We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DARK AND UNFRIENDLY” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Il Sole

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Il Sole to your Saves list
Hotel Il Sole
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Liberta 43, 58024 Massa Marittima, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Massa Marittima
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“DARK AND UNFRIENDLY”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

The receptionist at this hotel was to say the least, ill-tempered and unhelpful and the hotel reflected it, dark and dingy.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CULLEN_O51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

My husband needed to go to the area for work and, being high season in Italy, everything was booked. We also needed a place that would accept dogs as this was a last minute trip and our pet sitter was booked. This was the one location with availability and would allow dogs so, despite the reviews, we booked it.

It wasn't nearly as bad as we expected. It is right in the center of Massa Marittima, a small village we would have never known about or visited otherwise. The room was large enough for us and the dogs. It was certainly older, but didn't smell of cigarettes and it was clean. The staff is not overly friendly, but accommodated our ever changing schedule because my husband's work was constantly adjusting. The location could not have been better, within walking distance of everything. We never found parking at the hotel because much of that area is pedestrian only. But we found a small lot just as you enter the town where we left the car the entire time.

Overall, it's not as bad as others have made it seem. It was just what we needed at the time and would recommend it for those who are not too choosy but want something clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smueller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Sole just as the proprietors were about to batten the hatches for the winter. We appeared to be the only guests and should, therefore, have had our choice of rooms. Instead, we were directed to a dank, smokey room at the end of the hall on the top floor. The hallway and room were redolent with the smell of rotting flesh; obviously, a mouse or rat had recently died somewhere on the floor, and the corpse had not been removed. We approached the receptionist about this but were told that no other rooms were available. We weren't about to stand for that and insisted she accomany us upstairs to smell for herself. She reluctantly agreed but claimed she could smell nothing. She only accomodated our request for a room change when we threatened to leave. The alternate room was in much better condition, though somewhat cramped. It was clean, and the bath was well appointed with all fixtures in working order. Breakfast was skimpy and poorly presented, and the breads and bakery products were stale. Prices were reasonable.

We may have run afoul of substitute reception staff in the low season, but a reputable hotelier needs to make sure his/her clients are treated properly. We're not particular people but feel we were treated very shabbily and were served an awful breakfast. No complaints about room (at least the one that didn't stink of dead things), prices or location. But if we had to do it again, we'd stay at the Girifalco -- a much better hotel at the bottom of the hill.

  • Liked — Location, price
  • Disliked — Smell/cleanliness issue, unhelpful/insulting reception staff
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BagnoCaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Massa Marittima hotels

Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2007

We are a young couple (German and Mexican), We were knowing the Tuscany and we found this hotel so disapointing.

Very old, they really should do something with the furniture its so old, the housekeeping are making unbereable noise since 6:30 am every day, slaming doors, laughing and shouting till 10 am. They promise in the website, Parking, but the 4 days we were there all of them said it was completely full , and we were concerned because we had a rental car so we had to leave it in the street. The rooms were so moldy, the TV is like from the 70s, so the phone. The breakfast was small but ok(Bread, Yogurt, Coffe and Juice)

The man in the front desk at night is nice and helpful , anyway I wouldnt come back there and I think you can find better choices for that money $100 usd per night. Besides in the web it says that its 700 mts from the beach and its lie, its about 20 km far. We couldnt change hotel because everything was sold. Good luck

  • Liked — The pizzeria right in front of the hotel. Amazing Pizza
  • Disliked — Moldy Rooms, Noisy because of the Housekeeping in the mornings, Didnt care about the parking problem
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anquisranis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
307 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2007

I went to Massa Marittima for its annual opera festival in July. I also registered for the opera appreciation class and italian language class with the British institute of Florence. Both of these classes were taught at Massa Marittima's Seminario Domus Bernardiana. I registered too late and could not secure a room at the seminario. The British Institute of Florence reserved this hotel for me.

Hotel Il Sole was very centrally located, just a few steps from Piazza Garibaldi, the main square in Massa Marittima. I checked into a double room for single use. Frankly speaking, the hotel looked rather old. It was clean and tidy. The only problem I had was with the drainage inside the shower. It was rather slow and I had to rush every time to make sure the shower pan did not overfill. Breakfast was adequate with yogurt, bread and fruit. The best asset of this hotel was definitely its staff. From front desk staff to housekeeping, they were all very courteous and helpful. All my concerns were met with efficient service. It was definitely a big plus to my Massa Marittima experience.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank singinggigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Massa Marittima hotels
0.3 mi away
La Fenice Park Hotel
La Fenice Park Hotel
#3 of 16 in Massa Marittima
4.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Duca del Mare
Hotel Duca del Mare
#6 of 16 in Massa Marittima
4.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Massa Vecchia
Hotel Massa Vecchia
#1 of 16 in Massa Marittima
4.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Pian Dei Mucini Resort
Pian Dei Mucini Resort
#2 of 16 in Massa Marittima
4.0 of 5 stars 286 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Aurora
Casa Aurora
#3 of 15 in Massa Marittima
4.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Residenza d'Epoca Palazzo Malfatti
Residenza d'Epoca Palazzo Malfat...
#2 of 37 in Massa Marittima
5.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Sole

Address: Via della Liberta 43, 58024 Massa Marittima, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Massa Marittima
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Massa Marittima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Sole 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Il Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Sole Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing