We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monna Ginevra offers exquisite dining in a charming setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monna Ginevra

Monna Ginevra
Loc. Molinaccio, Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Part of the Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi
Toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Monna Ginevra offers exquisite dining in a charming setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Our two families dined in Monna Ginevra at Hotel Le Pozze Di Lecchi while staying in a villa in Gaiole in Chianti. We were celebrating Father's day and the dining experience did not disappoint. The service was attentive and the menu choices were numerous - ideal for children and for adults who want to experiment with gourmet options. The risotto was outstanding, the cinghiale (wild boar) cooked with dark chocolate was amazing, the desserts an appropriate tasty end to a wonderful dinner! A must if you are staying or touring through Chianti.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    4
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bend
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best meal in Italy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

While exploring the Chianti region, we just happened upon this delightful restaurant on the grounds of the Hotel La Lecchi. The delightful chef made every course delicious as well as beautiful! From 'Toscana Tuna' (actually a pork item), to the best Bolognese, to the very fresh garden vegetable pasta, to the desserts...all 6 of us agreed this was our best meal in Italy. Herbs and vegetables are grown on site, and Chef takes great pride in quality of ingredients. A wonderful wine list, and lovely venue added to the perfection. And, when we asked for the bill, we were amazed at how reasonable it was. Make this a MUST stop on your trip through Tuscany!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stayed with friends in the hotel (Le Pozze di Lecchi) in which the restaurant is located. After having eaten here the first night, all other plans went overboard and we just had dinner every evening during our stay, it was a fantastic experience.

Andrea (the chef) has a great menu, the quality of the dishes are those of top restaurants, combining genuine local ingredients with a great level of preperation and some more particular tastes. The service was fantastic and the attention from him and his wife made us and our friends stay for three nights and three dinners in a row. I think that already says it all.

Thanks Andrea and I hope we will be able to come back soon!

Tj.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a lovely destination!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stopped for lunch and were enchanted by the nice welcoming of the chef:Andrea, in his restaurant. All dishes we ordered were delicious, tasty and so nice to look at!
All were originals, and very well executed. I would go there again to my next trip in Chianti.
The room is well decorated, and the garden precious.
Its a great destination for lunch or diner.
Natacha F. Switzerland.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best restaurant experience of our trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Monna Ginevra was recommended to us by the concierge where we were staying in Gaiole in Chianti. He had stayed at the hotel in which this restaurant resides the night of his wedding - enough of a recommendation for us to try it! It is a small dinning room with maybe 8 tables, although I think there are more outside when the weather permits. We were immediately greeted by our sever (who was excellent) and then the chef Andrea Oppo stopped by our table to explain briefly his menu and recommendations. Andrea is clearly passionate about what he does and it showed through the entire evening. We started our meal with 2 spectacular dishes - of particular note was the truffled parmesan cream with cured meats (AMAZING). We shared a dish of pasta as well as the house specialty, the wild board which was truly incredible. Andrea consistently check on our table (as well as all the others) to explain his food and also to answer any questions - when we told him we'd not had too much experience with truffles he actually brought out two fresh (one black and one white) and gave them to us to taste. The star of Andrea's food is clearly the local produce and regional items however what makes it so special is his surprising and innovative use of herbs and items grown in his own small garden outside his kitchen which he showed us after our meal.
Finally, after thanking us for coming, Andrea shared a shot of Grappa with us to celebrate our trip - it was a fitting end to an amazing meal and an experience we will never forget.
If you find yourself in this region do not miss the opportunity to have dinner here and make sure you speak with Andrea. His love for the food of this region and his interest in sharing his knowledge and passion with his customers will make for a very special experience to be sure.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monna Ginevra also viewed

Gaiole in Chianti, Province of Siena
Gaiole in Chianti, Province of Siena
 
Gaiole in Chianti, Province of Siena
Gaiole in Chianti, Province of Siena
 

Been to Monna Ginevra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monna Ginevra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.