We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service, good breakfast, nice people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Duca del Mare

Save Saved
You added Hotel Duca del Mare to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Duca del Mare
P.zza Dante Alighieri 1/2, 58024 Massa Marittima, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 hotels in Massa Marittima
Heidelberg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great service, good breakfast, nice people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night while travelling through Tuscany. It is a very good place, clean, new and well equipped. We got a room with an awesome view and a big terrace! The owner even helped us carry our luggage up the stairs. The breakfast was also very good and the people were very nice!

Sehr schönes Hotel, mit gutem Service, gutem Frühstück, moderner Einrichtung und tollem Blick über die Toskana! Sehr empfehlenswert!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    33
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
30
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Va
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

A great clean hotel. A beautiful room with a balcony overlooking a beautiful valley. It includes a terrific breakfast. You can walk into the center of town or drive in and park. Many very good restaurants in town with a wide selection.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Small family run hotel providing friendly and efficient service. Choice at breakfast is plentyful and fresh. Request a room with viewes across to the coast. Location is convenient for the old town. Free parking.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paros, Greece
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed at the Duca del Mare with a group of 21 people from the US, UK, Australia and Greece, touring Tuscany by Vespa. Excellent hotel, great location, friendly, courteous and helpful staff. The hotel has all the necessary amenities for individuals or groups. We were pleasantly surprised to find breakfast tables (nice breakfast, by the way) prominantly marked as "Reserved" for our group. The owner is a member of the local vespa Club, and members of that club surprised us and met us 20 km outside of town to lead us to the hotel. Massa Marittima is a lovely town, and we were treated to a riding tour of it by the local vespa Club. Yes, we Vespa owners are a unique breed, but we reserved accommodations and got so very much more. All our group members have stated that the Duca del Mare is to be included again on our next Tuscany tour!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

A good place to stay if you like à peacefull place within 5 minuters walk to the center of the town.The breakfast was better than we expected in Italy. Not only sweets .Nice staff but not so good English. The help you anyway. No lift

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

A relaxing place for a stay and with air conditioning thank goodness although in the rooms it goes off in the middle of the night for a couple of hours and after 10am until 3pm. Very friendly and helpful staff, free wi-fi (log in password from reception) a plus, as is the small pool. I did not see a lift and we had two sets of stairs to climb to our room, plus the breakfast is served in the basement. The breakfast has a lot of choice, although more geared to the sweet tooth than the savoury, and much of it prepackaged. Coffee and tea came from a machine, not very nice, but a good selection of fruit juices and fresh fruit aplenty more than made up for this. There is a bar by reception and the pool, but it did not appear to offer food so be prepared to go up the steep hill to the cathedral square to eat in the evening.
Finally the room was fine - no fridge sadly in ours (although there was a cupboard which looks like it could have had one inside at one time). TV largely Italian (100 channels), for English speakers the rather tedious BBC World. However the view from the doors which opened onto a small balcony where you could sit outside was awesome, sweeping down to the Mediterranean at Follonica and beyond to the Isle of Elba.
We stayed here for three nights, and I would have no qualms about booking here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We have visited this hotel several times. The family who run the hotel are very friendly. The pool area is lovely, with an adjoining bar.There is a large selection for breakfast. The centre of Massa Marittima is only a few minutes away and there are lots of restaurants,shops, bars and a lovely gelateria.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden/pool area are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Duca del Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duca del Mare

Address: P.zza Dante Alighieri 1/2, 58024 Massa Marittima, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Massa Marittima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 hotels in Massa Marittima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Duca del Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Duca del Mare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.