We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would have been great but for...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Borgo del Grillo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Borgo del Grillo to your Saves list
Borgo del Grillo
San Giuliano Casa Bebi | Località Borgo Fastelli, 53047 Sarteano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Rome
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Would have been great but for...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We recently organized a wedding party at Borgo del Grillo, and had approximately 60 of our guests (and ourselves) stay there. We booked the whole place over two days (the weekend) in May/June, right before the medium season started, as per the owners' preference. Our experience was mixed, at best.

The bad: the owner, Serena.
- Despite the time of year (late May/early June), the weather was cold and DURING the wedding party, the owner informed us that she would charge us a very hefty fee (several hundred Euros) to cover the heating costs. Neither she nor her sister, Alessandra (the other owner), had ever mentioned the possibility of extra charges before. On the contrary, a sign in each room clearly states that all charges are included in the fee paid for guests' stay.
- We got over the annoyance (and later paid), and celebrated into the night in the Borgo's indoor party room. The Borgo being in a remote location, we did not think the music would be an issue. In fact, when we were planning the event, we had asked the owners whether there was a time by which we would need to end our party -- the owners had answered that there was none. Nevertheless, again in the middle of our celebrations, the owner barged in to tell us in a very unpleasant way to turn the music off. We had to negotiate with the owner (on our wedding night!!!!) to be able to continue our celebration, as per our prior agreement.
- A similar incident had already happened on Friday night during a smaller dinner we organized.
- A few hours before our wedding, Serena the owner, instructed us to remove an elevated wooden dance floor we had paid a lot of money to have placed on the grass, as she worried it would ruin her lawn -- the fact that her sister, Alessandra, the co-owner, had previously allowed us to install a dance floor made no difference to her.
- The apartments took forever to warm up, and the hot water did not properly work in all apartments.
- The owner, Serena, was not present when our guests started arriving and checking in. When she finally did arrive, she made a stink because she urgently wanted to record everyone's information (which we ended up doing for her, because she was so unpleasant about it). When people checked out, she was slow, and according to several guests, also rude.
Such bad manners, dishonesty, and lack of professionalism were shocking to us given that we were getting married, and had booked the WHOLE place during a period when the Borgo would have had very little activity.

The good:
- The location and views are stunning.
- The apartments are spacious and tastefully decorated.
- The custodians who live at the Borgo are very nice and helpful.

