We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay - Slightly Surprised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kviknes Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kviknes Hotel to your Saves list
Kviknes Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kviknevegen 8, Balestrand 6899, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Balestrand
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Stay - Slightly Surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

After seeing pictures of Kviknes Hotel and hearing about the beauty of Balestrand, I was really excited to stay here. We were willing to pay the premium for staying at this historic hotel. Like many have pointed out, what I did not realize was that the beautiful front of the hotel that sits on the fjord, is the smaller, historic building. Most of the rooms are actually located in a rather unattractive building attached to the back. I was definitely disappointed walking to our room. But, once we got there, I was no longer quite so disappointed. The room was definitely one of the nicer ones we had while on our tour. There was beautiful balcony with a beautiful view of the fjord from both sides, which was wonderful. The room itself was larger than average, clean, and the bathroom was nice and had a deep, clean tub, which I happily used. We had reservations for dinner than evening, which gave us a great opportunity to explore the old building. We opted for the buffet, which was the cheaper option, but were glad that we did. The food was delicious and varied, and we definitely felt like we could get our fill of both options and portions for the price. While I would have preferred to stay in the old building, it was clear that it is too small and cannot accommodate current traffic levels. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to someone who is able to pay up for a least a night.

Room Tip: If you want to stay in the old building, call ahead and specify that that's where you'll be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    120
    40
    21
    18
See reviews for
63
160
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

This is a hotel of 2 parts. The old part which is the bit you hear about which has interesting features, fantastic views and is old! The other part is like a 1960's prison block built in the car park.
Having said that, our room (460) was located in the prison block and was not too bad a room. The size was good, a balcony overlooking the car park and a bit of a view over fjord.
Wifi is free, however, it was not available in our room and was very intermittent in the lounge and lobby areas.
The bathroom was ok although the only toiletries are attached to the wall for soap and shower gel. It also gets the award for the thinnest, cheapest plastic toilet seat!
There was a good choice for breakfast and the buffet dinners were very good (despite what other reviews in Trip Advisor have suggested.)
The dining room is huge and caters for huge parties which consisted of lots of Chinese on our first night and Spanish on our second night. If you are not part of one of these large groups you tend to be seated at a nice table overlooking the fjord. The food areas are manic and elbows are necessary to get the food of choice!
Note also that as the hotel caters for many people on tours that leave at around 7.30, there is a lot if noise, banging and bus engines until around 8.30. This us also the best time to go for breakfast as you get the whole room to a handful of people!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Stayed here for just one night a few weeks ago. Had a room in the heritage part of the hotel, on the second floor, overlooking the fjord. Absolutely gorgeous views. Rooms in this older part of the hotel are slightly more expensive than those in the newer wing behind, but in my opinion definitely worth it! It has that really old feeling of a 19th century resort hotel. We had a very large wooden balcony with such glorious views, we sat out there for pre-dinner drinks in the evening and again afterwards or our coffee. As it was at the end of July, the sun set very late and it was so peaceful, it was hard to go to bed. We travelled as a couple and not a group, which is why we chose to eat dinner in the very nice bar restaurant rather than the massive dining room, as there was a very, very large group of German tourists in it. We did have breakfast there, though, which was nice, as they had the best section next to the windows reserved for individual guests. They tend to do that in a lot of Norwegian hotels. Food was excellent too, as was the service, but it was the location and the hotel building itself that made our stay special. Would love to stay there again for longer and use it as a base, not just an overnight stop.

