We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Castello di Brolio Osteria” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria del Castello

Osteria del Castello
Madonna a Brolio, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
+39 0577 730 290
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $23 - $60
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Steinbach Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Castello di Brolio Osteria”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Osteria is half way up the hill to Castell Brolio. You can sit inside or outside and enjoy the richly wooded area. Good parking with a short walk to Osteria. The food was excellent. I had the bean soup and wild boar. Great food and moderate prices. The wine was superior...Baron Ricasoli Reserve!!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    48
    37
    7
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Poor service in the restuarant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The food is good, but the service is awful. Our main course plates just never got cleared away and in the end we thought lets go home. We then had to wait over 20 mins for the bill to arrive which didn't, in the end gave up waiting and went to the stand by the till. When I told the manager I thought the service was letting them down he just shrugs his shoulders, no apologies, nothing. Not even a goodbye as we were leaving. It's the last they will see of me.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
“Great experience: Originality and elegance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

3 hits: the food, the location and the service
The cuisine is inspired by Tuscany's tradition but the Chef demonstrates originality and elegance. We went there in August with my wife and our kids and we had a great experience. The service was excellent and prices are reasonnable. There is a "Degustation menu" at Eur 50.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Tuscan Fare!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We always stop here while visiting Tuscany. The meal was excellent and the service too.

At the top of the hill is Brolio Castle, a must visit in Gaiole!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We were send over there by our very nice B&B (Cavarchino in Gaiole). It's a little bit more expensive but nevertheless very nice. The road up there is beautifull and quiet. The restaurant has a nice interior with a kitchen that you can see from the restaurant. The menu is quite small, but they made some efforts for me as a vegetarian. The pasta with asparagus was delicious and my boyfriend had the best lamb chops ever there.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria del Castello also viewed

Gaiole in Chianti, Province of Siena
Gaiole in Chianti, Province of Siena
 
Gaiole in Chianti, Province of Siena
Gaiole in Chianti, Province of Siena
 

Been to Osteria del Castello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria del Castello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.