We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Get-a-way in heart of Chianti” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Badia a Coltibuono

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Badia a Coltibuono to your Saves list
Badia a Coltibuono
2.0 of 5 Farmhouse   |   Localita` Badia a Coltibuono, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson,Az
Level Contributor
324 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Amazing Get-a-way in heart of Chianti”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Stayed 5 nights w/ another couple in Old Granary apartment. Had priced vacational rentals and similar type properties and we are very glad we stayed at Badia. Place is beautiful, quiet and convenient to almost anything in Chianti. Staff (we dealt mostly w/ Silvia) extremely friendly and helpful. Badia is former monastery converted into B & B. Grounds-garden, pool,Old Church, wine cellars all spectactular. Our apartment had 2 br's we didnt use. very large living room, outdoor patio were we ate 3 meals. Full kitchen. We cooked 3 nights. Dinner at their restaurant was the best dinner I had in 2 weeks in Italy. I had the tasting menu. Did the wine tour. I can now see why people spend weeks in Tuscany. Badia is located in heart of Chianti. Its a very short drive to about anywhere. Siena is a straight shot down the road. We bought groceries in Siena and also in Rada. Barone Ricasola winery worth the visit. Remember most wineries want you to call in advance. Breakfast was full of pasteries, fruit, meats, cheeses etc. very very good. On sight computer room if need to stay connected. We had washer in our apartment. One of the nicest places Ive ever stayed when you factor in where you are. Rooms not opulent but very nice and decent size by European standards.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    32
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
74
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for three nights as part of our honeymoon. All I can say is wow! The accommodations were rustic, yet generous. The surrounding environment was one of the most peaceful places I've ever been. I am a big outdoors person and my husband and I love the simple life, so we were very much impressed with our stay here. The restaurant was the best we had during our 2 week stay in Italy! The food was exceptional, prepared perfectly, and the service was beyond compare. My husband and I have already decided that we will be returning to the inn and restaurant on our 20th anniversary! Our stay here was truly one that will live in my memory forever :)

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

We did not stay in the accommodations aswe had a villa but was recommended the Badia restaurant. Ended up dating the day walking the lovely grounds, Church, store with wine tasting. All 8 of us loved the restaurant. Amazed by the creative & delicious Pumpkin Ravioli. Regretted not ordering another order for later on - still do. We just drank a bottle of Sangiovese we enjoyed with our meal & relived some of the experience.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

This is a charming hotel, with an intriguing history, large well-furnished rooms and comfortable beds. The grounds are beautiful and the staff very helpful. The highlight of our visit was dinner at the adjacent restaurant. The 50 euro tasting menu consists of five courses, each accompanied by a different wine. The food was exquisite and the wine ranged from good to excellent. This was one of the best meals we had during our visit to Italy, and better value than most. The only downside to our experience was that the ensuite bathroom was old and seemed to be having septic problems during our stay. Whenever we flushed the toilet, it emitted a horrible smell for a half-hour afterward, a problem we resolved by shutting the bathroom door.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

When it's time to completely switch off - from the beeping handphone, Blackberry, the Google alerts, and tune into solitude, take the turn off that says Badia a Coltibuono. Tucked away off the main road somewhere between Florence and Sienna and amidst some of the most God blessed places on earth, this retreat promises time to unwind, eat, drink and simply feast on the loveliness of the Tuscan countryside.
If you are prepared to "slow food" your lunch at half past 2 in the afternoon you will enjoy the cooking program they offer.Here, resident chef, Andrea, makes you roll up your sleeves, slice, dice and make your own pasta, in a fun and entertaining but 'you will learn something' way.
Not for the clock watchers, those uptight with keeping to the schedule and in a hurry!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

This is just an incredible place. Our family of four stayed in the granary and loved it. It really was the highlight of a great family trip to Italy. There is beauty everywhere you look. Our teenage and tweener daughters were taken by it - one of them was inspired to start writing a mystery in one of the large public rooms. I could see someone accustomed to white glove conditions not finding it to their liking, as it feels like a place in the country, not a sanitized hotel room. I don't know what the regular rooms are like, as the granary, where we stayed, is a large 4-bedroom apartment with plenty of space (including books, kitchen). But we were knocked out. When you add in the history of the place, the wine, the still-functioning church, the cloister courtyard with a well, the lovely breakfast room, the view over the valley, the secluded pool, and the unbelievable restaurant - for us, it was heaven.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

I can't believe the negative reviews posted by some guests. The buildings go back nine centuries.This place is steeped in history, you're sleeping where the monks slept in previous centuries, so how can you expect "standard" hotel accommodation? This is much more interesting and enjoyable. The view is stunning over the valley, the restaurant excellent, the gardens are magnificent, there's a lovely swimming pool, the staff were friendly and helpful. Okay, so there's a slight musty smell around the cellars, but that's what you expect from cellars.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaiole in Chianti
2.2 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
3.8 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 16 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 309 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 16 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel
Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel
#3 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
7.6 mi away
La Pieve Marsina
La Pieve Marsina
#2 of 37 in Gaiole in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
7.6 mi away
Borgo Argenina
Borgo Argenina
#1 of 37 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 stars 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Badia a Coltibuono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badia a Coltibuono

Address: Localita` Badia a Coltibuono, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Gaiole in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Badia a Coltibuono 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Badia a Coltibuono is the first wine resort in Chianti, opening it's doors to travellers and visitors who want to share a truly unique experience. Here it is possible to encounter the magic of a venue, to observe the slow yet intense rhythm of a 1000 year old abbey and farm and to sleep in history. Guests can rest and relax in the magnificent italian style garden or, during the summer months, around the large open-air swimming pool. At 650 metres above sea level summers are temeprate and the villa naturally cool in the evenings. 800 Hectares of forests, crisscrossed with walking or mountain biking paths provide for a pristine natural backdrop., Facilities for house guests include internet point and 10% reduction on all meals taken at our restaurant, or enrolment in a day cooking class. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Badia a Coltibuono reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Badia a Coltibuono Hotel Gaiole In Chianti
Badia a Coltibuono Italy/Gaiole In Chianti, Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Badia a Coltibuono, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.