We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So nice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Ripresa di Vistarenni, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“So nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The 4 of us spent 5 nights at L'Ultimo. Great experience. Very pleasantly rebuilt old building. Cozy atmosphere. Pleasant staff. Good wines. Good kitchen - albeit with a limited menu which changes on a daily basis.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    26
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
50
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Overall this is a nice hotel:
- good location to discover the Chianti region and pretty villages
- beautiful building, old watermill that has been rehabilitated, charming bedrooms
- small hotel
- nice pool
- welcoming staff (except on our last day)
- excellent and beautiful restaurant
The hotel is quite close from the road but you can barely hear it as the building is hidden in the middle of a forest, which is really nice.

We were however a bit disappointed by a couple of details:
- the bed was not comfortable and would definitly be worth replacing
- rooms are not very soundproof and we could hear the neighboors from the next room
- the area around the pool was dirty (plastic bags and bottles, packs of cigarettes, etc.) and was not clean for 3 days we stayed there
- the AC system in the room was either not working or way too weak; it was warmer in the bedroom then outside; however opening the window was not an option as the area is full of mosquitoes. I read that another guest had suggested nets on the windows, this sounds like a wise suggestion.
The receptionnist kindly gave us a fan instead but it would not replace an AC system obviously.
- on our last day we had to leave early (7.15am); as breakfast was not to be served before 8, we asked whether it would be possible to get a little snack before we leave (fruit / yogurt / biscuits, or anything that would not require preparation from the staff). The receptionnist told us it was impossible so we did not plan for any extra time. Now when we left the building most of the breakfast was already available. If we had known we would have planned for 10 more minutes to get something.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartyRusty, Responsabile reception at Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
First of all we want to thank you for the beautiful words about Ultimo Mulino.
We are sorry that the bed was not enough comfortable for you, we have all new beds this year and sometimes they can bu a bit too much tough.
Regarding the swimming pool, we clean it outside and inside every day, but in the peak season it can be difficcult to keep clean it all day long, we improve the service, thank you for your advice!
For the breakfast I think that there was a misunderstanding, because we are used to prepare something before the official time of breakfast service for everyone asks us because of an early check out. I am very sorry that you didn't take the chance to ask something to eat directly the breakfast staff!
Hoping to have you again as guests soon in future,
Best regards
Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Spent four nights at L'Ultimo ; used as a base for attending a wedding locally. Lovely location, grounds,building and very welcoming friendly Staff. Excellent food. Extensive international TV coverage was available.Good parking facilities, conveniently close but not adjacent to the hotel. For loading/unloading one's baggage "temporary" vehicle parking by the hotel entrance is permitted.

Arrival. By car the entrance from main road is very set back.It is therefore easily missed as no pre-warning roadside signage is in evidence .Thirty minutes later and a 'phonecall finally alleviated the situation. Raised this point with Reception and evidently the local authority does not permit directions signage of any sort roadside - this is a short sighted and an unhelpful approach for guests of all categories and places the hotel in, by necessity, apologetic mode. Equally the hotel is not accessible on Satnav ; given the above and in our technologically advanced age it is even more important and expected that steps are taken to assure it is !
Swimming Pool - great to have the facility but on my first encounter the bottom was covered in "extinguished" creepy crawlies. I suggest a cover is purchased and pulled over it overnight and an early cleaning operation takes place early am daily.
Wifi - Available ONLY in the restaurant area. Again one should, in this day and age be able, very easily, to have Internet access in each and every room. I have recently travelled extensively in SE Asia - the foregoing is now a "given" in all hotels and guesthouses and also free.Travellers in 2012 expect it; not unreasonably.
My stay at L'Ultimo was an agreable one and my cosmopolitan fellow guests helped to make it so ; the hotel clearly attracts a number of happy returnees. I hope the constructive observations made above will bear fruit and povide the "cherry on the cake" for future guests ll

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartyRusty, Responsabile reception at Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Firstly, we warmly thank you for all the beautiful words about our hotel and for all your indications about the improvements that we need!!
They are extremely preciuos for us and we consider them so important!!
We have already planned to make our services better just from next year,
we hope that you come back soon!!
Warmest regards
Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I just spent two nights at L'Ultimo Mulino and, while we had a nice time, we would not rate it "L'Ultimo" place to stay in Chianti. L'Ultimo Mulino is fashioned from an old mill, which makes it a very unique place to stay. Evidence of the old water wheel is right in the center of the albergo,which is very cool! The mill is set amongst the forest, a beautiful location, although it does make it a tad hard to find, particularly since the large sign for the property is set well back from the road.

