We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful villa, wonderful host, breathtaking views!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Vistarenni

Save Saved
You added Villa Vistarenni to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Vistarenni
Localita Vistarenni, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Beautiful villa, wonderful host, breathtaking views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My fiancé and I recently traveled to Italy and spent a few days in Tuscany looking for a wedding venue. We had done a significant amount of research prior to leaving, and I had fallen in love with Villa Vistarenni from the pictures, TripAdvisor reviews, and a new pen pal who had her wedding there as well. We had the opportunity to stay overnight there and meet with Elisabetta upon our arrival. She was very welcoming and answered all of our questions about the property. The villa and its history is fascinating and it has kept so much of its character that we really value. Upon walking up to the chapel, my heart skipped a beat as I knew this was the place I wanted to get married. Not only is this a perfect location for a getaway in Tuscany, if you are looking at having your wedding or other special event in Italy, this is a great choice! We will be getting married there next fall and will be sure to leave an updated review. Elisabetta was so kind and left us a delicious breakfast in the morning, and we enjoyed a bottle of the villa's own Chianti Classico the night before. We also had the opportunity to do a food tasting with the villa's suggested caterer that Elisabetta set up for us. We cannot say enough great things about Katia at Terra di Siena Weddings - we so look forward to our reception food! We were so pleased with our experience that we will be booking out the accommodations in full for our closest family and friends. We look forward to our return!

Room Tip: Every room is beautiful here. The main villa is more luxurious, the dependancies/cottages more rusti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    23
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
23
33
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Its a beautiful location. would love to go back on holiday. Perfect for a romantic get away or wedding. we filmed a Norwegian TV show there. Elisabetta the owner did an amazing job, and solved all our problems regarding production.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed at this fab villa for 7 days for me niece's wedding.
We had the whole villa booked out for the week for allthe wedding guests.
The building is amazing, so much space & beautifully decorated, I had a fantastic stay here, one of the best holidays ever.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband, son and I spent six days at the Villa and were made to feel so welcome by Elisabetta and Caterina that we will definately be returning in two years time. Nothing was too much trouble, both Elisabetta and Caterina were extremely patient with our almost non-existent Italian and the other guests at the time were welcoming and extremely friendly. We were able to use the big kitchen to make cups of tea or dinner at any time. The atmosphere was so relaxed that we felt as though we were at home. There was company if you wanted it or privacy when you wanted it. The Villa itself is magnificent. Our stay there was something we will always look back on with much pleasure. We cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This villa was absolutely amazing. We got married here in August 2012 and everything was beyond my expectations. Elizabetta did an amazing job of coordinating of our wedding, from the photographer, to the caterers, to making sure our stay at the villa for the week was comfortable and beautiful.

There were fresh flowers upon our arrival, the maid service was fantastic, she catered to our every need, the villa was clean and stunningly decorated, the wine was delicious, the wine tasting was expertly done, and the scenery was beautiful, the pool was clean and warm, the rooms were gorgeous. I could not have dreamed of a more perfect setting for our wedding, and for the week preceding it. Very reasonably priced and I have nothing negative to say about our experience.

Again, Elisabetta was fantastic and she made our trip, including our friends and family, an amazing and unforgettable one. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: All rooms were amazing - tons of space and gorgeously decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Danish TV-production arrived at Villa Vistarenni (app 43; crew and stars) in October to produce another season of 'Stjernerne på slottet' - and I do not have the words to describe the very heartfelt and warm welcome we felt. Elisabetta, the owner, are one of this world special people for whom there always is a solution or possibility for a challenge. A tv-production is large in numbers of people and equipment - (can feel like an elephant in a glass store) and we felt so very much at home very much due to the personality of Elisabetta and her lovely staff.
The villa is located with the beautiful view and the rooms are lovely. I can so much recomment this place - and the lovely little Radda in Chianti is worth a trip or two :)
Love to return - with or without work - and hope more will enjoy a stay at Villa Vistarenni.
Anne Juul, tv production manager at Metronome

Room Tip: Regarding fitness centre - if you are up for tennis and swinning then you are fine :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

While recently renting an apartment in Cortona for the month of October, my husband and I decided to tour the Chianti region for a couple of days. As it is best to not be far from your accommodation when visiting wineries, we booked one night at Villa Vistarenni and were delighted with our choice. Just wish we had stayed longer!

We had no problem finding the villa using our Garmin Nuvi, and particularly enjoyed the forested drive after the turn off. Yes, the property is off the beaten track – but that is what we loved about it: tranquil with gorgeous views of the Chianti countryside and Vistarenni’s vineyards. We were not interested in a spa or hotel feel – so this was just perfect for us.

The owner, Elisabetta, was most gracious and accommodating when she met us on our arrival. She provided us with restaurant recommendations and particular points of interest for our drive the following day.

The villa itself is spectacular. It has been beautifully restored and furnished while maintaining the historical value. Our room, the Principe Strozzi, was quite large and well appointed with a lovely writing desk facing the magnificent view. The updated bathroom was also spacious with a shower/bathtub and plenty of hot water. And we were most comfortable with the temperature of the room.

Our only regret was that we didn’t spend more time at Villa Vistarenni so that we would have had a chance to tour the cellars and take in more of the Villa’s history and views. But that is the perfect excuse for returning some time very soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Vistarenni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Vistarenni

Address: Localita Vistarenni, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Gaiole in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa is in the Chianti area, at 4 km from Radda in Chianti, one of the most famous town of the Chianti region. The Villa from 17th suits those who want to spend some time in the countryside and still want to enjoy the beauties and comforts on which the aristocratic Tuscan families modelled their houses. 
The richness of details and the period furniture of the rooms will give you a sense of belonging, as if your life were linked, were it for a short time, to the real nature of this beautiful house. It preserves the original historical architecture and the antique atmosphere of the people who lived here in the past. The frescos, the decorated ceiling and the golden bureaus, painted beams, restored antiques and precious draperies, paintings and ancient prints are a perfect mix of antique furniture and objects of design: they all render this place elegant and tidy but at the same time, extremely delicate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Vistarenni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Vistarenni Italy/Gaiole In Chianti, Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Vistarenni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.