We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“October Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castello di Spaltenna

Save Saved
You added Castello di Spaltenna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Castello di Spaltenna
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Spaltenna, 13 | Località Pieve di Spaltenna, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“October Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Myself and my husband visited Tuscany for our honeymoon in the second week of October 2012. We did a fair bit of travelling around; Florence, Pisa, Siena and finally Chianti.
When we arrived at this hotel, we were immediately met by the hotel's Concierge, who came and collected our luggage from our hire car. The receptionist who checked us into our room, was very friendly and polite and showed us into our upgraded 'honeymoon' suite! The room was beautiful, with a big double bed, a huge bathroom with a jacuzzi (Not to mention all the products!) and we had a beautiful view overlooking the Tuscan Countryside.
The hotel staff were all so knowledgable about the local area and were able to suggest great places to walk, eat etc....
We went Horse riding on our second day, which the receptionist kindly booked for us. We had such a lovely time and would really recommend it. It is only a 5 minute drive from the hotel.
We ate lunch in the restaurant on our first day there and the outside terrace was beautiful and was everything that we had imagined Tuscany to be. Great food and the service was second to none! We also dined in the hotel restaurant for our evening dinner on the first night. It was amazing! Although, very expensive!!! But, we could not fault the service. We have never seen anything like it! Due to the high price, we chose to eat out in Radda for the next two nights. The hotel was happy to recommend a lovely restaurant. We did explore the local town, but we were not impressed, as there were hardly any good restaurants or things to do. You do need a car, when staying at this hotel!
The breakfast's every morning were great, with plenty of choice. It is made that extra bit special if you are able to eat outside on a sunny Tuscan morning!
We used the hotel's swimming and sauna facilities. The pool is lovely, although a bit small and could do with being staffed. But, it was an amazing feeling swimming, whilst looking at the views of the Tuscan hills.
All in all, this hotel was amazing and we highly recommend it for a 'Honeymoon' destination.
Thank you so much!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmedeoEsposito, Direttore at Castello di Spaltenna, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear "Gemma",

I have no words to thank you for your generous and genuine comments. Our priority has always been exceeding our customers expectations and it makes us feel so good over and over again when we receive such positive feedback.

I appreciate your comments regarding your satisfaction and i will take great pleasure in sharing your compliments with my team.

We'll see you soon and looking forward to welcoming you again at the Castello di Spaltenna.

Please feel free to contact me directly on your next visit.

Amedeo Esposito
General Manager
Castello di Spaltenna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    196
    38
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
42
156
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
674 reviews 674 reviews
203 hotel reviews
Reviews in 245 cities Reviews in 245 cities
353 helpful votes 353 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Wow what an amazing experience! We arrived on a rainy day which we were a bit disappointed about - thankfully our stay at the Castello made up for it. We were given a fabulous welcome. Check in was efficient and we were upgraded to a large room with a jacuzzi which was fantastic. The room was beautifully decorated with wooden beams a large bathroom with double sinks lots of storage area, high definition TV and a huge and comfortable bed and free wi-fi. The view from our room was also fabulous despite it raining.

Our first mistake save for only booking one night and not arriving as soon as we could check in, was not bringing our swimming clothes as there was a free heated indoor as well as an outdoor cinema with a sauna and also a gym on site. There is also loads to do here - looking around the castle and the wine shop, mountain biking, horse riding and tennis as well as being close to Gaiole itself.

Our other mistake was having a large lunch before we arrived which meant that we were so full at dinner we could only have a few courses at the Castello's restaurant. The food we did try was phenomenal, and service was superb! The restaurant is recommended by Michelin and I have no idea why it has not yet got a star or two. The quality of the food was outstanding - some courses far surpassed similar dishes we've had at three Michelin star restaurants. The food is expensive but in terms of quality is definitely worth it.

Breakfast was the best we had on our trip a great spread. Some of the best scrambled eggs we've ever had on our travels, lots of meats and delicious cheeses. Fruit, cakes and yoghurt.

