We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria del Castello

Osteria del Castello
Madonna a Brolio, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
+39 0577 730 290
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $23 - $60
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

The food is really great and the service crew is very loving and kind. I really like this place. Our getaway was mainly for a romantic purpose and my planning was well rewarded. My gf said she'll never forget our trip. It is one of the best surprises she had.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    46
    9
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Beautifully set”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Set in the grounds of Brolio castle this is a lovely restaurant . Weather for a quick meal or a full dinner you will not be disappointed. The menu is above rustic and there are many unique and different dishes that are not on other menues in the locality. The restaurant gives you the feeling that the meal is an occasion to savour

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Good food and service; a nice respite after a tour of the Castello Brolio!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I've been several times, dining both inside and outside. Food is reliable but a bit over-priced. Can feel a bit stuffy for those who are used to the open, friendly Tuscan kitchens you can find in other areas. It is convenient if you are out wine-tasting along the Chianti Road. The Castello is a 'must' as it is so impressive and historical for this area. The tasting room below is good - be sure to visit the gardens (5 euro entrance) as it does give you a free tasting in the enoteca.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steinbach Germany
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Castello di Brolio Osteria”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Osteria is half way up the hill to Castell Brolio. You can sit inside or outside and enjoy the richly wooded area. Good parking with a short walk to Osteria. The food was excellent. I had the bean soup and wild boar. Great food and moderate prices. The wine was superior...Baron Ricasoli Reserve!!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Poor service in the restuarant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The food is good, but the service is awful. Our main course plates just never got cleared away and in the end we thought lets go home. We then had to wait over 20 mins for the bill to arrive which didn't, in the end gave up waiting and went to the stand by the till. When I told the manager I thought the service was letting them down he just shrugs his shoulders, no apologies, nothing. Not even a goodbye as we were leaving. It's the last they will see of me.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria del Castello also viewed

Gaiole in Chianti, Province of Siena
Gaiole in Chianti, Province of Siena
 
Gaiole in Chianti, Province of Siena
Gaiole in Chianti, Province of Siena
 

Been to Osteria del Castello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria del Castello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.