We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Our apartment in Borgo di Gaiole, Chianti

the view from the balcony
the view from the balcony
the view from the balcony
the balcony
Apartment 1
Bedroom 1
Apartment 2
Gaiole in Chianti
|
Condo/Apartment – 
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bialy56
New York City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful apartment with wonderful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

My husband and I participated in L'Eroica bicycle ride and the apartment was perfect for us in every way. The entire development is so well designed and constructed and you feel as though you are living in a small Tuscan hill town! For us, the location is perfect - just a short walk to the main walking street of Gaioli with many restaurants, food shops, and L'Eroica bicycle rental shop.

The apartment has all the comforts of home and wonderful views from the balcony of Gaoili and the Tuscan countryside. The complex is nicely landscaped with many common areas that one can use.

The owner was very responsive to all our questions and the local agent and complex staff were welcoming and helpful.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
T P
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“lovely appartment in nice area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

The appartement was nice and modern (Tv, ipod player, dvd, airco). we had a nice balcony in the sun although it did get quite hot there. the appartment complex is luxureous and very well looked after (clean). it has a nice swimmingpool, and the village is only a 5 minute walk. we had a great stay.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: it's a modern and well equiped appartment
Liked least: water in swimming pool was very cold
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Jill S
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Fabulous location, 50 minutes south of Florence, 35 minutes north of Siena in the middle of the Tuscan countryside. You do need a car to reach the apartment and take advantage of the surrounding country villages, restaurants and wineries. The apartment was well equipped, everything you need for a holiday.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing that we can think of
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Jessdewet...
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Comfortable New Apt with Spectacular View, Quaint Central Tuscan Location Close to Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011 for a stay in June 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We drove 3 hours from Rome to get here. It was an easy (albeit winding) drive through the most beautiful countryside you can imagine. We had trouble finding the specific rental by GPS but the property manager arranged for a local woman to escort us there. The newly built apt complex was wonderfully built in the hillside to blend in well with the surrounding old stone buildings in Gaiole. When we arrived, we found we had to climb 2 outdoor staircases to get to the apartment - this was no problem for me, however the women I travelled with who had back problems had difficulty climbing, especially with suitcases. The lovely local woman helped us get all our bags up to the apartment on her own accord. Any issue we had was handled quickly and the owner went out of his way to make sure our visit was memorable.

The apartment was extremely clean, was quaintly furnished and decorated and had all the necessary amenities, including wi-fi. There was a central room with entrance out to a deck which overlooked the Tuscan Hills and the town of Gaiole in Chianti. All the windows were equipped with large wooden shutters which could easily be opened to let in the usual Tuscan breeze. At night, closing the shutters darkened the room enough to make for a restful sleep.

The owners had left lots of helpful brochures about local attractions and maps of the Tuscany area and furnished us with a list of recommendations and a few good local contact people to get help from.

There were 2 bedrooms, 1 very large one with a Queen bed overlooking Gaiole and 1 nicely sized with 2 twin beds (or they could swap for a Queen on request) with a view out the side and back. The front bedroom had a walkout with a deck that looked out onto the Hills over the village of Gaiole. There was a small area within the front room with a toilet and sink with a glass door that closed it off from the bedroom area, and the shower stall was in the opposite corner of the room. The main bath was near the entrance door in the back of the apartment. One issue we had with both bathrooms (which the builder should have foreseen) was that the placement of the mirrors in both bathrooms was too high. They had been installed so that the bottom edge of the mirrors were flush with the ceramic tile which went more than halfway up the wall. None of us short women could see into any of the mirrors :)

We parked in an underground protected garage which was easily accessible. Unfortunately, the weather was too cool to swim, but the pool and deck were very nice and well maintained with lush foliage all around.

Gaiole is a charming small old-world village. We just had to walk down the hill to get into the town. There were several quaint shops and restaurants, all within walking distance. They even had a hair salon. There were NO tourists that I could find (except us), which made for a great experience of living amongst the locals and truly getting to see the culture.

We made the mistake of trying to do too much in Tuscany during out stay, which meant leaving every morning and returning every evening LATE at night. In hindsight, we should have sliced our itinerary in half and sat out on the deck enjoying the Tuscan breeze relaxing with a glass of wine each evening.