The staff were all fabulous. Attentive and friendly and they even opened the church especially so we could have a look. Giulio served us at breakfast and dinner and was fantastic as was the lovely lady sommelier we had answered all our questions.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmedeoEsposito, Direttore at Castello di Spaltenna, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear "BayswaterBabe",

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us here.

I appreciate your comments regarding your satisfaction and i will take great pleasure in sharing your compliments with my team. Grazie Grazie

All of us at the Castello di Spaltenna look forward to welcoming you back here. If ever I can be of personal assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Warm Regards.

Amedeo Esposito
General Manager
Castello di Spaltenna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We arrived at Castello Di Splatenna after a long flight. We rented a car and arrived after dark. Once we arrived we were instantly impressed. So peaceful and quite. We checked in and were shown to our room which was upgraded. Breakfast each morning was wonderful and the staff were very helpful in helping us book a few wine tours. Wi fi is included as well. Would reccommned to anyone. What a beautiful hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmedeoEsposito, Direttore generale at Castello di Spaltenna, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Amber,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts on your visit to the Castello di Spaltenna. We do take great pride in looking after our guests and are a very dedicated team so I am delighted that you found us accommodating and helpful.

I have passed your kind words to all the team who appreciate our guests taking the time to write.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to your new home away from home on your next visit to Italy.


Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance.

Warm regards,

Amedeo Esposito
General Manager
Castello di Spaltenna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We went for an extended weekend in November. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Castello di Spaltenna! The hotel staff were incredibly courteous, attentive and efficient. They really made us feel welcome from the minute we stepped into the hotel lobby to the checkout!

Breakfast was excellent with a large selection of cold meats, breads, cereals, smoked salmon (!) and pastries.

We had dinner one of the evenings in the hotel restaurant Il Pievano. The cost was ~70EUR pp for the "menu of the day" which was a four course (plus an amuse bouche and a "pre dessert") as well as the wine package consisting of two glasses of local red wine. The service was impeccable and the food was good - though I wouldn't say it was great value for the money as the menu cost ~50EUR and the additional two glasses of the house wine thereby cost us an additional 20EUR pp. In hindsight, we should have opted for the menu but instead selected our own wine from the extensive (and impressive) wine list.

The room (#4) was very nice and had impressive views - of both the countryside in one side and the local church on the other side. The views from the room were nothing but breathtaking!

All in all, we had a great time at Castello di Spaltenna and would gladly recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmedeoEsposito, Direttore generale at Castello di Spaltenna, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear MathW,

Thank you so much for your time and great review. It is always such a pleasure to read the reviews our guest leave on tripadvisor.

It shows us we all doing a great job and our service is of high standards at all times.

I am so glad all went well on your last stay at the Spaltenna.

I would like you to welcome you back to Castello di Spaltenna on your next trip to Italy and Chianti, please let me know and I am happy to help you with the reservation.

Wishing you all the best

Amedeo Esposito
General Manager
Castello di Spaltenna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at the Castello di Spaltenna for five wonderful nights. It was incredible. We had a suite at the top of the main building. It was really nice. The view was beyond belief. We loved everything about our stay in Gaiole. The breakfast buffet was fantastic, Great selection of wonderful food and drinks including Prosecco with orange juice. The staff here is great very nice and extremely helpful. It was still warm enough for us to eat outside in the morning absolutely magical.
The room had wonderful products, lots of towels etc. We had a late evening swim in the indoor pool, fantastic! It was a little cold to swim in the outdoor pool, but it looked beautiful. The wine and gift shop was lovely featuring local Chianti and ceramics made on site.
I hope someday to visit this enchanted place again.

Room Tip: The room we had was what they call a junior suite. It had a lot of room with a seating area and a la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmedeoEsposito, Direttore generale at Castello di Spaltenna, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear "154974Janet",

I have no words to thank you for your generous and genuine comments. Our priority has always been exceeding our customers expectations and it makes us feel so good over and over again when we receive such positive feedback.

