We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent wedding venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castello di Meleto

Save Saved
You added Castello di Meleto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Castello di Meleto
Loc. Meleto | 53013, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent wedding venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My husband and I were married in Castello di Meleto last month. We cannot recommend this venue enough for a wedding. We booked out the entire venue over three days as we had approximately 80 guests over the three days.

The venue is absolutely stunning. The Castle itself with the breathtaking views make this an exceptionally romantic wedding venue. The wine is also second to none. All our guests loved the wine, as well the wine tour (Gabriella who did the wine tour for our guests was excellent).

Our wedding planner Katia’s organisation during the entire process was excellent. She was super helpful and efficient, meaning that the wedding days went extremely smoothly, without any problems. We had an Indian wedding and although this was the first time the venue had held a full-on Indian ceremony, you would never have known given the quality of service! We had three caterers over the three days and the food was delicious throughout. We would in particular highly recommend Alberto from Class Ricevimenti who catered for the wedding day itself. The service was exceptional and food delicious.

All our guests had an amazing time and we completely blown away with the venue, food, wine and how professionally the wedding was organised. We will definitely be returning again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    37
    15
    12
    2
See reviews for
24
79
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Talk about a CHILLY reception!
"Um, no you can't buy the paintings that are labeled and numbered all around the property. Don't be ridiculous. We do that for fun to confuse you."
"Don't go in there. Or there. Or there."
"NO, you can't tour the wine cellar. What would ever give you that idea!"
"Get out of the castle immediately." "Sorry, I didn't SEE a 'No Entry' sign. The door was open." "Get out!" [These foreigners who drive up to a castle that's well advertised and THINK they can actually get to look at it. Preposterous!]

The only single redeeming quality about this property is definitely NOT their wine, but the highly informative wine steward who furnished us with an interesting wine tasting.
The wine was pretty boring, unfortunately.
With so many places to visit in Chianti, WHY waste you time here?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillehammer, Norway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The staff at Meleto seemed somewhat not interested in our presence.

The guided tour was delivered with no passion for the place. Nothing was said about the wine making during the tour, and too little was told during the following wine tasting.

The wine was pretty good though, and the castle is amazing with it's location. Absolutely a place to visit - and maybe you will have more luck with your reception than we did!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My daughters and I spent an afternoon at the Castle for a wine tasting and tour. It was awesome. Anthony Freveletti was our host. Not only is the Castle fascinating and filled with history and relics, but the tour itself was both enjoyable and informative. Anthony has a very good understanding, and even more importantly, a passion, for wine! He made sure we understood the importance of the Chianti special label for the region. We definitely walked away with some basic knowledge of wine and the importance of nature in it's development. And the Castle is gorgeous! The property surrounding the Castle is breathtaking! This was something I'm really happy we fit into our schedule. It was a "not to be missed" afternoon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were here in the low season and we stayed only one night. We were very excited to stay in a castle with the convenience of a restaurant and Encanto on the property. We were very disappointed when we got there and realized that the restaurant was closed, the Encanto was also closed and we had no access to the castle other then a short, cold tour. Everything in the area was closed so we went to the local coop to get dinner. Our 'wine tasting' consisted of sitting in the reception area and trying two wines while the staff was answering phones and doing other tasks. The rooms were freezing and just wouldn't warm up. I don't think I would have been as disappointed if they had told us these facts when we were booking. The view was amazing though.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I went here for a lovers getaway ( we also traveled to Florence, Rome and Venice) but wanted to stay at a real authentic Italian castle in Tuscany. We found it. The biggest appeal was having our own apartment. It was so fun, I felt like I was really living in Italy! We were also there for his birthday, so one day we went into Castellano, a town about 2 miles away, shopped for fresh pasta, sauce, sausage, vegetables, wine, and pastries, and I cooked his birthday dinner! We sat by the window by candlelight looking out over the vineyards. The views are great. They have free wifi, and also a restaurant. We thought the food was very good, however the "restaurant" usually consists of one or two more groups of guests staying there. It is very quiet, and I usually prefer a more lively setting in Europe, but the food was good. The trickiest part was IF you wanted to go out to dinner at night, you always had a bit of a drive into town, and restaurants do not stay open late. If you wanted to have a few glasses of wine, you must be careful as the roads are very dark and windy getting back at night.
Overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed here for two nights during our honeymoon. This was the most beautiful location, most peaceful, and had incredible views. The winery was excellent. Highly recommend the salt-water pool--best view of the compound. Learn about the history of chianti wine, and drink a lot!

Finally, ask Gabriella about a dinner recommendation in town; we drove to Gaiole (a 5 minute drive) for dinner. It was in town, per se, but up on a winding dirt road, and at what appeared to be a large house. The restaurant included many different areas--a fancy bar, a traditional pizzeria, an outdoor couch sitting area, and a more upscale dinner spot. We had drinks inside and outside, then had dinner upstairs. The dinner included the most magical pasta, wine, and desserts, thanks to Gabriella's recommendation!

Room Tip: Room #3 is very, very large and has an excellent bathroom. Window faces the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castello di Meleto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Meleto

Address: Loc. Meleto | 53013, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 31 Specialty lodging in Gaiole in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castello di Meleto is in the center of an ideal geographical triangle formed by the cities of Siena, Florence and Arezzo. Surrounded by six beautiful houses, painstakingly restored in 2000, preserving its rustic Tuscan style. Each house has a private garden or terrace that overlooks the countryside surrounded by green vineyards and olive groves.Easily accessible and close to the accommodation we have two infinity pools from which you can enjoy an unforgettable view. In the basement of the castle, a real historical monument, a charming wine shop allows you to taste our wines, our organic extra virgin olive oil and salami of Cinta Senese from our farm. On request we can organize banquets in medieval and Renaissance style in the picturesque setting of the frescoed rooms. In addition, daily guided tours of the ground floor of the castle, the eighteenth-century theater, the dungeons with ancient cellars, prisons and the secret tunnel to escape from the Castle .. will make you to live an unique and unforgettable experience in a real castle in the Chianti area.Daily walks are possible on roads and paths in the area.From the same roads, the "Eroica”, an fascinating extreme racing with vintage bikes, takes place every year.The staff of the Reception of the Castle will be pleased to arrange excursions departing from the Castello di Meleto to major art centers such as Florence, Siena, San Gimignano, Arezzo and Val D'Orcia. On the territory of the Castle of Meleto guests can enjoy cycling, horse riding and walking, immersed in pristine nature of the Chianti hills. Our restaurant, “ La Fornace di Meleto” , at the bottom of the hill, offers typical Tuscan menu and innovative dishes.The Castle's history is also a history of Weddings, such as those of Alberto Ridolfi's daughter Lucrezia and, in 1852, Baron Bettino's daughter Elisabetta: it could also become the history of Your wedding, against a background imbued with extraordinary beauty.Meleto Castle can offer Religious ceremonies in its catholic church, the Pieve di Spaltenna.The Celebrations can be organized as you wish: the entire Piano Nobile (a series of furnished and frescoed rooms) can be put at Guests' disposal together with the garden, a splendid terrace overlooking the unspoilt panorama of the Chianti hills for enjoying a touch of sun, and the Stables ( Scuderia in Italian) , where guests can relax or let themself go in dancing.We specialise in providing the perfect atmosphere for a truly unique party, whether a Tuscan Castle wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Castello di Meleto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Meleto Hotel Gaiole In Chianti
Castello Di Meleto Italy/Gaiole In Chianti, Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castello di Meleto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.