We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Hotel in the Fjords!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Midtnes Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Midtnes Hotel to your Saves list
Midtnes Hotel
Kong Belesveg 33, Balestrand 6898 , Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Balestrand
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Affordable Hotel in the Fjords!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

Like most hotels in Balestrand you don't actually stay in the building advertised on their website. The quaint photo is generally of the reception and breakfast area and each hotel has a 1960's type block attached. The room was OK, although the curtains were paperthin so that 4.30am morning light comes flooding in, and by 10am the room is so hot you need to go walking - which is easy in this lovely town. The view from the hotel room though was sensational. The breakfast was good and the owner was quiet but friendly. There is not a lot of choice in this location and it was reasonably priced.
Beautiful town and well worth a visit if you want a nice easy day.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the water on the upper level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    34
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
12
34
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

We stayed here for 3 days / 2 nights and had a wonderful time. Balestrand is a sleepy, charming little town in a heart-stoppingly beautiful landscape. So calm and peaceful, so relaxing. We took a decent length day hike up in the mountains (picked up a simple trail map at the tourist office and got some basic advice from the guy there) which was one of the highlights of our trip through the fjords - just lovely. Many of the hiking trails start from the elementary school up in the hills above the town - was quite something to see the kids having recess, exploring in the woods unsupervised, the kind of thing that's long disappeared at home.

Anyway, so back to the hotel. The manager, Jon, is friendly, and it's worth asking for advice - he pointed out a place to stop on our drive up to Geiranger that we would have blasted right past otherwise, where you can walk out on a steel bridge over a fast-moving creek. The common areas are in a charming, old house with antiques and family mementoes lying about. The views from all around are just stunning.

The rooms are in a modern addition to the home, and as others have described, they are pretty sterile. This is where they could have improved things - a little Scandinavian design sense could have rendered the modern part a lot more attractive while still being minimalist and simple. It's worth getting the fjord side room with a balcony so that you look at the stunning landscape instead of the non-stunning room.

We opted for the breakfast + dinner meal plan - I think it's a good thing to do, because the food is good, and there seemed to be few to no restaurants around in town. However, if you're picky, it's not a menu system; dinner is whatever dinner is. Basic, good homestyle cooking. May depend on who is cooking - for us, a young Baltic woman (who lives nearby - her daughter along with another girl staying at the hotel provided our daughter with some much-needed non-adult company for a few days) was cooking, and her food was simple but tasty.

We would stay here again - I sure hope we make it back to this part of Norway.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

This is a great hotel at a great price in a great location with great service. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the ferry dock. It was very clean and the bed was very comfortable The view from the dinning room where a wonderful breakfast is served is amazing. You can watch the boats on the fjord. The service was great and very helpful with advice on exploring the region.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baldock
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

We stayed here enroute to Flam. Balstrand is a great place to stay and the hotel overlooks the fjord and is an very short walk from where the boat will drop you off (if you come by boat). The whole place has a tranquility about it and is not a cruise ship stop. The Hotel has basic rooms but was excellent value for money compared with many other places and the service was great. We did half board and the 3 course no choice evening meal, while simple was hearty and just what we wanted. The service was great and very helpful and friendly. The tourist office is near by and was great and very helpful and we arranged a glacier and kayaking trips. There is a small super market near by to buy lunch at and great walks behind the hotel - We would highly recommend and wished were had been staying longer.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hessen
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

The Midtnes Hotel is placed in the middle of the idyllic Balestrand which is a small village at the Sognefjord. You have a gorgeous view over the Fjord. It's a very nice and peaceful spot. The hotel itself offers an atmosphere which makes you feel moving back in time. The funiture and rooms could be improved. The rooms weren't equipped with TV. But everything was clean. The breakfast was pleasing with a good choice of food. We found out, that there were rooms of a higher category (but of course more expansive).

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

After taking a train to Flam and then boarding an Expressboat to Balestrand, we were very happy that we decided to stay in Balestrand instead of Flam. Balestrand is a very quiet, friendly, peaceful place situated at the edge of the Sognefjord. We were there 2 nights. There were easy walks and we even rented bikes to go to Dragsvik. The road by the fjord is pretty level and we were able to ride easily. Renting bikes is expensive though! We were a little disappointed that there was not alot of fish available at the restaurants(mostly salmon, which I am allergic to). We were lucky to get fabulous weather. My only complaint is I packed for 50-60 degrees F and it got warmer than that! The fjord waters are a beautiful dark blue--like the deep waters in the Caribbean! I would reccommend anyone going to Norway to visit this lovely village.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

We chose this hotel because it was small (as opposed to the enormous Kviknes nearby). We booked direct some months ago and my husband queried the no credit card rule but was assured this would be okay. On arrival, the manager said Oh sorry no, we don't accept credit cards. You will have to go to the cash machine at the bank and pay me in cash. When reminded of his assurances back in January, he made some excuse about the machine being out of order. The room was basic and simple, with a bed like rock. But a lovely view. We had requested a table at 8, but on arrival was told dinner was at 7 prompt. There was no choice and we were offered no bread to go with the meal, or any drinks other than a jug of water. The main course was generous but the dessert was tinned fruit and artificial cream, worse than school. No television in the room, despite the socket for one. It was okay for a one night stopover, but only just. The worst place we stayed in a fortnight in Norway.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Midtnes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midtnes Hotel

Address: Kong Belesveg 33, Balestrand 6898 , Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Balestrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Balestrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Midtnes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midtnes Hotel Balestrand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Midtnes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.