We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice staying in Massa Marittima” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Girifalco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Girifalco to your Saves list
Hotel Girifalco
Via Massetana Nord 25, 58024 Massa Marittima, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Massa Marittima
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire, the old one.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good choice staying in Massa Marittima”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

A lovely hotel with friendly staff and large rooms offering very attractive views.

It is on the edge of Massa Marittima, so requires a fairly step, but short walk into town, and perhaps therefore misses some of the buzz that the town offers in season, but conversely, it offers more tranquillity and more open views over the attractive countryside around the town.

The rooms are large, but otherwise fairly ordinary frankly, but good for what they are - and after all you are going to use the hotel as a base, not somewhere to spend hours in the room - and the view from the window improves the otherwise plainness!

The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts are plentiful and really good.

All round a very good Italian family run hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    40
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
29
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We love this town and were happy to return after 20 years. This hotel is just outside the town overlooking the countryside. Just a quick uphill walk of about 8 minutes to get to the town, which is charming. Many things about this hotel are great-- the pool makes for a pleasant diversion in the afternoon and the breakfast is good, with lots of fresh fruit. We needed a triple and the was only one in the older part if the hotel on the bottom floor. They let us know that it was not the nicest and indeed it was plainly decorated but clean and comfortable -- except for a strange smell which actually kept me awake (no one else suffered the same fate so maybe I am just super sensitive. I would stay here again, but would try for a nicer room if available. Great views from many parts of the hotel.

Love this town!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed here on a group holiday on a half board basis,
The hotel is in a good quiet location. In the countryside just outside - I woke up to bird song every day. But close enough to walk into the centre of MM (up a hill),
I didn't like the room I was initially allocated, so as all the rooms of that grade were taken, I paid a supplement to upgrade and had a lovely room, recently refurbished, large comfortable bed, good bathroom with wonderful shower.
But the best bits of the hotel are the staff and the food.
The staff are all really friendly and helpful, attentive, with an excellent memory for room numbers and food preferences.
The food was plentiful and tasty, with salads, vegetables and fresh fruit. There was plenty of choice at breakfast too. The group had some people with dietary requirements, These had been considered before the menu was presented to us, with proposed alternatives.
I'd very happily stay here again.

Room Tip: When booking, make sure it is clearly stated what sort of room it is, its location in the hotel and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposa,ca
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel within easy walking to old town of !assa Marittima. Our room seemed brand new, and had a beautiful bed and large bathroom with a terrific shower (plus plenty of hot water and great water pressure). Nice double glass doors opened to a small outside patio with views. Not all rooms has this, but we did enjoy ours (no 29). Had a nice breakfast od cold meats, cheese, toast, jam, rolls (they also had cereals as well); coffee and juice. There was plenty of coffee and hot milk. All for 95 euros. Staff was nice as well. We'd definitely stay here again!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The rooms were comfortable and had a lovely view over the surrounding countryside. The staff were friendly and helpful and the prices were reasonable. The breakfast, although the same every day, was fresh and had variety. The evening meal menu was published in advance and there was always salad and the option for fresh fruit instead of dessert. It was an ideal venue and the fact that it was ten minutes walk from the town meant that it was quiet at night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Il Girifalco is just located outside the old town, reachable by foot in 10 minutes. Service is good, owner pretty friendly, swimming pool quite useful since the area during the summer months is pretty hot. You can get a free WI-FI access . My room was very clean and very quite.I asked the front desk for recommendations and were pleased with them.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAMBRIDGE
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2009

We have stayed twice at Il Girifalco once when our daughter was studying in Massa and more recently whilst on vacation in Tuscany.

Our both occasions we were very impressed with the hotel's cleanliness,its friendly staff,management and good food coupled with a real ambience that is rarely found outside of Italy.

What this hotel lacks in sophistication it more the compensates for in other ways moreover the views over the Maremma from the rear of the hotel are breathtaking and a walk in the lanes nearby takes you to an ancient cattle watering fountain, cultivated fields and cottage vegetable gardens.

A real breath of fresh Tuscan air !

  • Liked — the ambience
  • Disliked — some areas externally in need of attention
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Girifalco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Girifalco

Address: Via Massetana Nord 25, 58024 Massa Marittima, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Massa Marittima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Massa Marittima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the colours and scents of the Alta Maremma (Upper Maremma), and set in a delightful garden filled with flowers and aromatic plants, is the charming Hotel Girifalco. This 3-star hotel is just a few minutes away from the historic centre of Massa Marittima, a splendid mediaeval town with a fine Cathedral, "Palazzo del Podesta" (Governor's Hall), and Archaeological Museum. Are you looking for a hotel in Massa Marittima? The Hotel Girifalco will be glad to welcome you, and offer you peace and quiet, relaxation, natural surroundings and a family atmosphere. It is the ideal setting for either a family holiday, a romantic break, or as a base for enjoying outdoor sports and activities. The views in this area are spectacular and the climate is mild throughout the year. The sea is within very easy reach: we are only 17 km from Follonica (European Blue Flag 2013) and from the other beautiful beaches of the Tyrrhenian Sea. You can also enjoy excursions to nearby mediaeval villages, or take part in a variety of sports and activities, including cycling, walking, trekking or horse-riding. The Hotel Girifalco at Massa Marittima offers you a choice between our classic rooms and our new, exclusive bedrooms and suites with their bright, spacious atmosphere and elegant decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Girifalco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Girifalco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.