We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castello di Tornano

Save Saved
You added Castello di Tornano to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castello di Tornano
Localita Tornano | Siena, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Richmond upon Thames, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Our family of four stayed for one night and this wonderful castle. We stayed in one of the apartments and had a huge room downstairs for us and a room upstairs for our sons. There was a kitchenette, dining table and living room. The castle itself was amazing and the staff was very accommodating. We were there with another family and in total we were four adults and five children. Our first night we sat in the main sitting area in the castle and the brought us wine and appetisers while we waited for dinner. We had the whole sitting area to ourselves we felt like we were in our own living room at home. Dinner that evening was excellent and the wine was outstanding. I only wish we would have been there for a week instead of one night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    46
    16
    11
    5
See reviews for
37
106
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Ok, I don't give five star reviews often, but this one earns it.
This place is spectacular and is a must see!
We took the train from Rome to Montevarchi and cabbed over in the late afternoon. The views of the drive in the Tuscany region are breathtaking!!
The castello is located high on a hill and the combination of location, views, service, food and wine make this my clear favorite in Tuscany. I will be back!
Oh yes, you will not believe the rooms here..... There are more like villas and are large!! Enjoy the wine and come in the summer for pool side wine and Tuscany sunshine!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed here for four nights on our honeymoon and had an amazing experience.

We stayed in one of the 'classic' rooms (the cheapest ones they offer) so we were on the main floor but our room was still a decent size and the bathroom was great.... we got a peak at some of the other rooms that were way bigger but ours was definitely good value for money as we got to take advantage of everything the hotel had to offer!

We took the cooking class which was phenomenal - it was just the 2 of us which was nice and we learned a ton and ate soo much!! Definitely amazing.

We loved the food here - ate here 3 nights out of 4. Yes the prix fixe may be a bit pricey - but you don't have to eat all 4 courses - if you eat less courses they charge you per course which ended up being way cheaper and on par cost-wise with other restaurants in the area - but with better food!

The views were amazing and it was so relaxing - it was a bit too cold to use the pool but the pool was nice with lots of great lawn chairs. We did day trips exploring tuscany - you definitely need a rental car - but it was a good location so it was easy to get around tuscany if you don't mind driving on windy roads :)

The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was simple, but good.

Highly recommend this place... we had a phenomenal time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Castello di Tornano is a wonderful spot, a couple of hours drive from Florence. Originally a 12th century castle, the main building is the hotel. We stayed in one of the apartments, lovely 2 bedroom, with everything we needed. Beautiful pool area, there are many wineries nearby, or day trip to Siena, etc. Service at Castello was excellent, but the best part was the food!. Breakfast was a substantial buffet, dinner was a set menu, created by the chef, sometimes just an hour before service started. Wonderful menu and outstanding service every night, sat outside as weather was perfect every night. I'll definitely make another visit to Castello di Tornano.

Room Tip: The apartment was ideal for a family - we were mother, two daughters and grandchild...lots of room f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Make sure you stay in the castle- the apartments are extremely basic and the owners have not invested the little time/ money it would take to make it feel more homely. This failure by the owners to invest just a little more attention to the hotel is also demonstrated by the half hearted attempt to make comfortable relaxing spaces and failure to spruce up the run down tennis court. Such a pity because the setting is breathtaking, the towns and restaurants nearby so picturesque and romantic and there is much scope for this tired hotel to be an absolutely gem.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

My husband, mother-in-law and 9 month old baby spent 6 wonderful nights in this beautiful castle. We drove from Pisa to the castle and the views on the drive were wonderful, the castle was a hidden gem that you can not see from the road. On driving the steep white gravel road we arrived at a beautifully restored castle and were greeted by wonderful staff that could not do enough to help us the entire time we were there.
Our rooms were wonderful and cool when we entered them (which was a blessing with the heat), the furniture is authentic italian and suits the castle perfectly. All our meals were taken in the open air patio that sits amongst the hills of chianti. The food and wait staff were exceptional. I have read reviews that the meals were expensive but I totally disagree for a 5 course set meal we paid 40 euros per person and 12 euros for a bottle of chianti classico. I am sure you could get a cheaper plate of pasta in one of the villages but not a five course meal. The quality of the food was so exceptional that there was only one night we didn't eat at the resturant, that night we ate in their cout yard all the wonderful delicacies we had bought from the local towns.

The pool and grounds were wonderful to relax in and we often found ourselves by the pool all morning and exploring the villages in the afternoon. You do need a car to do this but the castle is an hour drive to most of the lovely tuscan big towns. we visited Vertine (amazing drive), sienna, multipulchiano and piennza amongst others.

We also did a wine tasting and cooking course that the staff were happy to adapt to what we wanted learn to cook. Both were wonderful and very informative.

Over all this pace has it all, if you want a beautiful old castle in the hills of tuscany that serves home made wonderful food, wine and olive oil look no further.
Thank you to all the staff for looking after us so well, we will see you all again!

Room Tip: We stayed in Dante and romeo and Juliet, both beautiful with wonderful old furniture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

As part of our recent family trip to Italy I wanted the 4 of us to take a cooking class together in Tuscany. Our travel agency booked us for a cooking class at Castello di Tornano. It exceeded all of our expectations. Victor did a great job translating, assisting in the kitchen and introducing us to the Castello's wines. Franca patiently taught us how to make a fabulous 4 course italian meal. We enjoyed every course and the wines that had been paired with them. Since returning to Canada I have tried a number of the dishes with success. Not as good as they were with Franca's assistance ..... and certainly not as good as they were when we ate them on the fabulous patio at Castello di Tornano, but good never the less.

We did not stay at the hotel but the spot was beautiful and the food and wine was great. Thank you Victor and Franca for a great afternoon and an experience my family will always remember.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castello di Tornano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Tornano

Address: Localita Tornano | Siena, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 33 Specialty lodging in Gaiole in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Castello di Tornano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Tornano Hotel Gaiole In Chianti
Castello Di Tornano Italy/Gaiole In Chianti, Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castello di Tornano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.