I appreciate your comments regarding your satisfaction and i will take great pleasure in sharing your compliments with my team.

We'll see you soon and looking forward to welcoming you again at the Castello di Spaltenna.

Please feel free to contact me directly on your next visit.

Amedeo Esposito
General Manager
Castello di Spaltenna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesconset, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed two nights and we were in love with the hotel. Service and food were superb. One server in particular, Emily, was amazing. She seemed to be there for every need whether it was clean silverware or more coffee.
While hotel room was a bit small, it was clean and comfortable. The location was perfect , within easy travel to several wonderful wineries. I would highly recommend Livernano Winery. The woman who helped us was friendly and informative.
The setting was everything you could imagine of Tuscany and more. The mist covered hills and vineyards in the morning, the tall cypress trees ling the driveway and scattered about the property, or the stone house scattered among the hills. Truly a dream location. I agree with Jeanne S-the only thing wrong was our stay was to short.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmedeoEsposito, Direttore generale at Castello di Spaltenna, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear "sxmdg",

Many thanks for taking the time to leave this wonderful feedback. I was so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is the fantastic team that I am lucky to have here, including the name you mentioned, that make Spaltenna a very special place to work and for our guests to stay in.

I have passed on your very kind words to them and I hope that we will have the chance to meet your expectations again in the very near future.

My kindest regards,

Amedeo Esposito
General Manager
Castello di Spaltenna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We spent 3 nights here in early September. We arrived a little late (after dark) and stressed from driving, but the staff swept us in and quickly seated us at candle-lit table set with china and linens in a beautiful courtyard, around a charming stone well. A glass of wine and dinner al fresco was just what we needed! Our friends were in the suite next door, and both rooms were lovely, yet different, complete with fireplaces and beamed ceilings. Baths were spacious & spotless. Two weddings took place in the chapel while we were there, and they were so charming, we couldn't leave our windows! The breakfasts were served on a pretty umbrella shaded terrace overlooking a rolling valley. This is a perfect home base for exploring Chianti - if you can make yourselves leave this beautiful place!

Room Tip: We saw several room interiors and all were different, yet lovely and still related. Some bathrooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmedeoEsposito, Direttore generale at Castello di Spaltenna, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Susan,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts on your visit to the Castello di Spaltenna. We do take great pride in looking after our guests and are a very dedicated team so I am delighted that you found us accommodating and helpful.

Our rooms are very individual and beautifully appointed and do we try to meet our guests needs so I am pleased you felt that.

I have passed your kind words to all the team who appreciate our guests taking the time to write.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to your new home away from home on your next visit to Italy.


Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance.

Warm regards,

Amedeo Esposito
General Manager
Castello di Spaltenna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castello di Spaltenna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Spaltenna

Also Known As:
Castello Di Spaltenna Hotel Gaiole In Chianti
Castello Di Spaltenna Hotel
Castello Di Spaltenna Italy/Gaiole In Chianti, Tuscany
Address: Via Spaltenna, 13 | Località Pieve di Spaltenna, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Gaiole in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castello di Spaltenna 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The castle has 37 rooms, all equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV and mini-bar, offering any possible comfort and a wonderful view over the valley or the cloister. The inside is comfortable and elegant and the sophisticated atmosphere is completed with sought-after fabrics and accessories. From the grassy terraces in front of the castle, guests can enjoy the calm of the countryside and beauty of the surrounding landscape; here are the swimming-pools: one outdoor pool and one indoor pool heated during coldest months. Sauna, Turkish bath and gym, tennis court, billiard and wellness centre, complete the list of possible leisure activities available at Spaltenna. For horse-riding lovers it is possible to rent horses not far from Spaltenna; trekking and biking lovers will find endless options for routes around the castle. A golf club is also available at one-hour distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, T4B and Escapio so you can book your Castello di Spaltenna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castello di Spaltenna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.