We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and wine therapy...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castellare de' Noveschi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Castellare de' Noveschi to your Saves list
Castellare de' Noveschi
Via Padre Chiantini, 12, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Peace and wine therapy...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Wonderfully peaceful stay in a beautiful small village,in deep chianti country, breakfast served on a silver tray by the pool, an incredible wine therapy experience (candles, wines salts, wine, music, bubbles). Two great restaurants within a stones through and surrounded by vineyards (and tasting opportunities) and stunning old Tuscan towns.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noveschi, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Castellare de' Noveschi, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Bristolcalling,
let me thank you so much for your visit and for the beautiful words you spent for our Castellare de 'Noveschi Relais and all of us.
Many thanks again, and hope to see you soon!

Elisabetta Buchetti
AD Castellare de' Noveschi Relais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    42
    5
    7
    6
See reviews for
6
192
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

De Noveschi is a small wellness B and B positioned in the centre of the rolling hillsides of Chianti surrounded on all sides by vineyards. There was an expectation from the pictures of a hotel with a large degree of real estate given the outdoor swimming pool. Unfortunately this is not the case. If the weather is inclement then you will be forced to take your breakfast in your room so just be prepared for this.
It's not all bad though! The rooms are very clean and the girls can't do enough for you at breakfast time. Out of the hotels we visited this hotel provided the best breakfast service.
The small village that this B and B resides in has two restaurants. Both are as good as each other with regards to food but the one at the top of the hill seemed to be more friendly to English speaking guests. We turned up one night for a drink of wine having eaten at the other. Not only did we get the wine but they gave us a free starter to boot.
Oh yes before I forget!.... If you get to choose your room before you arrive make sure you request one of the rooms in the main complex (this could probably be done on your requests page during booking). There is one room located right next to the reception room. We were unlucky enough to get this one. Although the girls do their best to keep the noise to a minimum you will invariably be woken up by the opening of the main door and the run up of the printer as it knocks out the previous nights bookings.
I would definitely visit again though armed with what I know now. It is a good base to both to enjoy the rolling countryside and to use as a staging post to mount your visits to Sienna which is only about a 45 minute drive south. Friendly, clean and helpful!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noveschi, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Castellare de' Noveschi, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear r4rotary,

we do appreciate all your comments about our property and its territory. In the Chianti we all always love to let people enjoy its feeling and you described it very well. So, now that you know everything about us and of our environment, come back soon and visit us!

Thanks a lot from San Sano!

Elisabetta Buchetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ticehurst, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

There are no words to describe how wonderfully peaceful and relaxing this hotel is. We spent an amazing week there and could not have asked for a better place to go and unwind. The service was excellent and freindly at all times. The wine therapy is also not to be missed. All in all a fabulous place and we would certainly go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Direttore at Castellare de' Noveschi, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear DavidA,
let me thank you so much for your visit and for the beautiful words you spent for our Castellare de 'Noveschi Relais and all of us. Our staff will be very happy to convey your message, including our consultant in Lucca Mr. Massimo Berti owner of Hotel Consult, the company has been working with us in hotel consulting, with whom we are committed daily to guarantee our guests a quality stay.
Many thanks again, and hope to see you soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavík
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We arrived there late at night and Barbara took real good care of us. Phoned us while we where driving down from lake Garda - just to make sure that we could find it. "Stop at the Green frog in the middle of the town". The town is not that big but the athmosphere and the staff at this place is so wonderful. The rooms are very nice, big and very cozy. Barbara took care of some booking for us to restaurants and man the restaurant the first evening is the best meal that I have ever had and she also booked us some whine tour and some suggestions for visits in the area.

If you would like to stay at a very quiet place with so good hospitality with outstanding service then you must chose this place.

Barbara you are great!!!!!!

Room Tip: Every room is good at this place!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Direttore at Castellare de' Noveschi, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Mr. Ingisund,

no words are enough for thanking you for the excellent comment you sent us.

When our guests remember with so much pleasure their holiday, it means for us to reap the result of working hard.

To ensure the best service, we cooperate with Hotel Consult in Lucca, a hotel consulting company that helps us in the daily organization and in our professional development .

I will share your beautiful review with our staff, without exception, because your nice words will be source of satisfaction and continuity.

Do not hesitate to contact us when you decide to come back again to the Chianti !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Nice location to detox from everything, wine taste, eat good food, relax. Castelare in Chianti was brilliant and the tastes and images seen were all to remember for long long time after the departure. The hotel is in a tiny village which is amazing and rellaxing from the busy big cities and long hours of work. We had a superior room because it was Easter so all junior suites were booked but guests that used the suites were thrilled. Our room was a bit standard but the spa and the lovely hotel manager Barbara made the difference. She is a lovely person and a true asset to the company!! We loved you Barbara!!! Our package included a wine mineral jacuzzi treatment which was fab in a beautiful setting and a massage (massage was a bit average but everything is really nice in the hotel and the region so this is a minor issue). Breakfast in the restaurant's garden amongst herbal plants with thyme and lavender smells was a brilliant experience even if the variety of food was rellatevely limited.

Definately will go back and recomend it to others!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

This little charlet is located in the very nice and quiet chianti region in toskany. It is a great place for relaxing, spa and just enjoying the area. The rooms are wonderful decorated in the toskany style, clean and comfortable.
@Barbara (Hotelmanager) thank you again for everything and that you made our stay just wonderful :-) We will come back!!!
Cheers Maike & Mano

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sao paulo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

I went with my partner to spend the New year..The dinner was perfect. Delicious food,..excelent choice of a music trio with jazz, 60, 50's music with a singer wich was making the evening realy special... our camera wasnt just a camera, there was a living room, beautifully decorated, antique but clean tast at the same time...The heating under the floor just made me forget that was winter...good surprise. Outside, good view, in middle of a real borgo.....lovely..

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castellare de' Noveschi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castellare de' Noveschi

Address: Via Padre Chiantini, 12, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Gaiole in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This gorgeous and intimate inn/wellness center was originally a monastery from the 1200s. It is in the picturesque region of Chianti in Tuscany. Stunning rooms and bathrooms. Restaurant features fresh and organic food from their farm. They have a beautiful pool and the surroundings are exquisite. I would like to write a proper review if you add this accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline and Escapio so you can book your Castellare de' Noveschi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castellare De` Noveschi Hotel Gaiole In Chianti
Castellare De' Noveschi Italy/Gaiole In Chianti, Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castellare de' Noveschi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.