I would HIGHLY recommend this apartment if you are looking for a great escape in Tuscany, yet would like easy accessibility to other Tuscan villages and Florence. We visited San Gimignano, Poggibonsi, Montepulciano, Montalcino, Siena and SEVERAL other beautiful Tuscan villages by car. We rode the train from the neighboring town of Montevarchi into Florence 2 of the days.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Limited access to Gaiole by train & bus
Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2011
Thank you for this very detailed review. I'm sure its really helpful for people who are committing their money and leisure time for maybe a once a year holiday to have so much information made available to them. Thank you for doing it.

Derrick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
LanKa74
Haifa, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“pleasant and peaceful vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

The apartment is very clean, quiet, very well equipped and maintened. Good starting point for exploring of Chianti region. We spent there 9 unforgettable days and enjoyed every moment.

3 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
3 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2011
thank you for your review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
cindin
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent base to explore the Chianti region”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011 for a stay in June 2011

This location is an excellent base to explore the Chianti region! A car is highly recommended. Close to Radda, Volpaia, Castellina in Chianti and so many more. After a day of long countryside driving and exploring the hill towns, this was the absolute perfect place to come home to.

This is a clean, modern, nicely appointed 2 bedroom apartment in the new borgo complex. The spaciousness of the apartment was definitely a nice change from the standard hotel room. The apartment has traditional Tuscan rustic countryside accents such as wooden beam ceilings, French double doors that opens out to a large terrace, wooden double door window shutters and a stone wall exterior of the entire complex with modern amenities such as a flat screen TV, DVD player, wireless internet connection and Bose I-pod dock. The windows and the terrace doors allows for great summer sunlight during different times of the day. The kitchen is well-equipped and the bathroom is clean, modern and spacious. There's garage parking available. It was definitely an added bonus and great to have access to the laundry facilities.

The best are: the large terrace with a magnificent view of the village, the Tuscan hills, ridges during different times of the day (I particularly liked the mornings when the birds are singing and the light morning fog gently blankets the hills), al fresco dining for any meals or sipping a Chianti Classico wine (patio table, chairs & umbrella provided) on the terrace, dip into the pool with a view of the Tuscan hills & vineyards and a short walking distance to Gaiole village. (Side note: If you get a chance, there's a small deli right in Gaiole village called, Le Cose Buone we discovered on our last day. Lorenzo and his wife Magdalena run this family owned deli, their family has been in the food business in Gaiole since the mid-1700's. Magdalena makes the BEST ragu ever! My husband and I have been unsuccessfully trying to cook and find a comparable ragu in restaurants back at home like Magdalena.)

Derrick was easy to work with and responsive to e-mails. Lampo the Borgo caretaker, greeted us and gave us the apartment keys. As other reviews have noted, Lampo doesn't speak English, only Italian. Slight confusion initially as to who was going to give us the keys and where to find this person, but Lampo was expecting us, so things went pretty smoothly.

The location, the spectacular views, the apartment itself and the multitude of amenities it has to offer make this a great deal for a week or two in Chianti!

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 4 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Debrab665...
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
“Absolutely beautiful view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011 for a stay in June 2011

Four of us - all sisters and sister in law stayed here for a week in June 2011. The trip was planned rather quickly and this was the first place that we looked at through Trip Advisor. We couldn't be happier with our decision to stay here. When we arrived, we were not able to get a hold of our contact person but we did meet a very nice person at the complex who got in touch with Lampo who is the caretake of the complex who was expecting us and had the key to let us in. Lampo does not speak any English, only Italian. The apartment is within a five minute walk to the village but be prepared for the walk back up from the village. The view from the balcony is beautiful looking into the village of Gaiole as well as vineyards. The complex is quite modern and has underground parking, swimming pool, laundry facitilities and a small exercise room. The apartment itself was very nicely decorated and the kitchen was well equipped with everything you need. Gaiole itself has restaurants, a bank, grocery store, pharmacy so everything that you need is within walking distance. Derrick, the owner was also very helpful in providing us with the names of restaurants in the area, information on market days, bus schedules, etc. We would certainly recommend this vacation rental and in fact we would definitely stay here again if we ever get the chance to go to Italy again.

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$646
/ Week
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Make Inquiry
Owner
Mr D
Speaks English
Listed since : Jun 2010
Response Rate: 75 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 18 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing