We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“castle in tuscany” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castello di Tornano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Castello di Tornano to your Saves list
Castello di Tornano
4.0 of 5 Castle   |   Localita Tornano | Siena, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Santa Fe
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“castle in tuscany”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in the tower in the Mary Stuarda room. Wonderful views of the countryside and access to the tower's outdoor deck, a nice place to relax and do a watercolor. The room decor could be freshened/lightened, as the colors are old fashioned heavy damask deep reds blues golds. Breakfast is served in the restaurant, very nice, good wait staff. Had dinner there one night and it was very good. Beautiful old cypress trees guarding the pool area, and plenty of outdoor spaces to relax and unwind. About 5k outside Gaiole. Beautifully situated for great bike rides and adventures.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    49
    16
    12
    5
See reviews for
39
112
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Castello di Tornano will always be a very special spot to me. What a romantic place. I was travelling through this area with my friend when my now husband showed up and surprised me with a proposal in this castle. The castle is very interesting, and ancient! The grounds are beautiful. I loved the swimming pool located in the castle’s moat! We also enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub on top of the castle tower. The trip getting there is beautiful! We rented a car in Sienna and thoroughly enjoyed exploring the Gaiole countryside. This spot is also easy to find. The castle is nicely isolated, tucked away up a winding road, surrounded hills. We stayed in the Romeo and Juliet room which was beautiful equip with a four poster bed and lavish bathroom. And the morning breakfast provided is quite elegant. For all this the price is very reasonable. I really hope to return again someday.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond upon Thames, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Our family of four stayed for one night and this wonderful castle. We stayed in one of the apartments and had a huge room downstairs for us and a room upstairs for our sons. There was a kitchenette, dining table and living room. The castle itself was amazing and the staff was very accommodating. We were there with another family and in total we were four adults and five children. Our first night we sat in the main sitting area in the castle and the brought us wine and appetisers while we waited for dinner. We had the whole sitting area to ourselves we felt like we were in our own living room at home. Dinner that evening was excellent and the wine was outstanding. I only wish we would have been there for a week instead of one night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Ok, I don't give five star reviews often, but this one earns it.
This place is spectacular and is a must see!
We took the train from Rome to Montevarchi and cabbed over in the late afternoon. The views of the drive in the Tuscany region are breathtaking!!
The castello is located high on a hill and the combination of location, views, service, food and wine make this my clear favorite in Tuscany. I will be back!
Oh yes, you will not believe the rooms here..... There are more like villas and are large!! Enjoy the wine and come in the summer for pool side wine and Tuscany sunshine!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed here for four nights on our honeymoon and had an amazing experience.

We stayed in one of the 'classic' rooms (the cheapest ones they offer) so we were on the main floor but our room was still a decent size and the bathroom was great.... we got a peak at some of the other rooms that were way bigger but ours was definitely good value for money as we got to take advantage of everything the hotel had to offer!

We took the cooking class which was phenomenal - it was just the 2 of us which was nice and we learned a ton and ate soo much!! Definitely amazing.

We loved the food here - ate here 3 nights out of 4. Yes the prix fixe may be a bit pricey - but you don't have to eat all 4 courses - if you eat less courses they charge you per course which ended up being way cheaper and on par cost-wise with other restaurants in the area - but with better food!

The views were amazing and it was so relaxing - it was a bit too cold to use the pool but the pool was nice with lots of great lawn chairs. We did day trips exploring tuscany - you definitely need a rental car - but it was a good location so it was easy to get around tuscany if you don't mind driving on windy roads :)

The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was simple, but good.

Highly recommend this place... we had a phenomenal time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Castello di Tornano is a wonderful spot, a couple of hours drive from Florence. Originally a 12th century castle, the main building is the hotel. We stayed in one of the apartments, lovely 2 bedroom, with everything we needed. Beautiful pool area, there are many wineries nearby, or day trip to Siena, etc. Service at Castello was excellent, but the best part was the food!. Breakfast was a substantial buffet, dinner was a set menu, created by the chef, sometimes just an hour before service started. Wonderful menu and outstanding service every night, sat outside as weather was perfect every night. I'll definitely make another visit to Castello di Tornano.

Room Tip: The apartment was ideal for a family - we were mother, two daughters and grandchild...lots of room f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Make sure you stay in the castle- the apartments are extremely basic and the owners have not invested the little time/ money it would take to make it feel more homely. This failure by the owners to invest just a little more attention to the hotel is also demonstrated by the half hearted attempt to make comfortable relaxing spaces and failure to spruce up the run down tennis court. Such a pity because the setting is breathtaking, the towns and restaurants nearby so picturesque and romantic and there is much scope for this tired hotel to be an absolutely gem.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castello di Tornano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Tornano

Address: Localita Tornano | Siena, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Gaiole in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castello di Tornano 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Escapio and Tingo so you can book your Castello di Tornano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Tornano Hotel Gaiole In Chianti
Castello Di Tornano Italy/Gaiole In Chianti, Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castello di Tornano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.