We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capannelle Wine Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Capannelle Wine Resort to your Saves list
Capannelle Wine Resort
Localita Capannelle, 13, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Linwood, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Everything about Capennelle is beautiful, the rooms, the grounds, the view, the wine and the service. The bathroom in our room was luxurious. We had a tour of the winery and cellar followed by a tasting accompanied with local meats and cheeses. We slept through the normal breakfast time but they served us cappuccino, orange juice and cornettis in on the terrace anyway. There's no restaurant but there are several good places to eat in Gaioli which is right down the hill. I highly recommend Capennelle!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
21
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed at Capanelle Wine Resort as part of our honeymoon trip around Italy, and it was a highlight of our holiday. We stayed in the suite, which faces out toward Gaiole, and has beautiful views. The suite had everything that we could need - the bedroom was spacious, and comfortable. The bathroom and walk in wardrobes were splendidly opulent. The breakfast was delicious, with an excellent selection of foods, and fresh juice. As we were staying over Easter, we were also treated to compulsory chocolate egg at breakfast on Easter Sunday.

We also took a private tour of the winery, and had the lunch with wine pairings. It was a great experience. The wines were delicious, the food complimented them perfectly, and we thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. The staff were all very welcoming and friendly - both Valentinas helped to make our stay enjoyable and memorable. We were very well looked after from the moment we arrived til the moment we left. We will most definitely be returning.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We visited Capannelle in late December. After over an hour drive on mountain roads, we arrived in Gaiole and went up the hill to the winery. The setting is spectacular and at the same time unassuming. We were greeted by Barbara and led on the winery tour by Manuele, who brought in the winemaker to answer our more technical questions. After the tour, we were treated to an amazing 5 course lunch with wine pairings. Julianna prepared the menu and the food and it was excellent. We started with the chardonnay, moved on to the chianti classico, the Solare and the 50/50 for the cheese course. We were treated to the rosato at the end of the meal.

The wines are solid. Our favorite was a toss up between the Solare and the 50/50. In the end we had spent almost four hours at Capannelle, and it flew by.

Certainly worth the trip and probably our most favorite winery experience in Italy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

The Hotel is excellent, I have stayed several times with clients and friends.
The Hotel is beautifully decorated, rooms have everything needed, are very comfortable and the staff! The Staff are wonderful, friendly , helpful and accommodating.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband and I did a tour of Capannelle in August on our honeymoon and it was our first winery stop in the Tuscany region. We really enjoyed this winery - the private tour was great - we got to see the wine vault which was very cool. Then we went upstairs and tried several wines with cheese and bread. It was a gorgeous day outside so my only complaint was that I wish we would've been able to have the tasting outside. Did not purchase any wine because we had 4 more wineries to visit. We were there for no longer than an hour - it did feel semi-rushed, but we still enjoyed ourselves! The vineyards and views are amazing - do not miss this winery! Next time, I think we would also stay here for a few nights - we had no idea you could also stay here! Good to know.

Room Tip: We did not stay here, but only did the winery tour/tasting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

It's not only a winery, but it's an experience.

The venue is amazing, a small but sophisticated villa, only five rooms. The gardens, pools and views are just GOURGEOUS!

We were welcomed by Valentina, always so nice and attentive, showed us around after a glass of wine, and made everything in her power to make us feel at home.

The room is amazing, both confortable and tastefully decorated, in tuscan style. With the amenities of air conditioning and wifi.

The breakfast was served at a breathtaking balconing looking towards the beautiful Tuscan landscapes, amongst flowers and trees.

We didn't have any other meals there, but Valentina pointed us nice places nearby to go.

We also had a wine tasting with Giada, also so nice to us, gave us a tour to the cellar and was so joyful and nice to talk to.

The wines were very good, our favorite was Solare 2004, we ended up getting some bottles (great cost/benefit ratio as well).

Thanks to Valentina and Giada and everybody that work there. You are wonderful people and you made us very happy!

It was the most delighful part of our trip to Italy, I hope we can go back soon. I would more than definetely recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We organised our daughter's wedding at this magical Tuscan winery - the view, the gardens, the service, the wine and food were exemplary. This was a private affair, with only 23 guests. The Wedding Planners (Alessia and Ilaria) understood our needs and made the whole experience a pleasure. Glam Events (don't let the name fool you) produced a sophisticated and stylish wedding. We had exclusive use of the property for two days, what a treat!

Valentina, our host was understanding and extremely helpful for months before, never failing to answer the many questions. She was a delight to deal with and made us so welcome. I suspect there will be many more weddings at this exclusive venue in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capannelle Wine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capannelle Wine Resort

Address: Localita Capannelle, 13, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Gaiole in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Capannelle Wine Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capannelle Wine Resort Italy/Gaiole In Chianti, Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capannelle Wine Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.