We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa La Grotta

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gaiole in Chianti
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Villa La Grotta
Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa La Grotta to your Saves list
Loc. Brolio, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

Well-if you are looking for a relaxing, luxurious place to stay, with the best food and more importantly the most outstanding hostess (Doogie), host (Gigi) and staff (Mohammed and Kamel to mention just two) this is the place! 16 of us overtook this fabulous hotel last September and it is still all we talk about. It was a warm, wonderful home, away from home.
Whatever you want or need from Chianti, this is the place to find it. Seriously, Doogie, Gigi and Mohammed will make your stay unforgettable. The only thing you will worry about is how to get back to the hotel villa la grotta for your next stay!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    5
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

My wife and I recently spent 4 days at Villa La Grotta as part of a wonderful holiday to celebrate her 40th birthday. Having planned this holiday for months, Villa La Grotta was certainly one of the destinations we looked forward to most, which can sometimes be dangerous if your expectations build up too much. Well, the moment we drove into the hotel we knew we would not be disappointed. Maitre D Mohamed showed us to our room which was huge and very comfortably appointed. It is old style, but when you stay in a 9th century villa, I think thats what you would anticipate?? There was a bottle of prosecco on ice waiting for us to recognise the special occasion, and despite not arriving until almost 8pm, the kitchen was waiting for us with dinner on the terrace. This treatment continued throughout our entire stay, and will provide a lasting memory of our trip. GG's espresso and morning directions, Mohamed's "nothing is too much trouble" attitude, and of course Doogie to bring it all together - if we weren't so damn far away I'd be back next week for more!
If you are looking for a complete getaway, Villa La Grotta's location is ideal, set amongst vineyards and with views from the rooms that are to die for. Whilst there is total peace and quiet in this tranquil setting, you are also perfectly located for exploring Chianti's many villages, castles and wineries, and for some serious shopping, Siena is just a stone's throw away. After exploring the region each day, we relaxed by the pool, and then ate in the restaurant on the terrace. All meals were excellent (especially the spaghetti with duck ragout) and the buffet meal on our final evening which was shared at one long table with many of the local residents was quite a highlight. Thankyou Doogie and GG, we look forward to another visit in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

We had a great holiday staying at the hotel Villa la Grotta in Gaiole in Chianti. The accomodation was superb and the restaurant very good. A very relaxing retreat, very quiet and an ideal place to chill out. The swimming pools were very good and well maintained. The manager and staff very helpful and kind. Nothing is too much trouble for them.

Lots of wonderful places to visit close by and Siena within 30 minutes.

I certainly hope to return there in the future.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

This beautifully restored hotel is an incredible gem. Such a beautiful location, with all the amenities you could possibly wish for (indoor/outdoor pool, turkish baths, permanent pampering, stunning rooms...), the staff make you feel like part of the family. And the food - well well, it's just incredible. Without a doubt the best cooking I have ever enjoyed in Italy, delicious yet simple. The whole trip was absolutely fantastic and I can't wait to come back. Don't even think of staying anywhere else, you have no idea how much you would be missing out on!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

warm welcome from the start,staff could not do enough for you, and the food was out of this world .looking out over the hills from our room you just lost your self in its beauty a total relaxing time would recommend it to any one

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

Stayed for three nights to attend a wedding in Siena and reception actually held at Villa La Grotta.

We had a fantastic time but what really made our stay special was the care and attention provided by the General Manager and her staff.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2008

Small boutique with rustic qualities. After personal a recommendation from a friend, it lived up to the comments and then some. The staff were so friendly with nothing too much bother, by the end of the week, it felt like home, helping myself to drinks behind the bar! Everyone was helpful in directing us to interesting places. We had a lovely suite overlooking the restaurant terrace and was extremely quiet and clean. We missed breakfast on the first day due to tireness, or so we thought until reception asked if we wanted something keeping back for us.

The restuarant food has a real unique hint of curry and other international cuisine to boot. They made it far too easy to stay and eat in the hotel, but do recommend you venture out and just give anything a go.

With an arrary of books and magazines, there is plenty to read by the pools, just pick up the phone and someone arrives with your drink order.

The biggest pull for me was the staff, who remain constant, friendly and just felt like an extended family if you just let yourself go with no aires or graces...personally the best way on holiday.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa La Grotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa La Grotta

Address: Loc. Brolio, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Gaiole in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closed for renovation until 2011. Hotel Villa La Grotta is a luxury hotel dating back to the 9th Century offering the highest standards in accommodation and facilities. The four star hotel is situated in the heart of Chianti Classico on the famous Castello di Brolio estate owned by Barone Ricasoli, with spectacular views over rolling hills, vineyards and olive groves of the surrounding countrysideHotel Villa La Grotta offers four deluxe, five superior and three standard double bedrooms. All have air conditioning, satellite television and minibars and offer the maximum of comfort.The hotel has both indoor and outdoor heated swimming pools, a Turkish bath, and a specialized health treatments. There is a private restaurant and bar where the best in traditional Italian cuisine and wines can be savoured. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel La Grotta
La Grotta Hotel
Hotel Villa La Grotta Italy/Gaiole In Chianti, Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa La Grotta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.