We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service, good breakfast, nice people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Duca del Mare

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Duca del Mare to your Saves list
Hotel Duca del Mare
P.zza Dante Alighieri 1/2, 58024 Massa Marittima, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Massa Marittima
Certificate of Excellence
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great service, good breakfast, nice people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night while travelling through Tuscany. It is a very good place, clean, new and well equipped. We got a room with an awesome view and a big terrace! The owner even helped us carry our luggage up the stairs. The breakfast was also very good and the people were very nice!

Sehr schönes Hotel, mit gutem Service, gutem Frühstück, moderner Einrichtung und tollem Blick über die Toskana! Sehr empfehlenswert!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    45
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
40
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Va
Level Contributor
137 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

A great clean hotel. A beautiful room with a balcony overlooking a beautiful valley. It includes a terrific breakfast. You can walk into the center of town or drive in and park. Many very good restaurants in town with a wide selection.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Small family run hotel providing friendly and efficient service. Choice at breakfast is plentyful and fresh. Request a room with viewes across to the coast. Location is convenient for the old town. Free parking.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paros, Greece
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed at the Duca del Mare with a group of 21 people from the US, UK, Australia and Greece, touring Tuscany by Vespa. Excellent hotel, great location, friendly, courteous and helpful staff. The hotel has all the necessary amenities for individuals or groups. We were pleasantly surprised to find breakfast tables (nice breakfast, by the way) prominantly marked as "Reserved" for our group. The owner is a member of the local vespa Club, and members of that club surprised us and met us 20 km outside of town to lead us to the hotel. Massa Marittima is a lovely town, and we were treated to a riding tour of it by the local vespa Club. Yes, we Vespa owners are a unique breed, but we reserved accommodations and got so very much more. All our group members have stated that the Duca del Mare is to be included again on our next Tuscany tour!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

A good place to stay if you like à peacefull place within 5 minuters walk to the center of the town.The breakfast was better than we expected in Italy. Not only sweets .Nice staff but not so good English. The help you anyway. No lift

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

A relaxing place for a stay and with air conditioning thank goodness although in the rooms it goes off in the middle of the night for a couple of hours and after 10am until 3pm. Very friendly and helpful staff, free wi-fi (log in password from reception) a plus, as is the small pool. I did not see a lift and we had two sets of stairs to climb to our room, plus the breakfast is served in the basement. The breakfast has a lot of choice, although more geared to the sweet tooth than the savoury, and much of it prepackaged. Coffee and tea came from a machine, not very nice, but a good selection of fruit juices and fresh fruit aplenty more than made up for this. There is a bar by reception and the pool, but it did not appear to offer food so be prepared to go up the steep hill to the cathedral square to eat in the evening.
Finally the room was fine - no fridge sadly in ours (although there was a cupboard which looks like it could have had one inside at one time). TV largely Italian (100 channels), for English speakers the rather tedious BBC World. However the view from the doors which opened onto a small balcony where you could sit outside was awesome, sweeping down to the Mediterranean at Follonica and beyond to the Isle of Elba.
We stayed here for three nights, and I would have no qualms about booking here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We have visited this hotel several times. The family who run the hotel are very friendly. The pool area is lovely, with an adjoining bar.There is a large selection for breakfast. The centre of Massa Marittima is only a few minutes away and there are lots of restaurants,shops, bars and a lovely gelateria.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden/pool area are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Massa Marittima
0.5 mi away
La Fenice Park Hotel
La Fenice Park Hotel
#2 of 16 in Massa Marittima
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Girifalco
Hotel Girifalco
#5 of 16 in Massa Marittima
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pian Dei Mucini Resort
Pian Dei Mucini Resort
#1 of 16 in Massa Marittima
4.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Massa Vecchia
Hotel Massa Vecchia
#4 of 16 in Massa Marittima
4.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
10.9 mi away
Hotel La Pineta
Hotel La Pineta
#1 of 14 in Follonica
4.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
10.8 mi away
Hotel Bella'mbriana
Hotel Bella'mbriana
#3 of 14 in Follonica
4.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duca del Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duca del Mare

Address: P.zza Dante Alighieri 1/2, 58024 Massa Marittima, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Massa Marittima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Massa Marittima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Duca del Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Duca del Mare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.