We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borgo Argenina

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gaiole in Chianti
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Borgo Argenina
Loc. Monti, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I couldn't ask for more! this place is amazingly beautiful, nothing was exaggerated. it looked exactly the same as shown in the website. it took my breath away when i first arrived, as far as my eyes can see, the scenery was picturesque.
Elena is such an amazing host. We clicked well since the first day, She's so caring to us, she made us so comfortable at her place and she is totally a wonderful cook. i had the best lasagna ever! Grazie Mille Elena, i am so impressed by your hospitality. especially with your personalized gift to us (cooking book and medieval Chianti map). I felt like coming back again! Ci vediamo di nuovo

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    388
    21
    6
    7
    8
See reviews for
64
234
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I won't go into detail about staying here; the positive reviews on Trip Advisor accurately describe the welcome, the beautifully restored buildings and fabulous Tuscany views. Borgo Argenina is a rarity-- its magic requires a tremendous amount of hard work and dedication from the visionary innkeeper and her lovely staff. If you savor unique travel experiences, go to Borgo Argenina and be enchanted. Thank you, Elena, for all you do to help your guests experience the "real" Tuscany.

Room Tip: We stayed in the separate "Piccolo Villa" and loved the peaceful privacy. While it can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I recently spent 3 nights at Borgo Argenina, as part of our 2 week trip to Italy, and it was hands down the highlight of our vacation! I had always dreamed of visiting Tuscany and our stay at Elena's B&B exceeded my expectations in every way. We were first warmly greeted by her two dogs, and once we got settled into our room, Elena hosted a private welcome meeting with us where she highlighted all of the best things to see and do in the area. Her map and recommendations never lead us astray! We had some of our best meals in Italy thanks to Elena's restaurant suggestions, but the best meal of all was the one we all cooked together in her kitchen. If you stay here, I highly recommend taking part in a cooking class, where you get to join other guests to cook and eat a wonderful meal in Elena's lovely kitchen!

The B&B itself is located in the most picturesque area of Tuscany, so you are presented with breathtaking views of vineyards from every room within this property. I was so incredibly impressed with the attention to detail in the restoration of this property, both inside and out. We had become very accustomed to small hotel rooms in Italy, but our room here was very spacious and had a large bathroom with a clawfoot tub.

Elena's warm spirit and passion about the Chianti region made her the perfect host. If you plan to visit Tuscany, this is THE place to stay. I can say with confidence that we will be back one day!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

During our two week trip to Italy, our favorite place to stay was at Borgo Argenina B&B. The grounds are beautiful, just as I imagined Tuscany to be! Our villa was comfortable and Elena thought of every detail when she restored her beautiful hamlet. The patio off the main house overlooked the beautiful chianti vineyards. Breakfast was amazing with fresh vegetables from Elena's garden and freshly baked coffee cake every morning. One night we cooked with Elena in her big kitchen along with some of the other guests. It was an amazing experience. Elena gave us each a cookbook with the recipes we made that night. The lasagna was the best I have ever had.

When we "checked in" at Borgo Argenina, Elena was waiting for us along with her two dogs, Pasqualina and Guiseppina. She took us to her kitchen table and gave us a glass of wine and a map of the area that she created and helped us plan our stay in Tuscany. We arrived late in the evening and were hungry. She directed us to a wonderful restaurant just down the road from her B&B and called the restaurant to let them know we were coming.

I cannot say enough about the wonderful hamlet that Elena has restored. She is passionate about the unspoiled beauty of Tuscany. We cannot wait to go back for another visit. Elena is the perfect hostess.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is one of the most amazing places we have ever stayed in Italy! Elena's creativity, down to the tiniest details, make this place incredible. You must take your time and look around admiring all the details of this gorgeous hamlet. I wish we could have just stayed at the house enjoying the peacefulness. It is in a perfect location for touring Tuscany though, so that is what we did! Elena's dinner recommendations were spot on. We loved the tiny towns nearby for a quiet, quaint dinner after driving all day around Tuscany...very relaxing. We stayed the last 3 days of July and it was very hot. However, the rooms stayed cool in the evenings. We loved sleeping with the shutters open and the nice breeze coming in. It really was heavenly. Breakfast was fresh, delicious and had many choices. Loved grabbing a fresh apricot off the tree on our way out for the day! Absolutely loved the sweet dogs! Despite the hot weather while we were there, I am happy that this property does not have a swimming pool. It really would change the dynamics of the place. Right now it is a peaceful, quiet respite which is exactly what we needed! A few days ago, my husband and I were viewing the videos we took while staying at Borgo Argenina. Our hearts long to return!! We look so forward to our second visit and this time we are going to allow at least one full day with no agenda so that we can spend time just relaxing on the patio and taking it all in. Thank you, Elena!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We just spent 6 days at Borgo Argenina taking day trips through the Tuscany region - Florence, Sienna, Montepulciano, Monti and more. It was a great home base for our travels. And Elena...what can be said about dear, dear, Elena. She is a wonderful, low-key host. The dogs and cats also made us feel like we were at home away from home. The cooking night was our favorite meal of the trip - I think all of us felt that way - it was a priceless "event" not to be missed.

Room Tip: The villas are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Salt Lake, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a 10 night Italy vacation. Our first time to vist this country. So we felt oblidged to visit Rome and Venice along with the Tuscany area. Out of all the places we stayed and saw, Borgo Argenina was by far our favorite! When we come back to Italy, we will make Borgo Argenina our primary destination!
From the moment we arrived, we were greeted by her two wonderful dogs. After getting our things uop to the room, Elena greeted us with wine (Chianti Classico!) and provided us all the information we could want, on places to visit in the area, along with local eateries. All of her suggestions were great!
I also HIGHLY recommend doing a cooking class with her! It was a lot of fun, and the food was magnifcent! (we did two dinners with her) By far the best meals we had while in Italy! And we also recieved a cook book with many reciepes from the Tuscany area. We can't wait to try them all!
The B&B is a beautifully rustic experience. Not TV, which was great to get away, wifi is available if you must find out what is happening in the world. The staff was exceptional, and very friendly. If you want to truly experience the Tuscany area, Borgo Argenina is a must!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Borgo Argenina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Argenina

Address: Loc. Monti, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Gaiole in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the private villas at Borgo Argenina in Tuscany, Italy When Milanese fashion designer Elena Nappa discovered the rundown Borgo Argenina in Tuscany's Chianti region, she undertook an ambitious project. Not only did she restore the buildings that house the bed-and-breakfast, she purchased and revived the entire hamlet the B&B resides in. Hospitality is warm, accommodations are few (one double, two suites and three private villas) and décor is delicious thanks to the combination of local artisans and Nappa's talents. Terracotta floors and exposed beam ceilings provide the framework for modest, old-fashioned interiors adorned with painted wrought-iron beds, linen curtains embroidered in traditional Florentine style and quilts and cushions handmade by Nappa. Adding to the exclusive personalized experience are Nappa's recommendations for wine tours, area attractions and activities, such as cooking classes with the owner herself. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Borgo Argenina b&b
Borgo Argenina Hotel Gaiole In Chianti
Borgo Argenina Italy/Gaiole In Chianti, Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borgo Argenina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Borgo Argenina to your Saves list