Room Tip: Get a room in the Heritage section, with views over the fjord! Worth the price difference!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I could easily have given this hotel 5, but I think perhaps it just misses it. Positives: if you are going to come here, and can therefore at least almost afford Norwegian prices, make sure you pay extra for a balcony in the old hotel. We did, and it was worth every penny to be able to sit overlooking the most amazing view. Whilst we were there a thunderstorm rumbled around the fjord slowly travelling across the view, lightning and rainbows added to the romance! We were also able to buy cold beers from the supermarket round the corner at £4.00 for a 500ml can (!!) and drink them on our balcony because we couldn't and didn't afford the 300ml beers for £8-00 from the bar! Mind you, this is probably highly illegal under Norwegian licensing laws, but who cares! As said in other reviews, because we were individual guests we got great window-seating for meals. Breakfast and dinner were excellent buffets, sure a buffet doesn't give you the very best dining, but the choice was excellent, and you could each as much salmon (of different varieties), crab, and prawn as you liked, so I don't see how anyone who likes seafood could complain! The staff were friendly and very helpful (although if you meet someone Norwegian doing the donkeywork in a hotel in Norway you'll have done better than we did). There were great walks from the front door up on to the high fjeld or around the fjord. We really enjoyed swimming in the fjord from the hotel swimming dock area. Negatives as others have said, the room is really old-fashioned in every way, but that's what you pay for being in a historic hotel! And it is a bit of a bore when the hotel is totally overrun by what you feel are "outsiders" from coaches and cruise ships, but I guess they help to keep the hotel solvent and the food so varied. It's a bit ironic, I know, for a tourist to complain "it would be better if it wasn't for all the tourists", but it is extreme and the one ambience you won't get is "solitude". But overall, if you are not looking for an up-to-the-minute bath and shower-room you will love this hotel.

Room Tip: Without question, if you can afford to holiday in Norway, get a fjord-side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Kviknes Hotel. When we pulled into the parking lot I was taken aback by how bad the newer extension looked. Luckily we had done some research, and took the advice of previous Trip Advisor reviews and booked in the older building, with a balcony water side. Our room was 128 and we had a very nice balcony with stunning views. But the room though better then others, still had some opportunity. They need to put a bath matt in the bathroom. My husband almost fell when the floor was all wet. As for the WiFi it simple does not work in the rooms. It works mainly in the lobby and that is about it. Not sure why these places advertise free WiFi when you can't get it in your room. One of the big issues you need to be aware of, is that this hotel is used by charter buses. The impact of coach parties needs to be taken into consideration when booking this hotel. We did have the buffet dinner the first night, and had a lovely table next to the window. Buffets are basically the same, and you need to just know that you will have to fight though the people to get to your food! But, the servers where very nice and pleasant. We got a great bottle of wine, and the servers where always there to clear the table and get us anything we needed. In the morning we where lucky that the coach parties had left before we came down for our breakfast buffet. So that experience was much quieter. The main floor rooms really are very special and I would recommend that you make sure to walk around and spend some time in them. I felt the staff at check in and out where very good and helpful. But, my advice on this one, is to make sure you do your research before booking and get a good room, or you will really regret it. Also, be prepared, this is Norway, so the prices of the room are very expensive. Balestrand is a lovely town and we enjoyed walking around it and spending time there.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We arrived at the Kvikness Hotel on a spectacular afternoon. Followed the advice of other reviewers and splurged for a room in the historic part of hotel with balcony. Yes, it's expensive, but this was a lifetime destination and it's worth it. I loved sitting on the balcony. The room itself is a bit small and nothing special, but that view is so soothing. We also splurged for the evening buffet. Tried everything. We had no problem securing a window. We also enjoyed the walk along the historic homes on the water. Some people were swimming from the hotel's swimming area, which is behind a small hill (now I wish I had done that).

Room Tip: Get a balcony room in historic section.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Most rooms are in the 1960's block and are adequate but not luxurious. For instance the only toileteries are one liquid soap dispenser near the hand basin and one over the bath, the make was the same as in a public toilet. There was no bath mat even though if the floor got wet it was slippery. There was a rail near the bedroom door which could have been very useful to dry wet clothes but there were no hangers, the hangers in the wardrobe were the type which could not be used elsewhere. Breakfast and dinner were both buffet meals. The dinner was good but pricey and was crowded by the coach parties. Our room was quiet except one morning when a coach party had to put their luggage outside their bedroom doors by 6 a.m. so doors were slamming from 5:30 a.m. and there were loud conversations in the corridor.

Room Tip: It may be worth paying the extra to get a room in the old building but as we did not see them I cann...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kviknes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kviknes Hotel

Address: Kviknevegen 8, Balestrand 6899, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Balestrand
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Balestrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kviknes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your Kviknes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kviknes Hotel Balestrand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kviknes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.