The best thing about L'Ultimo Mulino, besides it's unique origins, is its staff. The front desk women are all very nice and helpful,the chef is a highly skilled woman, but the waitress Mihala is the person who made our stay most enjoyable. Follow her recommendations when having dinner at the restaurant and you'll be a very happy diner! She has a lovely personality to boot!

The not-so-"ultimo" things about the property include the soft goods in the rooms. I've stayed here twice before,the last time in 2001 as part of a Backroads bike trip. I don't think the bedspread or the chair in the bedroom have been changed since then. If they have, it's time to do so again. They look very tired. A consistent problem at the hotel, at least in my experience, has always been the drainage in the tub/shower. I hoped it would have been fixed, since I'm pretty sure I complained about it before. But, alas, by the end of a ten-minute shower,with the water flow turned fairly low, you'll still find yourself standing in several inches of water. Kind of disgusting.

Also,putting screens on the doors and windows would be helpful. It's such a nice area, but there are mosquitos! We had to close the doors at night if we wanted to read, which meant no ventilation in the room, since there was no window After we turned off the lights the only way to get fresh air was to open the door to our room, which led directly outdoors. Kind of a security issue for some, sleeping your door open.

Finally, Europe needs to get with the whole Internet-access thing. Everybody advertises "free wi-fi throughout", but at L'Ultimo Mulino, like so many other places we stayed on this month-long trip, you have to leave your room to find a signal. It's not that hard, folks. Even historic properties in the States have figured it out. All sarcasm aside, as more people travel with technology, it becomes part of travelers' expectation that they will be able to connect in their rooms. Those hotels who pay attention to this feature will attract more business. Those who do not will lose business, including mine. Just a heads up.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows that have screens or a room with access to the wi fi connection. Or be p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Responsabile reception at Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
First of all, we warmly thank you for the wonderful words about the location and the staff that is so glad to have known you!!
Regarding the works made last few years, we changed curtains, bedding, pillows, adding those ones with goose feathers, TV set, putting in the room that one with flat screen and also some piece of furniture. Obviuosly we changed stuff following the style of the hotel that is absolutely not modern, this is the reason why you had that impression.
But you are right: we can do it better!!
Even WIFI service in the common areas is a free new one that we offer to all our guests!
In order to have WIFi in every room, we have to put so many aerials, that we decided to stop at the common areas. We were afraid to create a discomfort for our guests that choose Ultimo Mulino for relax and healthy air!!
Hoping to have you as our guests soon!
Kindest regards by all the staff of Ultimo Mulino!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Silver, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

What a great place to experience the surrounding Tuscan countryside! Ultimate comfort, great common areas, pleasant and helpful staff, excellent food. Only wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

We stayed 4 nights and had the suite comprising comfortable bedroom and separate sitting room each with a patio, and the luxury of two bathrooms. Excellent bed linen and towels and quiet air conditioning.

The buffet breakfast served in the amazing medieval hall is excellent and there is a generous selection of fresh fruit available all day.

You reach the restaurant by walking a few yards through the terrace and garden. However, the dinner menu is limited with all the main courses being beef cooked in various styles. The chef provides well cooked food and her portions were good. As we were bored with the menu after two evenings, we drove into Radda on our last two nights. We had great sea bass at the busy La Perla del Palazzo but our best meal was at Al Chiasso dei Portici.

The remote country setting of the hotel is lovely but we would have had a problem finding it if they had not thoughtfully provided us with the GPS co-ordinates. The location is excellent for touring the Chianti region with the beautiful medieval hill town of Radda just 10 minutes' drive away and Sienna only 40 minutes.

We would certainly recommend the hotel for its location, historic charm and tranquillity as well as the friendly and very helpful staff who made us feel so welcome.

Room Tip: The hotel does not have a lift. The suite on the 1st floor is a great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We spent 4 nights in celebration of my 50th birthday and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It provides a great location to explore the Tuscany region and we loved returning after a day of sightseeing. Each evening we would plan the next days adventure over a bottle of wine on the patio overlooking the beautiful scenery. It was quiet and peaceful. On our last night we decided to try the restaurant for dinner. We went with all the chefs recommendations and we were not disappointed. It was one of the best meals we had in Italy. We wished we had tried it sooner. Breakfast was included and was a great way to start the day.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel

Address: La Ripresa di Vistarenni, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Gaiole in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, Escapio, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo l`Ultimo Mulino Hotel Gaiole In Chianti
Ultimo Mulino Hotel
Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel Italy/Gaiole In Chianti, Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.