We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing piece of paradise with great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Engo Gard Hotel & Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Engo Gard Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Engo Gard Hotel & Restaurant
Gamle Engo vei 25, Tjome 3145, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Tjome
Norway
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Relaxing piece of paradise with great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Visited July 2012. We live in Stavanger, but had not visited this area towards Oslo previously. The hotel (actually more a collection of restored buildings) is extremely peaceful. Rooms are excellent, service very personal, location great - but you need a car. Not the place to stay if you want hotel chain style 24 hour coffee shop and room service. If you want a place to relax and enjoy the most exquisite fine dining in a restaurant with a sumptuous view - this is it. A half hour from Tønsberg with great shopping and marina restaurants, in the middle of beautiful coastline this is a great location. 2 hours from Oslo. Very interesting 9 hole golf 5 minutes away, with renowned Nøtterøy full 18 15 minutes drive we will return !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    6
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
6
26
Solo
0
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We - six adults and five teenagers - have just spent two nights in this wonderful place, celebrating my mother's birthday.

The atmosphere was very relaxed, and the surroundings were beautiful with as much peace and quiet as anyone could ask for. The only sounds heard were birds singing and the buzzing from the electric car used by the staff :-)

We found the staff exceptionally friendly and helpful in every way, and the food was excellent. The whole area - indoors and outdoors - was very tidy and clean. So why do I not give Engø a maximum score? Well, our room looked very nice, but design is not everything... First of all, I would have preferred a softer bed, but I suppose that's a matter of taste... The bathroom was very small, containing the only mirror. So there was no way I could blowdry my hair while my husband was brushing his teeth. Why not hang another mirror somewhere? A sliding glass door looks elegant, but honestly: I do prefer a bedroom and a bathroom that are properly separated from each other. Sharing all kinds of private sounds with your spouse is one thing, but what if I was to share this room with a colleague or not so close relative/friend? The semi-frosted glass doors were also found in the ladies' room in the restaurant, and I overheard several comments from other women who found this solution very indiscreet.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sogne Municipality, Norway
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

Very nIce room with all the accoutrements. Eminent food.

If you want a relaxing couple of days. This is it.

The rebates are nice also.

But the food is beyond excellent

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrikstad, Norway
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

2 nights stay for company event in January. A fantastic resort built around an old mansion. Common area very nice decorated and everything high quality.
The rooms allocated to our party were very small and the layout far from practical with bathroom sliding glass door.
Gourmet restaurant, but I was a little disappointed with the main courses. Do not select the wine packages unless you want to waste money. Norway is expensive, but the wine price list do not make sense. Pick your own wines (they do not have poor wines at all in the list) and save 50%!
Breakfast was by far the best meal; everything home made, fresh and best quality. Eggs etc made to order.
The staff was throughout fantastic, attentive, polite and well groomed.
Well worth a visit, but avoid the smallest rooms and the wine package.
Would certainly go there again!

Room Tip: avoid the smallest rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Engø Gård is a beautiful hotel. It has lots of small houses in different colors and styles, but they are all in the same "old" style. We were there in October, if you go during Summer, it must be completely perfect! It is right by the waterfront.

The food was perfect! Breakfast, lunch and dinner were all excellent. The wine for the dinner was excellent also, but very expensive.

The rooms were clean and the bed was very nice. I didn't particularly care for the design in my room, but I guess that comes down to personally preferences.

We were there for a business-trip. And the host was very service-minded, and he fixated everything we asked for. The only problem was Internet. It was slow in the conference- room, and it made our work a bit problematic.

I didn't try the spa-department, but the pool looked very nice.

So the only thing that keeps me from rate this as excellent is the Internet-access and that is was quite expensive, but that agin, you do get value for your money.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

We booked one night at the Engo Gard during our trip to Northern Europe. This place is absolutely idyllic, don't expect breathtaking views from the hotel but the setting is lovely, very nordic style and very charming. The service is top notch! But the highlight of this place is the restaurant, VERY worth a visit alone! Delicious food, we recommend the five course menu but stay away from their wine package - that was the only negative about this hotel, they charge you around 90 euro per person and the five wines are not that excellent - one of them is actually a norvegian beer, but they did not tell us in advance... also each of the 5 glasses of wine vas filled so little that we worried about being robbed for this package, and actually we feel like that if we include the beer which cannot be counted as a wine at all! Our suggestion is to pick a bottle from their excellent cellar. Again, do NOT go with the wine package. Beside this, everything was really exceptional. Ask for one of the two rooms that are located in the Drengestuene, we really loved ours!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

About 1,5 hours from Oslo you find this gem of a hotel. It's situated in the countryside surrounded by the sea. The hotel consists of many charming buildings to create an intimate and warm atmosphere. In the evening the lush garden is lit with candlelights. So romantic!

Due to availability we had a suite the first night and a standard room the other. The suite was just amazing with great view of the fields. It also had a nice terrace. The interior was beautiful and the bathroom was huge with shower and a bathtub. I fell in love with the bathroom!
The standard room was big and well equiped as well.
Housekeeping was great and the rooms were spotless.

Breakfast was really good. There's not much of a choice, but the quality is superb. You get freshly brewed pots of coffe or tea, freshly squized orange juice and other good quality juices from small producers, the bread is homemade (3 different varieties) and you get eggs cooked to order. A real treat!

The hotel offers afternoon tea which was a nice, relaxing activity in the afternoon. Good quality and atmosphere.

The area is perfect for walking and cycling, and the hotel also has bicycles for rent. After you can take a swim in the beautiful pool or jacuzzi. We did and it was so relaxing!

The staff is extremely service-minded in a way that doesn't feel too formal nor too informal. Perfect balance!

We will most definitely return on another occasion.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Engo Gard Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Engo Gard Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Gamle Engo vei 25, Tjome 3145, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Vestfold > Tjome Municipality > Tjome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Tjome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stay at Engo Gard is an unparalleled experience. Set in a beautiful natural location, amid historical buildings, and with a marvelous sense of well-being and culinary delights, we offer you an atmosphere guaranteed to give you peace of mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Engo Gard Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Engo Gard Oslo
Engo Gard Hotel Oslo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Engo Gard Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.