We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Honeymoon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castellare de' Noveschi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Castellare de' Noveschi to your Saves list
Castellare de' Noveschi
Via Padre Chiantini, 12, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
“Amazing Honeymoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

The most wonderful place to honeymoon! My wife and I can't say enough to express how amazing our stay was. Barbara made our stay perfect with the personal touch. The vineyards and olive trees made it feel like a little piece of paradise.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    42
    5
    7
    6
See reviews for
6
192
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

This was our second time staying at castellare de' noveschi and it matched up to our first stay! The place is amazing! Staff are very helpful and are eager to please! Definately worth a trip here you will be sure to have the best holiday!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

This place is a hidden gem in the hills of Tuscany. There are beautiful seating areas throughout the compound, including a pool, a sunny breakfast terrace, and a small fountain yard.
There is a lovely trattoria in walking distance (closed on Wednesdays).
Whilst the decor of the rooms is exquisite, with tidy bathrooms, we did not sleep very well due to the high temperatures in August. Our room had no A/C and our friends had a room where the A/C was hardly working. Opening a window was not a great idea due to mosquitos.
Still a wonderful place overall and we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel was booked for us as part of a trip across Chianti. We could not have been more pleased. The bedroom was amazing, it was in an old hunters lodge that has been very sympathetically refurbished. The young woman we dealt with could not have been more helpful. The gardens were lovely, as was the pool, with lots of comfy seats to rest and read. The very nice lounge had cake, sweets and drinks freely available. All in all it felt very luxurious and we felt very well looked after.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castellare9, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Castellare de' Noveschi, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Helen S,

we thank you very much and we really appreciate all the beatiful words that gives the real impression and the right feeling that our Guests have had here at our Relais!

Looking forward to host you here again we wish you all our best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

San Sano in Gaiole in Chianti, Tuscany was almost our final stop in Italy, but was one of our absolute favorites. This B&B was, by far, the nicest place we stayed at on our honeymoon in Italy.

Our hostess Donatella was amazingly friendly, patient and helpful. As soon as I mentioned that it was my wife's birthday, she immediately brought us a bottle of Prosecco. She was always available via phone and offered advice whenever we asked. Also, they offered an extraordinary spa treatment in a building dating back 800 years, in what was one of the coolest experiences on our trip. And they gave us a complementary visit to one of the local vineyards, offering a variety of different Chianti wines and olive oils.

When you're driving here, make sure to use your GPS - it will be impossible to find without it. The town is very small and the GPS might not recognize the address, but you'll be fine as long as you type in "San Sano" in Gaiole in Chianti and the street name. One thing we'd recommend is driving out to Siena and exploring it for a few hours at least.

The views here are breathtaking - everywhere you look, all you see is rolling, beautiful hills, filled with vineyards and olive trees. There is one local restaurant within a three minute walk, called La Grotta della Rana, and the food there was fantastic.

This part of our trip was the most relaxing. We'd absolutely recommend it to any of our friends!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castellare9, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Castellare de' Noveschi, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Albert K,
thank you very much for for all these beautiful words that gratify us and make us satisfied of our job!
We are sure that your message will help other people to plan their stay in our charming Castellare, a special place where live exclusive and unique experiences!

Hoping see you very soon we wish you all our best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

A warm welcome by the ladies in charge,a very well appointed junior suite,room service with a hearty breakfast! This is a very good place to explore the Chianti area and even the whole of Tuscany.I strongly recommend it.Only comment,the bed mattress could be better.

Room Tip: Junior suites are the best.Spacious,with antique furniture and a very pleasant ambience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castellare9, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Castellare de' Noveschi, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Angelo1951,
thank you so much for your comment and mostly for your suggestion! Our task is to improve ourselves to offer the best service...always!

We hope to have you as our Guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This place is located in san sano, you should haves one knowledge of the Italian language , basic words are fine.
One restaurant(trattoria)in town, totally relaxing here.
Great place to get away,in the middle of nowhere, and yet so close to everything, build in 1200s,
Glad we styled here, grazie and ciao

Room Tip: Apartments are tri level , junior suite is spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castellare9, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Castellare de' Noveschi, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Volker L ,

we thank you so much and we are very satisfied about the description that you made of this place, calling it "Sleepy town"! San Sano is a quiet village where spending some peaceful time and we try to do our best to satisfy our Guests!

Looking forward to see you very soon we wish you all our best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castellare de' Noveschi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castellare de' Noveschi

Address: Via Padre Chiantini, 12, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Gaiole in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This gorgeous and intimate inn/wellness center was originally a monastery from the 1200s. It is in the picturesque region of Chianti in Tuscany. Stunning rooms and bathrooms. Restaurant features fresh and organic food from their farm. They have a beautiful pool and the surroundings are exquisite. I would like to write a proper review if you add this accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Escapio so you can book your Castellare de' Noveschi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castellare De` Noveschi Hotel Gaiole In Chianti
Castellare De' Noveschi Italy/Gaiole In Chianti, Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castellare de' Noveschi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.