We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Happy Tower (Counting the days until we can return)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Torre ai Mari

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added La Torre ai Mari to your Saves list
La Torre ai Mari
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei Mari 31, 53047 Sarteano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sarteano
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Happy Tower (Counting the days until we can return)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We have just returned home after a very enjoyable two weeks in La Torre ai Mari. We can't speak highly enough about this small treasure of a hotel which we would recommend to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in this area. We were really spoiled by the kindness of Rentato and Barbara who were our hosts. The hotel was a perfect base for us to explore Southern Tuscany and we did about half a dozen day trips to gorgeous places within very short drives. Pienza, Montepulciano, Montelcino and so on were all within a hop and easy to visit, leaving at a civilised hour and still be back with enough time to relax by the pool for the rest of the day.

The hotel is set in woods on a hillside and has a spectacular view over the surrounding countryside - ideal for people who want nature all around them. We enjoyed walking in the forest near the hotel and exploring the caves there (where St. Francis lived for a time). Although you are in such a quiet and beautiful place, it is still only 5 minutes from the pleasant town of Sarteano which seems to be a less touristy version of the other places we visited, mentioned above. As we were there for a long break, we dropped into town for pizza a few evenings but most evenings and a good few lunches we took in the hotel. The food was all good as was the wine and the menu included typical Tuscan items as well as a good variety of interesting specials that changed from night to night.

The hotel is spotlessly clean and the service was charming. Renato speaks impeccable English and was able to advise us on everything from visiting the local hot spring baths to buying a train ticket to Rome for our day out there. Nothing was too much trouble. The vast majority of guests were Italian and there was a very pleasant atmosphere with everyone greeting each other at mealtimes and smiles all round. It seems that this hotel has not been discovered yet by the rest of the world which is surprising given how well located it is.

We were travelling with two children and all the staff were completely delightful to them (which makes all the difference) all in all a thoroughly enjoyable time was had by all of us and we are already counting the days until we can return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
mechelen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

The hotel is recently completely renovated in a very nice manner. The owners are very helpfull and friendly. There is a nice swimming pool waiting after you have made an excursion in the region. The restaurant was very good, there was a choice (à la carte) between a fish and a meat dish (a lovely starter (antipasto) - the first course (il primo) - the second course (il secondo) and a dessert (from the menu. The wines were very good at a reasonable price. The rooms were very clean and new. I would recommend the hotel for someone who wants to explore the region and who is looking for a comfortable and quiet hotel and who is a lover of lovely food and wine.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2008

We stayed at "La Torre" in July 2008. It is a lovely hotel in a restored old farmhouse and has completely been renovated in 2007-2008. We really had a great time there. The new owner is very helpful and friendly. He even helped to find a good hotel in Orvieto. The room was good and clean, with stunning views. The excellent restaurant focuses on seafood, so don't forget to order the seafood-menu. Delicious! We will definitely stay again in this hotel.

  • Liked — Great ambience
  • Disliked — Relatively small bathroom (but OK)
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2006

I have just spent a week at this lovely property in Tuscany with my husband, daughter, son-in-law and 2 grandsons aged 3+ and 15 months.
The owners, Mauro and his wife Stella, are charming.

The house, a converted Tuscan farmhouse, is very attractive and comfortable. We had a generously sized room and bathroom and our older grandson slept with us in a very smart matching sofa bed.
Our daughter's room was not quite as big a double as ours and was reduced in size by having a cot in it, but they had wonderful views and it was perfectly adequate.

On the plus side, the food was excellent and we were glad to have opted for half board. Wines were very reasonably priced. There was an abundance of fresh fruit at both breakfast and dinner.
On the minus side, there were no arrangements for young children to eat earlier than the normal dinner time of 8 pm, which caused my daughter some stress. The owners were very good at heating up ready- prepared food and milk for the younger one, but it was a hassle she could have done without. Having a 3 yr old at dinner was also less relaxing for the young couple than it might have been.

The setting is very tranquil and the grounds are extensive. There is a play area for children, an area for playing bowls, a tennis court and a swimming pool. Be warned - we are quite hardy but the pool is unheated and not exactly warm!

The hotel is reasonably priced. In addition, Mauro did not charge us for a room booked for my sister, which was cancelled at a very late date as her husband is very ill, nor did he charge us for dinners not taken on 2 evenings. Generous people.

An excellent base for exploring Montepulciano, Pienza, Siena and trying the thermal baths in the area.

  • Liked — Our room
  • Disliked — cold swimming pool
  • Tips/Secrets — try restaurant La Fattoria, Chiusi
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Torre ai Mari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Torre ai Mari

Address: Via dei Mari 31, 53047 Sarteano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Sarteano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sarteano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Torre ai Mari 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is a reconstructed farmhouse set in the woods and recently has been completely renovated. On the ground floor, past the reception, one enters the spacious cocktail bar with verandah and panoramic restaurant. On the first and second floor are ten double rooms and four single rooms.Also available ample parking area, tennis court, outdoor bowling alley and a swimming pool with solarium.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Torre ai Mari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Torre Ai Mari Sarteano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Torre ai Mari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.