Conclusion: wait for the Borgo's management to change, and then plan a nice long vacation there!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borgodelgrillo, Proprietario at Borgo del Grillo, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Google Translation
Cara Jenny
Leggo solo oggi la tua recensione (e di un paio di tuoi invitati), ti ringrazio per i suggerimenti di cui faccio tesoro e dai quali ho imparato molto.
Ritengo altresì doveroso raccontare gli avvenimenti dal punto di vista della proprietà.
Sono spiacente se il mio comportamento ti sia sembrato scortese, il vostro è stato senza dubbio un matrimonio PARTICOLARE. Molto toccante la cerimonia religiosa celebrata direttamente al Borgo, ne conservo un ricordo bellissimo.
Per il resto che dire …….... la scelta organizzativa “FAI DA TE” si è rivelata perdente ed ha generato un totale caos.
Inizialmente gli accordi tra noi intercorsi prevedevano la presenza di un catering (da noi conosciuto e con il quale avevamo piacevolmente collaborato in passato), figura di riferimento che avrebbe potuto tutelare entrambe le parti. Successivamente, senza alcun preavviso e senza chiederci alcun parere avete disdetto il catering che ci ha prontamente avvisato.
Solo a scelte fatte ci avete messi al corrente del vostro cambiamento in corso d’opera e della vostra decisione di affrontare preparativi e quant’altro in totale autonomia, senza essere coadiuvati da alcun professionista nel settore. Alle mie domande in merito all’organizzazione mi è stato risposto in maniera nebulosa che vi sareste fatti aiutare da un gruppo di Boy-Scout…………
La scelta di inventarsi Wedding Planner per il proprio matrimonio senza alcun esperienza in merito e' stata, senza dubbio, discutibile ed ha creato incomprensioni, danni e accumulo di stress per tutti.
Per il piacere di accogliervi al Borgo del Grillo, in quanto avevamo capito che la nostra location vi aveva incantato, vi è stato accordato un prezzo con particolare scontistica, ritoccato successivamente al ribasso (a seguito di insistenti richieste da parte vostra)! Scontistica che avrete avuto occasione di controllare confrontando i prezzi presenti sul nostro sito e su portali del settore wedding, o come avete potuto leggere sui prezzi riportati all’interno di ciascun appartamento che comprendono il costo del riscaldamento.
Purtroppo il tempo non ci ha aiutato, FREDDO ed UMIDO, con un imminente rischio di pioggia per tutta la giornata. Al vostro arrivo vi ho subito fatto presente che i prezzi a voi applicati non includevano l’uso del riscaldamento e che ci sarebbe stato un’extra da corrispondere, voi avete immediatamente accettato e solo al momento del check-out e relativo saldo sono sorti i soliti problemi.
Tornando alla vostra organizzazione “Matrimonio FAI DA TE” quanto segue:
Sabato 1 Giugno, giorno della cerimonia, gran parte degl’invitati erano svegli di buon mattino quasi tutti ad occuparsi dei preparativi, spostavano tavoli, tagliavano fiori e piante officinali ovunque per preparare centri tavola e abbellire esterno ed interno, ovviamente senza aver chiesto preventivamente a me, ne comunicato ciò che stavano facendo al custode! Verso le otto ecco l’arrivo della forza lavoro effettiva!! I Boy-Scout!! Un gruppo di 10/15 ragazzi/e età media 18 anni che hanno letteralmente invaso il Borgo del Grillo, senza alcun coordinatore ne rispetto per la proprietà hanno utilizzato attrezzature ed ambienti non previsti dai nostri accordi (si sono insediati nella club-house utilizzando i tavoli come taglieri, tagliando affettando impiattando e cucinando, apparentemente infastiditi dalla presenza del custode e di sua moglie). Per non aumentare pressione e stress che so bene si accumulano sempre sulle spalle degli sposi (maggiormente in questa situazione ed in assenza di un professionista a coadiuvare la “forza lavoro”), ho chiuso tutti e due gli occhi e nel mero tentativo di arginare i danni vi ho chiesto se cortesemente ci potevate mettere a conoscenza di cosa dovevate utilizzare e o “spostare” PRIMA di averlo già fatto. (Ho scoperto solo notte tempo che gli Scout si sono accampati all'interno della club-house per tutta la notte! Anche per questo non mi è stato chiesto alcun consenso. Nulla!!
La “pedana da ballo”, (se così la vogliamo chiamare), era in realtà un pavimento di legno costituito da pallets appoggiato su tappeto erboso di fronte alla club-house, senza alcuna copertura in moquet. L’effetto estetico finale era un patcwork di marroncini poco gradevole alla vista, come mi ha confermato lo stesso sposo Filippo, tuo marito. Rimango sorpresa nel leggere che ci tenevate così tanto! Io non vi ho imposto la rimozione della pedana! Ho semplicemente fatto presente che il nostro prato è molto delicato e si sarebbe rovinato e che, se possibile e se non avesse creato un problema, avrei certamente preferito che venisse spostata e vi ho anche suggerito di montarla in un'altra porzione di prato di fronte alla sala dove avreste cenato. Una volta smontata Filippo stesso mi ha confermato che il prato mostrava già segni di sofferenza. La vostra bellissima cerimonia ha avuto inizio verso le 17:30 a seguire aperitivi, cena, taglio della torta e party nuziale. Vi ho lasciato in totale autonomia proprio per darvi la possibilità di vivere il vostro momento al meglio, mai pensando che la festa si sarebbe trasformata in un rave per pochi intimi. Alle 3:40 a.m. il volume dei festeggiamenti era così alto che mi ha svegliato, le finestre della casa vibravano e la musica era chiaramente percepibile dai caseggiati delle località a noi limitrofe!!! Ok per i party prolungati ma sempre nel rispetto della legge!
Sono entrata nella sala dove eravate rimasti in pochi intimi, visivamente provati dai festeggiamenti! La musica era altissima non riuscivo a farmi capire dal DJ nemmeno gesticolando o alzando la voce!!! Con lo sposo Filippo non c’è stato alcun patteggiamento!!! Ho chiaramente spiegato che incorrevamo nel rischio di una multa per schiamazzi notturni e che per quanto mi riguardava potevate continuare a bere e ballare fino alle 10:00 del mattino ma nel rispetto del vicinato. Chiudendo le porte ed abbassando il volume avete proseguito a festeggiare fino a che avete avuto la forza di farlo, con mio immenso piacere.
Mi rallegro nel capire che la nostra location è considerata in maniera ottima e sicuramente la nostra gestione proseguirà con un bagaglio di esperienza maggiore che ci consentirà di tutelare cliente e struttura al meglio nel rispetto di tutti.
Ancora Grazie e Felicitazioni!
Serena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    22
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
32
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I went there to my good friends wedding and it was a blast, a stunning wedding and everyone was happy, even the sun showed it's face after weeks of bad weather. It was magical. The borgo has breathtaking views, the cutest place ever, buildings and rooms were renovated with beautiful attention, superb furniture, lovely garden, helpful staff on site, all was great.
Except that the night before his wedding the groom who was already on his knees, had dozens of phone call from the frantic owner of this beautiful place.
Everyone knows how stressful a wedding is to organize, but she did not care and gave him hell all the way. Once all the crew mounting the tents and dance floor were far gone, she asked him to remove the dance floor as it could mark her lawn. So the groom had to do it on the morning of his own wedding!!! Then as the weather was a bit cold, she said that he will have to pay extra for heating all the guests rooms (everyone was already paying 80 Euros a night and we filled up the entire borgo with friends and family during low season)
At this point the groom was sweating and asking me for aspirin (true). How can someone who rented her place for a wedding could treat the groom this way is beyond me!!! Everyone felt sorry for him and we all tried our best to help him out. This is unacceptable. This stunning place could have had a 5 star review from me, but I have to make a point here. If your planning to have your wedding at Borgo del Grillo, make sure to have a wedding planner so he or she can take all the blows, as the owner from hell will do her best to screw you and your wedding.

