We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality food at good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Provianten

Provianten
Store Elvegate 45A, Mandal, Norway
+47 482 78 888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 16 Restaurants in Mandal
Cuisines: Italian, Brew Pub, Bakeries, Norwegian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Provianten is a genuine and local restaurant with inspirations from all over the great cuisines in Europe. It offers Norwegian fresh fish and seafood from the sea right beside and fresh homemade pasta and pizza from the stone oven as a part of the Italian cuisine. Located in Mandal right by the south coast of Norway. Here you will experience a one of a kind visit thanks to the different workshops. Such as: Micro brewery and distillery - Here we make several different beers and spirits Bakery - Fresh bread every day from the bakery, with everything from pastries to tasty Danish rye bread Coffee roastery - Home roasted coffee from all over the world Pottery and Art - Artesanal ceramics ranging from bowls and plates to sculptures and creations for candles
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“High quality food at good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

The location is of course great by the river in Mandal city centre; however the food is the main reason for visiting Provianten. There appears to be a genuine interest in serving quality. We enjoyed their pizzas, the fab tex mex salad, the fish soup. They make their beer from their brewery, the bread is a highlight in itself as is the home made ice cream. Good to see that they also had a few books etc for the kids

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    18
    9
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mandal
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Italien pizza, Mandal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

If you are in Mandal and want authentic italien pizza, Provianten is the place. Fantastic pizza make from the botom, and book a table by the riverside for the optimate evening.
The restaurantes have also their own microbrewery, which change the taste of beer all the time.
and their own bakery.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrikNordqvist, Public Relations Manager at Provianten, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Thank you very much, these kind of reviews really makes our day at Provianten. Hope to see you back soon when the real summer heat comes to Mandal. And next time you can also have a look at the fantastic pottery that we make as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
“A totally unexpected positiv surprice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We were greated by the absolutly friendly and serviceminded personell. While waiting for our table we got an introduction to, and where shown around their microbrewery. Their different tastes of home made beer, tasted wonderful.
The three coursed meal tasted delicius.
Provianten is by it selves a reason to visit Mandal.
Thanks to the staff for making it a very pleasant evening.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best homemade burger bread I've tasted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

During Easter we went on a day trip from our summer house to Mandal. Since the sun was shining we decided to have our first outdoor drink at Provianten - and what a great idea! The in-house beer was really good and we ate a fantastic burger with the best homemade bread I've tasted - yummy! Would really recommend this place and also a visit to the charming city of Mandal where you have to pay a visit to the interior shop Olivias.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Maybe the best place in Southern Norway?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

This is a restaurant that I keep coming back to over and over again. A really stunning place in the small town of Mandal, the most southern town in Norway. The restaurant has its own coffee brewery (!), bakery and beer brewery. Nowadays they are brewing their special easterbrew. Unfortunately I was driving and could not drink, but my colleagues really enjoyed both the easter "special" and the Indian Pale Ale.

Atmosphere is superb, restaurant located on the pier side with a really nice outdoor seating area. Even as early as March this is a warm and welcoming outdoor seating (lucky with the weather). Indoor it´s cosy and stylish, decor a mix of tradition, "home & cottage" and scandinavian design.

This time visiting I had the house hamburger, made of beef delivered from a local shop. Very tasty, and BIG portions!

In addition to their beer and coffee brewery, the restaurant also have a deli shop where you can by their home baked bread, cookies, all kinds yummy stuff as olive oil, ice-cream, smoked ham etc. etc. And not to forget; they also have a pottery in the back.

No need to go empty handed from Provianten, that´s for sure!

This place makes it worth going to Mandal on it´s own (but I strongly also recommend you to check out the shops and the beach area when visiting).

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Provianten also viewed

Mandal, Mandal Municipality
Mandal, Mandal Municipality
 
Mandal, Mandal Municipality
Mandal, Mandal Municipality
 

Been to Provianten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Provianten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.