We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond any expectation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Spaltenna, 13 | Località Pieve di Spaltenna, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beyond any expectation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Castello di Spaltenna for 10 nights in August and can not fault the level of service we received from any member of staff.

The hotel is absolutely beautiful, the views from the terrace stunning.

We had 4 rooms in the block near the indoor pool, there were 3 other rooms in our block, am not sure how many in the main section of the hotel.

The rooms are all very spacious with comfortable beds and air conditioning. They are cleaned every day by a very lovely and efficient lady. Unfortunately, there were some rather inconsiderate guests staying in the room above ours who very noisy late into the night but this could not taint our stay.

The bathrooms are a very good size, with a shower over the bath and the usual complimentary toiletries. The towels are replaced every day and pool towels are also provided.

The outdoor pool is not heated, but isn't too cold and there are plenty of sunbeds available.

We ate at the hotel restaurant two nights, it is expensive but the food is superb and worth the cost.
The lunch menu on the terrace is very reasonable priced, the sandwiches are really for two to share as they come with chips and even the salads can be comfortably split between two people. There is a good selection of breakfast foods, different cereals, breads, cheeses and meats.

Every single member of staff was polite, well presented and eager to help. We could not fault their service.

The only 'bad' thing was so minor it could not affect our vote; some of the sunbeds need adjusting, the sunshades are a little loose on some.

We would not hesitate to recommend Castello di Spaltenna.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    226
    39
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
42
175
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland,NZ
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We only stayed a night but wished it vcould have been longer. From a leisurely lunch on the terrace to a realxing swim in the beautiful pool to a night cap under the stars - the whole place was magical. Our room was not huge, but very attractive in quite a rustic way. The service was perfect and we wished that we'd eaten dinner in the hotel - in the main courtyard. Small bathroom - but we had everything we needed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We have gone through several villages in Chianti and ended up in this wonderful monastery. Room was a little small but very clean and quiet. The dinner tasted very good. The service was perfect.
The view and the pool were the other surprises.
Highly recommendable.

Room Tip: room 17 is good clean but a little small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My wife and I had long dreamed of a trip to Tuscany. The hotel in that dream is just like Castillo di Spaltenna. Its a beautiful hotel in a converted 15th century monastery on a hillside surrounded by vineyards and just a short walk from the town of Gaiole in Chianti.

The hotel has about 40 rooms. The staff are exceptional and everyone speaks enough English to help us, and usually much more than that. Each morning, the breakfast spread includes the traditional continental items plus and assortment of traditional Tuscan cold cuts and cheeses. We did not need to taste these during our Tuscan day trips since we had already sampled them for breakfast. You eat breakfast on a covered terrace in a hillside overlooking the vineyards and the surrounding hillsides/farms. It was a lovely way to start the day.

The hotel's restaurant serves excellent food in a storybook setting in the courtyard of the monastery. The food and service is fancy but the atmosphere is casual. There only formal rule is that men must were long pants at dinner. If that is too formal for you, there is a lovely outdoor restaurant just down the hill from the hotel in Gaiole.

We absolutely loved this hotel and hope to visit it again on our next trip to Tuscany.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floral Park, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Spent three days at Castello di Spaltenna and it wasn't long enough! The castello is perfectly located in Tuscany to make day trips to Siena, Florence and other nearby cities. Although it is very hard to tear yourself away from the beautiful serenity at castello. The rooms are perfect, all the modern amenities still with a rustic charm. The grounds including the pool and gym and are immaculate. The food and the service was impeccable. My only regret is not staying longer. We will definitely be back here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Who would have thought that an old monastery would be so lovely? We stayed for two nights as a break in our drive from Munich to Rome and wish we had the time to stay longer! The room was large and comfortable and the views and setting very hard to beat. The wellness centre and sauna was also a nice surprise. The staff were always pleasant and efficient. The short stay was designed to be a stop over but next time we will stay longer.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

what a great trip to castello di spaltenna!
rooms were beautiful, breakfasts were delicious but what stole the show was the amazing scenery and estate in which this ex-monastery was located on.
staff also very nice
pool fantastic
go to barbiche , just next door, for hiking and amazing dining on top of the hill

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa

Address: Via Spaltenna, 13 | Località Pieve di Spaltenna, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Gaiole in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The castle has 37 rooms, all equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV and mini-bar, offering any possible comfort and a wonderful view over the valley or the cloister. The inside is comfortable and elegant and the sophisticated atmosphere is completed with sought-after fabrics and accessories. From the grassy terraces in front of the castle, guests can enjoy the calm of the countryside and beauty of the surrounding landscape; here are the swimming-pools: one outdoor pool and one indoor pool heated during coldest months. Sauna, Turkish bath and gym, tennis court, billiard and wellness centre, complete the list of possible leisure activities available at Spaltenna. For horse-riding lovers it is possible to rent horses not far from Spaltenna; trekking and biking lovers will find endless options for routes around the castle. A golf club is also available at one-hour distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Escapio so you can book your Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Spaltenna Hotel Gaiole In Chianti
Castello Di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa Italy/Gaiole In Chianti, Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.