Room Tip: Room 14 was stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Borgo del Grillo is situated on a very beutiful hill dominating the Tuscan coutryside. The resort is surrounded by nice forests, wineyards and oliveyards. It's composed by 3-4 cottages in real Tuscan style, each building has either self-catering apartments or rooms. Both are spaceful and nicely furnished. In the sorrounding you can visit the pretty villages of Sarteano (about 10 km far), Cetona (15km) and Radicofani (20km), all of them are usually off the the beaten tracks of main touristics flows. Apart from the nice views, the garden and the pool, the resort doesn't offer any other attraction. There isn't a restaurant, a bar, a spa or a gym despite the whole location is huge. Wifi only available in the reception and TV in rooms only equipped with cable-tv and no SAT channels. Summarizing: the place and the location are very beutiful but the service and teh atrractions offered are poor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We (family with two young kids) enjoyed the place and especially the panamoramic views were breathtaking (sunset over the Tuscan hills). As someone else also commented we found the hostess however not very welcoming and moody. Also the fact that she was lying at the swimming pool in between the guests for a big part of the afternoon felt a bit awkward. Please also be aware of the off road conditions that leads you to the place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monza, Italia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The location is simply amazing, and the "borgo" was restored really well with taste.
The swimming pool, always clean, is quiet and big enough for kids to have fun and adults to relax.
The apartments are big and well equipped even if it is not very clean (dusty under the beds or cupboards- under a cupboard I found a popcorn and a liquorice).
The manager is a bit "moody", sometimes very friendly, sometimes she ignores you.
The maintenance guy instead is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

It's a very nice place, so quite and nice place.
A place of total relax, good also in outumn period.
Staff very kind and rooms are cleaned.
There is a welcome with a good bottle of red wine.
A good braekfast.
Better to go there with a no sport car because of you have to go in a white street for few meters!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Our room for the “chill-out” weekend at the Borgo was very romantic and welcoming, with sweeping views of the Orcia Valley, with its woods and fields, and Radicofani - a medieval village nearby. The open fire was already crackling when we arrived, thanks to the courtesy and thoughtfulness of our host - she is very helpful (functional English spoken!). She also prepares the ever-changing but always mouth-watering breakfasts! Everything is very clean and well maintained, including the garden and the heated pool. The surroundings are very relaxing, a hidden away paradise of peace and quiet, made of finely refurbished stone houses, reachable via a very serviceable gravel road. Can we askfor more?

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Borgo del Grillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo del Grillo

Address: San Giuliano Casa Bebi | Località Borgo Fastelli, 53047 Sarteano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Sarteano
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Sarteano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borgo del Grillo is an ancent stone made build divided in comfortable farmhouses furnished with: satelite TV, wifi internet, B&B serviceGuest aminities: free parking, tennis court, bocce court, childrens playgrand, barbecues, heated swiming-pool, breathtaking views of the d'Orcia valley ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Borgo del Grillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Del Grillo Sarteano, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borgo del Grillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.