraded us to a fjord view room for our honeymoon. The breakfast buffet (which is included in the price) consists of hard boiled eggs, an assortment of breads, cheeses, jams, some basic cereals, dried fruits and yogurts. Balestrand is a beautiful small town. I recommend taking a hike (there are plenty near by) and renting bikes to ride along the Esefjord and Sværefjord. If you are a foodie eat at Ciderhuset; it's amazing!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Balestrand is a little bit of heaven on earth. We loved this hotel, smaller than Kviknes, very cozy, each room looks out on the Fjord. It was a beautiful, cozy, hotel. Unna Marie was very helpful. Lots of comfortable chairs to sit in and relax, or borrow books from their library. A wonderful place to relax.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a gorgeous view. Pristine and quiet. You can stand on your balcony and take lots...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed at the Balestrand Hotel for 2 nights in August/September and cannot rave enough about the service and hotel! We arrived as part of the Sognefjod in a Nutshell tour and Unni-Marie greeted us at the dock with her Green Volvo. There were a few other people also staying at the Hotel (carrying loads of luggage!) and since we only had our backpacks, we walked to the hotel. The room was very clean and comfortable. It was great talking to Unni-Marie about the region and she helped us decide what sites to see while we were there (we ended up going to Vik and there also was a small party near the docks on the Saturday afternoon.) She also recommended restaurants and helped with some questions we had about the Express Boat schedule and the Sognefjord in a Nutshell tour. The breakfast was also fantastic, a nice variety and very filling.

Balestrand was definitely the highlight of our Norway trip. If we had to do it all over again, we would probably spend a few more nights in Balestrand and reduce the number of days we spent in Oslo and Bergen. There was nothing quite like seeing the full Blue Moon rise over the Sognefjord.

Be sure to check out the Enamel Jewelry for sale in the lounge. We ended up buying a few items as gifts for family!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and stay in the rooms facing the Fjord.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Vert nice hotel. lovely location. great view. The owners and staff made us feel at home and were very helpful. The rooms are simple. No TV and no telephone. Internet access only on ground floor. Breakfast simple but everything fresh and tasty.

Room Tip: take a foom with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Elgin, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We arrived in Balestrand by ferry and promptly greeted by hotel owner Unni-Marie. She took our bags and gave us the 30 second tour of the small town. We walked 5 minutes to the hotel and were pleased with the updated decor and comfortable rooms. The beds were very comfortable and the bathtub with shower was full-sized (not a common feature in Europe). The breakfast was plenty and the sitting areas on the main level were cozy. Unni-Marie was a delight and very helpful talking to us about searching for our Norwegian ancestors. The town of Balestrand and a stay at Balestrand Hotel was worth the one night stop off during our journey from Bergen to Oslo.

Room Tip: The rooms with the view of the fjord were stunning (if the weather is sunny and clear). I stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Balestrand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balestrand Hotel

Address: Kong Belesveg 41, Balestrand 6899, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Balestrand
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Balestrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Balestrand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balestrand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.