We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and excellent stay, very nice owners, magnificent surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Giulia Country House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Giulia Country House to your Saves list
Casa Giulia Country House
Via Corciano 1 | Bovara, 06039 Trevi, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Trevi B&B and Inns
Collonges-les Bévy
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely and excellent stay, very nice owners, magnificent surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed at Casa Giulia with my family (27 persons ! 3 generations !) for one week, and have been welcomed as our family would have. The people managing it really tried to make our stay comfortable and happy.
The house is like a family one,lots of pretty furniture and paintings, the garden and pool are just magnificent. We could go in and out as we wanted, and the food was wonderful, with very nice home made antipasti and breakfast. The service is really kind, always with a smile, and helpful (for example, when my son was sick, the person took us to the doctor and helped us with the translation). The person also gave us the name of a very nice restaurant for the first dinner, not far away in Parrano, which was very good.
We were close to Assisi and Spoleto, etc, but every little village has something beautiful and interesting to see !!
I would cheerly recommend Casa Giulia, for those who want to discover the peaceful and magnificent Umbria !
Anne-Sophie de Haut de Sigy, from France

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    15
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
25
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

What a lucky choice for checking out Umbria. We stayed 4 nights in a lovely classical old family home.This is a country house with lots of charm and warmth. Our room was quiet and had AC. The ambience outside was equally as charming. As Karen Brown suggested, it was a perfect hub for day trips exploring Umbria and then a cool off in the pool before sunset. Our hosts were so accommodating we felt like we were visiting family. The hosts had several restaurant recommendation that were marvelous and authentic. We wish we could bring our whole family next time to experience the peace and charm we found at Casa Giulia. Allow time for wandering!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyannis, MA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

We obviously had a different experience than most of these reviews. We found that the persons at the casa spoke very little English, and were not exceptionally helpful in suggesting places for dinner. The restaurant mentioned on their web site was not open. We found the rooms very "dark" in terms of light and very damp and cold. Having said that, maybe we were too early in the season (first week in May). We were the only guests staying there for the three nights we had booked, wasn't the greatest. But the rooms were clean, it was indeed quiet, and they are in a great location for day trips. We did love going to the surrounding towns to sightsee, and ended up finding our own places to eat, which were fabulous. While I'm saying I might not recommend to a friend, I would say RESEARCH...ask if the restuarant will be open, ask if there will be others staying there, is the pool open (was not when we were there) etc.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

I spent four days with my wife in this lovely ancient house, located 4 km from Trevi, a charming medieval village between Assisi and Spoleto. We enjoyed the peace of the place, the nature, the possibility we had to go walking up to the hills. The hospitality is warm and the owner makes all to let you feel at home. The room was very quiet, clean, large, well furnished in period style. The place is perfectly located in heart of Umbria with some of the major cities of art (Perugia, Assisi, Spello, Spoleto) reachable n less than 30 minutes by car. Ideal destination for relaxing holidays.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

We stayed three nights in an apartment associated with this country house. Apart from the bathroom, which was spotless, the apartment was not very clean. The furnishings look like castoffs. The couch and bed were explicitly uncomfortable. The country is located about a 15-minute drive from Spoleto and a 5-minute drive from Trevi, so we had to take the car to go anywhere. After staying at the country house for a few nights, we realized that for a few more euros a night, we could stay at a fabulous hotel in the middle of Spoleto, so we switched. We wished we'd switched sooner.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Falmouth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

I lead small group tours to Italy and have stayed at Casa Giulia three times. I love it for several reasons. It is an authentic old world estate set at the base of Trevi, named one of the 100 most beautiful borgos in Italy. It is owned and occupied by the family who built it. The rooms are furnished with antiques which add to the charm. The staff does everything possible to meet the needs of its guests. Each group enjoyed pre- dinner aperitivos with home made antipasti in front of a large fireplace. For dinner each evening we tasted a variety of Umbrian dishes lovingly prepared and served. Casa Giulia is my Umbrian "home away from home" and is a place to which I plan to return.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

We have stayed in Casa Giulia on 3 different occasions, 2004, 2C006 and 2009 while traveling in Italy. Each time we have had a great experience. The location is excellent and the amenities are more than satisfactory. We stayed three nights, 24-26 September 2009. Our room on the second floor was large and quiet with a window facing the courtyard, and had ensuite shower and toilet facilities. Our breakfasts held each morning on the covered gazebo were typically Italian overseen by a very attentive and friendly woman employee who insured we could have as much as desired. We were provided with an electronic key to enter and leave both the gated compound and villa. Signora Petrucci, and manager Maria and her husband were excellent hosts and responded to any query and need. Maria recommended a new restaurant in Trevi named Taverna 7 which was outstanding and we discovered Trattoria Palazzaccio, another great find, in nearby Poreta. We were also honored by Signora Petrucci who gave another couple and us a tour of her private quarters in the villa. Make sure you travel through the nearby scenic mountains to Norcia and eat at Trattoria Tipico Francese. Also make sure you see the oldest olive tree in Italy within walking distance of Casa Giulia. This tree never sheds its leaves like all olive trees do and it is viewed as a miracle.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Giulia Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Giulia Country House

Address: Via Corciano 1 | Bovara, 06039 Trevi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Trevi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Trevi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in central Italy’s verdant valley of Umbria, and at the foot of the panoramic Monte Serano, rises Casa Giulia, an enchanting 17th century country house in Trevi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Giulia Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Giulia Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.