We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DARK AND UNFRIENDLY” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Il Sole

Save Saved
You added Hotel Il Sole to your Saves list
Hotel Il Sole
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Il Sole
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Liberta 43, 58024 Massa Marittima, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 16 hotels in Massa Marittima
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“DARK AND UNFRIENDLY”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

The receptionist at this hotel was to say the least, ill-tempered and unhelpful and the hotel reflected it, dark and dingy.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    22
    12
    7
See reviews for
6
20
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

My husband needed to go to the area for work and, being high season in Italy, everything was booked. We also needed a place that would accept dogs as this was a last minute trip and our pet sitter was booked. This was the one location with availability and would allow dogs so, despite the reviews, we booked it.

It wasn't nearly as bad as we expected. It is right in the center of Massa Marittima, a small village we would have never known about or visited otherwise. The room was large enough for us and the dogs. It was certainly older, but didn't smell of cigarettes and it was clean. The staff is not overly friendly, but accommodated our ever changing schedule because my husband's work was constantly adjusting. The location could not have been better, within walking distance of everything. We never found parking at the hotel because much of that area is pedestrian only. But we found a small lot just as you enter the town where we left the car the entire time.

Overall, it's not as bad as others have made it seem. It was just what we needed at the time and would recommend it for those who are not too choosy but want something clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Sole just as the proprietors were about to batten the hatches for the winter. We appeared to be the only guests and should, therefore, have had our choice of rooms. Instead, we were directed to a dank, smokey room at the end of the hall on the top floor. The hallway and room were redolent with the smell of rotting flesh; obviously, a mouse or rat had recently died somewhere on the floor, and the corpse had not been removed. We approached the receptionist about this but were told that no other rooms were available. We weren't about to stand for that and insisted she accomany us upstairs to smell for herself. She reluctantly agreed but claimed she could smell nothing. She only accomodated our request for a room change when we threatened to leave. The alternate room was in much better condition, though somewhat cramped. It was clean, and the bath was well appointed with all fixtures in working order. Breakfast was skimpy and poorly presented, and the breads and bakery products were stale. Prices were reasonable.

We may have run afoul of substitute reception staff in the low season, but a reputable hotelier needs to make sure his/her clients are treated properly. We're not particular people but feel we were treated very shabbily and were served an awful breakfast. No complaints about room (at least the one that didn't stink of dead things), prices or location. But if we had to do it again, we'd stay at the Girifalco -- a much better hotel at the bottom of the hill.

  • Liked — Location, price
  • Disliked — Smell/cleanliness issue, unhelpful/insulting reception staff
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2007

We are a young couple (German and Mexican), We were knowing the Tuscany and we found this hotel so disapointing.

Very old, they really should do something with the furniture its so old, the housekeeping are making unbereable noise since 6:30 am every day, slaming doors, laughing and shouting till 10 am. They promise in the website, Parking, but the 4 days we were there all of them said it was completely full , and we were concerned because we had a rental car so we had to leave it in the street. The rooms were so moldy, the TV is like from the 70s, so the phone. The breakfast was small but ok(Bread, Yogurt, Coffe and Juice)

The man in the front desk at night is nice and helpful , anyway I wouldnt come back there and I think you can find better choices for that money $100 usd per night. Besides in the web it says that its 700 mts from the beach and its lie, its about 20 km far. We couldnt change hotel because everything was sold. Good luck

  • Liked — The pizzeria right in front of the hotel. Amazing Pizza
  • Disliked — Moldy Rooms, Noisy because of the Housekeeping in the mornings, Didnt care about the parking problem
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2007

I went to Massa Marittima for its annual opera festival in July. I also registered for the opera appreciation class and italian language class with the British institute of Florence. Both of these classes were taught at Massa Marittima's Seminario Domus Bernardiana. I registered too late and could not secure a room at the seminario. The British Institute of Florence reserved this hotel for me.

Hotel Il Sole was very centrally located, just a few steps from Piazza Garibaldi, the main square in Massa Marittima. I checked into a double room for single use. Frankly speaking, the hotel looked rather old. It was clean and tidy. The only problem I had was with the drainage inside the shower. It was rather slow and I had to rush every time to make sure the shower pan did not overfill. Breakfast was adequate with yogurt, bread and fruit. The best asset of this hotel was definitely its staff. From front desk staff to housekeeping, they were all very courteous and helpful. All my concerns were met with efficient service. It was definitely a big plus to my Massa Marittima experience.

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Il Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Sole

Address: Via della Liberta 43, 58024 Massa Marittima, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Massa Marittima
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 hotels in Massa Marittima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Sole 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Il Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Sole Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Il Sole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.