We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castello di Tornano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Castello di Tornano to your Saves list
Castello di Tornano
Localita Tornano | Siena, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Perfect visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We wanted a castle close to Florence that had things to do in the area bec we didn't rent a car (we had private transportation to and from the hotel). This place had everything we wanted to keep us leisurely occupied: on site horseback riding, vineyards, winery, and good food. There is a gourmet chef who is there daily and prepares different meals daily. Advanced notice is required, though I don't think they'll refuse to feed you. He consistenly adjusted for my lactose intolerance after being told once. As you would expect from even the best cooks who cook for their family, some dishes are better than others ranging from above average to fantastic.

We didn't have a car so the castle had one of its staff drive us about 1 km downhill to the stables where we rode through the vineyards and surrounding woods. Our guide didn't say much during the trail ride, but she offered to drive us back up the hill in her car.

There are 4 wines produced by this winery. Overall, they were good but our least favorite on our trip. The wine tasting was relaxed, informative, and tasty. This was the best value during our week long trip to Italy that included some of the best hotels. Also, english was spoken well.

Room Tip: The suite at the top is nice but isn't necessary for the view. You can take any room in the cas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    52
    17
    14
    6
See reviews for
39
126
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

To set the scene, we were on a honeymoon and fancied somewhere special and romantic so a castle seemed like a perfect idea. Entry level is 190 euros, which based on other places we visited being 25% less, seemed like a lot. But we loved the castle and its location.

Our room, "Romeo and Juliet" was in the castle rather than the tower and overlooked the drinks patio and the restaurant. It had a lovely iron bed (although it had a tendency to squeak really loudly even when you moved your head 2cm....be warned, i'm sure you know what i mean!). The bathroom has the most powerful shower ever created which gives you a lovely morning battering, and its nice and big.

I think to get the most out of this place you have to get the suites which are in the tower. One has its own roof terrace and hot tub which im guessing would be incredible. The food was excellent and at 40 euros for a set meal of 5 courses i thought was excellent. Zuchini and blue cheese soufle, shrimp risotto, pumpkin raviolli, tagliata di manzo, creme caramel. Staff were nice and friendly too.

You will need a car to get to this place and to explore the area. Its on a hill in the middle of nowhere.

We had a nice time, but perhaps thought we might have enjoyed somewhere more where we felt like the special guests. Our own fault really.

Room Tip: Break the bank and go for the tower suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

My fiance and I stayed at Castello di Tornano in August last year. Just a 90 minute drive out of Florence in the heart of Chianti, this place is truly heaven on Earth.

Maura, the Castello Manager was incredibly accomodating from start to finish. In fact all staff were very friendly and attentive throughout our stay. The Castello was built in 700AD and from the moment you arrive, it is a real step back in time. We stayed in a suite in the castle which was very comfortable (a/c, sat tv, double shower) and the view is forever etched in my memory. Unlike other Castello's in the area, there are only 3 suites, each on a separate level in the castle so peace and quite is guaranteed! The stairs inside the castle are steep and may not be to everyone's liking. The lounge room in the Castle is absolute luxury and the perfect spot to read a book or simply relax.

The 25m lap pool and lush surrounding provide the perfect backdrop for endless hours of relaxation.

The Castello also offers budget short stay villas and rooms for those counting the pennies

The Castello produces three variaties of red, one of course being the Chianti Classico which is well priced and welcomed by the fussiest of palets. Breakfast is adequate, we did not have dinner at the castle as we were always out exploring nearby areas in Greve, Rada, Siena, Castelina etc etc.

The treacherous 1.5km entrance to the castle has been discussed in numerous reviews, I must say you do get used to this but the first time is certainly a little hairy, just don't look down!

THANKYOU CASTELLO DI TORNANO AND THANKYOU CHIANTI!!

Room Tip: go for one of the suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Castle Tornau, circling the hills of Chianti is located only 20 km from Siena and 50 km from Florence. This is one of the most beautiful medieval castles in Italy, and is protected under the Ministry of Culture.

The history of the castle dates back to Tornau 10th century. During the attack, Frederick Barbarossa, served as a fortress.
Recently, the castle was completely renovated, but retaining all the features of medieval architecture. Now it is a magnificent hotel that will satisfy the needs of even the most demanding guests.
Inside the castle walls there was an old chapel, which became a parish church associated with St. Marcellin parish. In the census, held in 1427, the parish of San Quirico in the castle has 32 Tornau residents, who were divided into 5 families.

The castle is now is a hotel, which is open all year except January.

Dive into the magical atmosphere of this castle. Walk along the ancient walls of the Romanesque style and feel the spirit of this Middle Ages. Enjoy the peace and nature. Admire the colors of all four seasons and the breath of Chianti.
The castle offers 19 rooms furnished with antique furniture and syutov. Bathrooms in all rooms are decorated in marble. Each room has free Wi-Fi, satellite TV, air conditioning and minibar. Free parking is available. In the hotel restaurant you can sample the local cuisine and famous wines of Chianti from the cellars of the castle. Chef Massimo famous works here, which also conducts courses of chef.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Lovely place in the middle of nowhere but centrally located in Tuscany for day trips. The breakfasts were wonderful , dinners a little pricey ,one meal excellent one ok, too salty. The road leading to castle is a bit steep and gravely but negotiable with any car. Hard to find. The room was clean as was bathroom and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Four of us spent two nighs at the Castello di Tornano. The property is well-maintained and website pictures are representative of the location and facilities. The stay was, however, unremarkable.

We elected to have dinner at the castle on our first evening - 40 € for a menu composed of beef carpaccio appetizer, potato soup, gnocchi, filet and a dessert - wine is not included and should be, at least a first and/or second glass. Because of the fixed menu, service is prompt, but relatively careless.

We unanimously found the Chianti Classico bottles that we purchased thin, lacking in bouquet and depth, and overall bland. One should notice that there is no wi-fi in any of the apartments; service is only available on the ground floor of the bastion or adjacent to the reception area. The grounds are very pretty and would make for a romantic setting for couples vacationing: we saw a doe on the dirt-road to the castle when returning from supper on night two; the surroundings are beautifully serene and quiet; and the pool/hot tub combination must be very pleasant in the summer.

Comparable degustations in nearby castles are either free of charge with a stay, free of charge with a purchase of the wine, or 10 €/person. At Tornano, degustations are at 20 € each.

Perhaps because of the off-season timing of our stay, we were underwhelmed with the castle.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Stay at a castle in Tuscany and enjoy! This was a great experience. The castle was beautifully decorated. The rooms were great and the showers were great! The hot tub (lukewarm water) on top of the tower had fantastic views and with a bottle of wine was so enjoyable. The dinner at the castle was very good and romantic. The people at the castle went out of their way to accommodate our needs and were very helpful and nice. The horse back ride through the vineyard and olive tree groves was wonderful. I highly recommend this castle stay.

Room Tip: I loved the tower room, the suites were larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castello di Tornano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Tornano

Address: Localita Tornano | Siena, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Gaiole in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Splendia and Hotels.com so you can book your Castello di Tornano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Tornano Hotel Gaiole In Chianti
Castello Di Tornano Italy/Gaiole In Chianti, Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castello di Tornano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.