We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Badia a Coltibuono

Save Saved
You added Badia a Coltibuono to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Badia a Coltibuono
2.0 of 5 Farmhouse   |   Localita` Badia a Coltibuono, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Tres Coracoes, MG
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Badia is a historic place, with a great view, a most beautiful garden and excellent, ample, well furnished rooms. Everything shows good taste and class - as the breakfast room, for instance. The staff is attentive, and has great courtesy. The restaurant (not exactly a part of the hotel, it is a separate business, but only some 50-100 meters apart) is also very, very good. Don't miss, also, the shop at Badia's entrance; if you are lucky enough to buy a bottle of their Occhio di Pernice, a special Vin Santo made from Sangiovese, it will be worthy the trip!

Room Tip: If you have heavy luggage, beware: there is no lift to the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    24
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
53
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Breathtaking tuscan view due to the high elevation of the hotel.
This is an above average agriturismo, a common theme I have found is to have excellent rooms and marginal wine, but Coltibuono's wine is fantastic.
We made reservations at the restaurant and were ecstatic with the meal, great choices, friendly and professional wait staff.
My Dad/Step-mom wisely chose to stay longer and attend the tour over fighting tourists in Pisa this trip. Thank you to the tour guide for driving in on her day off to give us a personal tour!
Fabulous tuscan renaissance garden, very well designed and maintained.
I live in southern Italy and forgot my pillow because most hotel pillows are sub par - and was delightfully surprised - their bedding was superb. Attention to detail.
Little/no cell reception in my room, but free wifi in the office on first floor, and cell reception outside.
Enjoy the history, bring an old/cool book to donate to your room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We visited this converted monastery for a third time last week and the welcome we received was as warm and friendly as ever. The gardens are beautiful and the rooms beautifully appointed. Standing in the courtyard leading to the gardens it is as though time stood still centuries ago.

The restaurant is wonderful too.

There is so much to see and do in the area we could have stayed longer but we will return! another memorable trip!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Badia a Coltibuono. We stayed in a room overlooking the beautiful renaissance gardens. It was spacious, comfortable and charming. There's a restaurant on site as well that's very good. The location made a great base for exploring Siena, San Gimignano and other places. We took a tour of the building and wine cellar the first day, which was a nice way to start our stay, and gave us a lot of appreciation for the history of the place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

When you make the turn in to Badia from the mainroad, there's a cute little gift shop selling wine and ceramics, a great stop for some gift items. When you curve up and around the hill, all of a sudden Badia a Coltibuono comes into view and I must say it's really breathtaking. We parked by the chapel and headed in to check in at the courtyard, passing by their many sheep and their sheep dogs. When you enter the courtyard, it feels like you are entering a different century!

We stayed in the Magnolia apartment for 4 nights. It was HUGE!!! Must have been at least 1500 sq ft. We were two couples sharing the space. The Magnolia apartment is on the 2nd floor of the building and has views to both the courtyard and the back formal gardens. You enter via stairs and then have foyer at the top with loads of books, plus wine awaiting you (for purchase, of course). At the end of the foyer is one bedroom with a queen sized bed. This room overlooks the courtyard and is a bit small. It has a full bathroom plus washing machine here (no dryer). From the foyer you go up a few stairs and enter the main part of the apartment which includes a small gallery style kitchen, a huge living/dining room, and then another bedroom "wing". On the wing was a large bathroom with shower plus tub, a HUGE walkin closet, a small bedroom with one twin bed, and then a HUGE master bedroom.

The kitchen had some basics in it for cooking. Salt, pepper, great olive oil, plus pots, pans, dishes and of course, wine glasses. We cooked breakfast here almost every morning after picking up some items from the local town. Our first morning we had breakfast for 10 euro/pp with the folks staying at the B&B but I did not think it was worth the money. Cereal, yogurt, homemade cakes, cheese and cold meats. Nothing too special.

The large living room was equipped with a decent stereo system and lots of CDs. We also brought our ipod and could hook that into the system. They had a small TV but not many channels, but honestly, who needs it when you are in such a gorgeous place?

The master bedroom was huge and pretty comfortable with beautiful views of the formal gardens.

All throughout the apartment were personal touches, it's clear that this apartment is used for the family that owns the place for whenever they are in town. There are family pictures everywhere, costume jewelry in the bathrooms, nightgowns in the drawers, etc. You feel as though you are staying in someone's house, which may or may not be something that everyone would like.

A tip: this place can easily sleep 5 because of the twin bedroom. It's billed as sleeping 4, though. If you are splitting with another couple, as we did, it's a little unfair if you split the bill equally. The master bedroom is really huge, you basically have your own wing. The 2nd bedroom is quite small and feels like "maids quarters".

We had fun wandering the grounds and gardens, and swimming in their VERY cold pool! The place was quite quiet and apart from the occasional wine tour going through, it felt like our own villa. No one else was at the pool the entire day we spent there.

We did the wine tasting the first day we stayed here and it was very nice and informative. We are not wine affectionados, so cannot comment on the quality of the wine, but it tasted great to us! The tourguide was very sweet and spoke English well.

We also ate at the restaurant on site one night, which I will write up in a separate review, but all I can say is WOW.

One con: it's rather difficult to get here, lots of winding roads, no close stores/attractions. BUT if you're looking for a getaway, this very well may be the perfect place!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Had I known how enjoyable this stay would have been, I would have stayed longer. The restaurant should not be missed. Interesting history, and you should probably join in on a tour. We explored on our own because of time constraints, but will return and stay longer next time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paphos
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The restaurant is now very 'chic' but the food was still excellent and represented good value and the service was very professional.
The rooms have been added more recently and we had a superior room that was to put it bluntly austere - I know the monks lived there but at almost 200 euros a night one would have expected a little luxury. No telephone, no television not even a flower and very intermittent internet access. Breakfast was unexciting and again in fairly bleak surroundings. The whole place is fab but 1 night is probably enough !
The wine was better before it became organic !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Badia a Coltibuono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badia a Coltibuono

Address: Localita` Badia a Coltibuono, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 Specialty lodging in Gaiole in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Badia a Coltibuono 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Badia a Coltibuono is the first wine resort in Chianti, opening it's doors to travellers and visitors who want to share a truly unique experience. Here it is possible to encounter the magic of a venue, to observe the slow yet intense rhythm of a 1000 year old abbey and farm and to sleep in history. Guests can rest and relax in the magnificent italian style garden or, during the summer months, around the large open-air swimming pool. At 650 metres above sea level summers are temeprate and the villa naturally cool in the evenings. 800 Hectares of forests, crisscrossed with walking or mountain biking paths provide for a pristine natural backdrop., Facilities for house guests include internet point and 10% reduction on all meals taken at our restaurant, or enrolment in a day cooking class. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Badia a Coltibuono reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Badia a Coltibuono Hotel Gaiole In Chianti
Badia a Coltibuono Italy/Gaiole In Chianti, Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Badia a Coltibuono, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.